We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charm and hospitality”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My partner and I just spent 5 nights at La Teraza and thoroughly enjoyed it. We wanted to get a taste of old SJ culture and history and were willing to forgo glitz and glam for charm and character, without sacrificing comfort. La T. Hit the mark. Our room was on the first floor, half of an actual 2 bed apt. We had the half with the kitchen. The other half was empty some of the nights. We were hardly aware of when it was occupied, so can't speak to the lack of soundproofing mentioned in another review. The bedroom and bath did not have windows, but the kitchen had a small window that sunlight streamed through. So, yes, it was on the dark side, which would ordinarily bother me, but the warmth and charm of the place and the managers, Joe and Devon, made up for it.
Breakfast was brought to our apt each morning. ....Fresh bread, fruit, ham, a sweet or two, etc...quite good and much more than we wanted, so we asked them to bring us less food, after our first breakfast.
Devon greeted us with great ideas and tips of things to do and see and was very helpful in our arranging our activities.She was delightful and thoughtful. she and joe really make the place hum.
Recommendations for improvement?....the water in the shower was hot, but I like really hot showers, so a little hotter would be better.
All in all , I thought staying at la teraza was a great way to get to know Puerto Rico. We went to the beach twice, once we took a taxi to ocean park and returned via local bus to see what that was like...it was a snap and fun to see how some locals get around. The other day we had rented a car, with Devon,s help, and stopped at the beach after touring el junque.

Room Tip: The first floor room without the kitchen does not have windows. The one with the kitchen has a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenlee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    126
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
168
422
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed in Old San Juan two days before boarding our cruise. This charming boutique hotel/bed and breakfast was the perfect compliment to an exploration of old San Juan. The staff was eager to help us make our stay very special. The breakfast was great as well as the cappuccino. Their canary added a special touch every morning. The roof top terrace was perfect for evening happy hour. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor with two bedrooms and two baths with a common area and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molou78230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Just got back from staying at La Terraza, our only issue is we couldn't stay longer. Devon was gracious and helpful, led us to some truly special places for food, drink and live music. This place just get's it. Our room was big, well decorated and completely in tune with Old San Juan. Great TV, huge well appointed kitchen and welcoming bedrooms. We travel allot, this is a rare place. Well worth every penny, loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Top marks all the way. Friendly staff who made arrangements and solved problems. Would recommend highly and would love to come again. close to sights, a supermarket, shops, restaurants, every thing we needed.

Room Tip: We wanted a kitchen and got a room with a great one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed here for one night in January with my boyfriend, and we were very disappointed. First I'll start with the positives- it was a decent sized room with very high ceilings, a huge tv, and they offer a washer and dryer in room. With that said, our room didn't have a single window, it was very dark and if we didn't have a clock in the room we would have had no concept of what time of day it was. Unfortunately, this was not advertised on the website, or disclosed when booking. All we were told was that it was the last room available. We were on the first floor and our room was next door to another room and we shared a common sitting area that lead to the front desk. The walls are EXTREMELY thin! Our neighbor was sitting in the common area talking on his cell phone for about an hour and I could hear the conversation very clearly through the door (and that was with my tv on). The night only got worse. We had to be up very early to catch our flight and I think I got about an hour of sleepl. Again, the walls are so thin that I could hear our neighbor snoring. It was so loud it sounded like he was in our room. I had earplugs in, a sound machine on, and had a pillow over my head and I could still hear him. We were also woken up several times because the power kept going out so the AC unit and our sound machine kept turning off. When our alarm went off at 4:30 am the power went off again. We couldn't see anything (remember, no windows), but we still had to pack and get ready to leave for the airport. My boyfriend called the owner of La Terraza to let him know about the power outage, he didn't answer his phone and we left a voicemail and he never even bothered to return our call to check to make sure everything was okay. We have traveled to Old San Juan several times and we were looking forward to trying something new, but after staying here, we will go back to our regular spot.

Room Tip: make sure you ask if the room you book has a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weeklong stay at La Terraza! We stayed in Suite 3A which faces the street and has 3 small balconies. The suite is large..living room, full kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. It's furnished comfortably and nicely. The rooftop has great views of old San Juan and of the bay...a great place for bringing up a bottle of wine and enjoying the breezes! Devon and Joe were gracious and helpful on all counts. We loved the breakfasts served in our room by Joe. Devon was great in making reservations and offering suggestions on beaches and things to do. We loved the location..walking everywhere and a short 2 blocks to the boulevard to walk along the ocean to both forts or just to enjoy the view. Our only suggestion for improvements...more light in the bedroom to read by and in the bathroom for us women that need to put on makeup!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We came to La Terraza for Dec 30-Jan 1st. It was awesome! I am from the island and had never stayed in Old San Juan. For the last 9 years my husband and I go to Puerto Rico at least once a year for the holidays or summer. We have stayed in all the major hotels in Isla Verde, Condado, Vieques, Culebra, Rincon, Isabela to name a few. Customer Service even at the major ones is lacking big time...which at times is embarrassing as a Puertorican because we are known to be the most hospitable in the Caribbean. I should say that staying at La Terraza was an extraordinary experience. We had fresh breakfast brought to our room every morning awesome puertorican coffee and everything was really clean, comfortable, pleasant, nicely decorated, modern and we had our own personal concierge ~ Devon. She was excellent. Told us best places to go eat, shop and have fun. Also we had an issue with the cable remote and within a few hours it was resolved even on a holiday when I know my people will wait until mañana (tomorrow) to take care of it. For New years day we got a full on breakfast and our own bottle of champagne to celebrate in our room! After that we went to the W in Vieques for a few days and I must say we were missing the charm and service at La Terraza!!! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellyhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing