We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
West Hempstead
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel in Old San Juan has the old world charm of the area. The staff if very attentive to all the guests needs. The hotel is within walking distance to historical attractions, dining and anything else you might want to do. I would definitely come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    122
    45
    19
    18
See reviews for
162
419
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately I have to be one of the few black sheep among the flock of those reviewers who have raved about La Terraza.

But first some background information.

OSJ is a pleasant 15 minute taxi ride from the airport and if you are as lucky as us, we had a nice driver who also played tourist guide and pointed out various landmarks. Cost was $25 plus bags and tip extra.

For the uninitiated La Terraza is situated on the high side of OSJ. As most of your day (apart from viewing the forts) may take you to the waterfront/downtown area it can be a slightly strenuous walb back at night. Very safe and pleasant however.

Back to the Inn.

Check in was very easy and Devon was both welcoming and informative. The Inn itself is a beautiful building and our room exemplified the best of the casa with its space and charm.

After arriving around midday we spent the rest of the day exploring the city. We love to walk and had no trouble covering all the perimeter and most of the core of the town in the rest of the day. Dinner was at Cafe Berlin.

We were looking forward to breakfast the first morning after reading all the reviews. However we were underwhelmed more than anything. Fruit salad was nice and this was combined with some cold meat and cheese and a couple of bread sticks. Would have preferred maybe a choice of cereals or eggs??

That day was spent walking the towns sights again and an obligatory tour of the Bacardi factory.

Now the next morning was when the trouble started. La Terraza have a building being renovated right next door and construction began before 7am. 'Construction' is maybe a misnomer. Should have said 'destruction' as they were dropping large blocks of rubble down a shute to a skip four storeys below. Further sleep was impossible. (For those contemplating a stay in 3a be aware that the room has open timber shutters rather than windows so street noise can be a problem. So we decided to get up and wait for breakfast which had been arranged for 8am. After waiting for 40 minutes we gave up and found a pleasant cafe serving a simple breakfast.

To Devon's defence she did approach us and offered compensation (which we had not mentioned to her) for the disturbance and lack of sleep. That was kind of her but we mentioned that perhaps it would have been courteous to let her guests (specially those staying in 3a) know of the building works next door.

So to sum up.....the building itself is absolutely beautiful, the staff are welcoming and pleasant, the breakfast just so so and wait until at least February until the building work next door is completed.

Thanks for reading

Cheers

Dave

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abiquiu, Nm
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This charming boutique hotel is clean, comfortable, safe and accommodating, right in the heart of Old San Juan. Devon helped us plan our short stay and was a wealth of information on the culture, history and politics of Puerto Rico. It was as if we were taken in by family, and made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast (lots of fresh fruit) was perfect to get us on our way to see the sights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

La Terraza is the BEST place to stay in Old San Juan!!! Home away from home – fabulous, modern, nice, great location, safe, comfortable, clean, fabulous breakfast that they bring to you in the room, washer/dryer – great coffee – stay for 2 nights.
One of the managers, Joseph, was a delight with a wealth of information. This is THE PLACE you want to stay at!!! It feels like your own apartment right in the heart of Old Town. The décor is beautiful and up to date. They said they were planning on doing an addition next door and expanding their space including a roof top pool. Sleeps 4 comfortable but we had 6 and the pull our sofa in the living room was just fine, we had plenty of pace. The full kitchen would have been great but we didn’t stay long enough to cook – I can’t wait to return for a few days and make this place home!
Don't look further - this is where you will want to stay!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the elevator is slow but the stairs are great and if you look up there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelknat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We chose to stay at La Terraza for the week leading up to our wedding in Old San Juan and it was fabulous! Joe, Devon and crew made our experience great and even made our lives easier- from finding a room for my family last second when the apartment they original booked was a total bust to providing advice for things to do/booking tours for us & our guests. It’s a beautiful place with old world charm and modern conveniences with the best of a hotel & apartment combined—more personal attention, at least 2/3 times more room than a standard hotel and you feel you are really experiencing the city. Breakfast was AMAZING- fresh breads, fruits, pastries/cakes, cheeses- hands down fantastic to wake up to. All you have to do is just let them know what time and they will bring to your room. Pretty sure no other place in Old San Juan can match their breakfast and personal interest in making sure you get the most enjoyment out of your stay. Highly recommend to anyone coming to Old San Juan and we will definitely stay there again when we go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Park, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

After seeing many negative reviews for accommodations in San Juan, I was pleased to find positive reviews for La Terraza. I booked our room, Two B, from their website and hoped for the best.
This hotel is in an ideal location for a home base in Old San Juan, Our room was charming, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good and brought to our room exactly at the requested time both mornings. We spent our mornings and late afternoon/evening out and about and returned to the air conditioned room during the heat at midday.
This room has a large bedroom, bathroom and kitchen, with breakfast bar, but no actual seating area. A shared seating area was outside the front door. I would definitely stay here again if we returned to San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faithful31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at this B&B for one night on our way back home after 8 days touring other parts of the Puerto Rico and Vieques. I was really looking forward to it based on the reviews, and feel bummed to even write this, but it didn't live up to our expectations. In short, we were glad we were only there for one night.

Pros:

The location of this property is terrific - wonderfully easy to get around Old San Juan and easy to find. Feels safe and secure (you are given a gate code).

The proprieters of the B&B were extremely helpful, almost to a fault. While they spent a tremendous amount of time acquainting us with our environs and giving recommendations on places to eat and things to see, it was almost information overload and got to the point where we were politely looking at our watches, trying to subtly get out of there. The local guide that they e-mail you before arrival, however, is terrific.

Cons:

We stayed in a smaller one bedroom unit that can be part of a larger apartment (which we did not see). There is a common foyer that had very thin walls, so you could hear anyone outside of our door. This would have been annoying had we been there for more than one night.

While the room was nicely furnished, the linens felt somewhat cheap, and there were no windows (despite lovely tall ceilings - the history of the building is pretty neat).

The bathroom seemed clean, but just barely. The bathroom mat looked like it had had better days, and overall, the bathroom seemed to need a deep clean, rather than a cursory once-over between guests. Worst of all, we couldn't get any hot water during our stay, only barely lukewarm showers.

Breakfast was just ok - great coffee, but we didn't think the spread was anything special to write home about.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing