We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST STAY! Can't go wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Loved staying at this B&B. The moment you walk in they make you feel right at home. The ambiance is a mix of feeling like you're back in the old times with a touch of modern. Everyone was very helpful especially around the fact that I was travelling for the first time with my 1 year old. They were very accomodating and had a crib ready for my little one the moment we arrived. I only have great things to say about this B&B. If you are travelling to PR, this is the place to stay. It is also close to all the landmarks (even walgreens) and a great restaurant called El Jibarito. Thank you Joe, Marija, Devon for such a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yucaboricua125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for La Terraza de San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

You couldn't do better in Old San Juan than by staying here. A beautifully restored building with large comfortable, well airconditioned rooms. Minutes walk from anything worth seeing, quiet and quaint. Very nice continental breakfast delivered to your room. But by far the best part of it all is the owners. Incredibly friendly, informative, and helpful. And funny. WE loved this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Had a great time, enjoyed the fresh breakfast with homemade sweet treats brought to my room every morning. The staff was extremely knowledgeable and very helpful. Always service with a smile. Great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

La Terraza is the perfect place to stay in Old San Juan. The location is great, near good restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff is very welcoming, nice, and very attentive. Breakfast is good and they will accommodate special requests in advance. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The property is very charming and the view from the rooftop is amazing, a perfect area to enjoy the scenery or read a book. If you are either coming to Old San Juan for a night or for a week I highly recommend staying in La Terraza.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCA_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel in Old San Juan has the old world charm of the area. The staff if very attentive to all the guests needs. The hotel is within walking distance to historical attractions, dining and anything else you might want to do. I would definitely come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately I have to be one of the few black sheep among the flock of those reviewers who have raved about La Terraza.

But first some background information.

OSJ is a pleasant 15 minute taxi ride from the airport and if you are as lucky as us, we had a nice driver who also played tourist guide and pointed out various landmarks. Cost was $25 plus bags and tip extra.

For the uninitiated La Terraza is situated on the high side of OSJ. As most of your day (apart from viewing the forts) may take you to the waterfront/downtown area it can be a slightly strenuous walb back at night. Very safe and pleasant however.

Back to the Inn.

Check in was very easy and Devon was both welcoming and informative. The Inn itself is a beautiful building and our room exemplified the best of the casa with its space and charm.

After arriving around midday we spent the rest of the day exploring the city. We love to walk and had no trouble covering all the perimeter and most of the core of the town in the rest of the day. Dinner was at Cafe Berlin.

We were looking forward to breakfast the first morning after reading all the reviews. However we were underwhelmed more than anything. Fruit salad was nice and this was combined with some cold meat and cheese and a couple of bread sticks. Would have preferred maybe a choice of cereals or eggs??

That day was spent walking the towns sights again and an obligatory tour of the Bacardi factory.

Now the next morning was when the trouble started. La Terraza have a building being renovated right next door and construction began before 7am. 'Construction' is maybe a misnomer. Should have said 'destruction' as they were dropping large blocks of rubble down a shute to a skip four storeys below. Further sleep was impossible. (For those contemplating a stay in 3a be aware that the room has open timber shutters rather than windows so street noise can be a problem. So we decided to get up and wait for breakfast which had been arranged for 8am. After waiting for 40 minutes we gave up and found a pleasant cafe serving a simple breakfast.

To Devon's defence she did approach us and offered compensation (which we had not mentioned to her) for the disturbance and lack of sleep. That was kind of her but we mentioned that perhaps it would have been courteous to let her guests (specially those staying in 3a) know of the building works next door.

So to sum up.....the building itself is absolutely beautiful, the staff are welcoming and pleasant, the breakfast just so so and wait until at least February until the building work next door is completed.

Thanks for reading

Cheers

Dave

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This charming boutique hotel is clean, comfortable, safe and accommodating, right in the heart of Old San Juan. Devon helped us plan our short stay and was a wealth of information on the culture, history and politics of Puerto Rico. It was as if we were taken in by family, and made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast (lots of fresh fruit) was perfect to get us on our way to see the sights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £90 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing