We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old San Juan”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent B&B in old San Juan. Clean and comfortable, best location for walking the entire area. Devon made sure everything was ready for us. Room 5 is spacious and well equipped - even if we had breakfast brought to our apartment every morning!
Roof top terrace my favourite - great for chilling with friends with wine and music.
Great lounge area - would be a fun party venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmarzouca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    128
    46
    20
    13
See reviews for
169
424
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booking La Terraza de San Juan was by far the best decision we made on our trip down to the Puerto Rico. Thank you fellow Trip Advisor folks for writing such good reviews on this property. Otherwise I wouldn't have known anything about this wonderful hotel.

While I can keep going on and on about the rustic style of the rooms equipped with all the modern amenities, what makes this hotel truly special are the people who work here. Devon (first woman I met with that name) and Joe bend over backwards fulfilling all of your special requests while keeping a genuine smile their face. You can instantly tell that they love their jobs.

I feel La Terraza is more of a boutique hotel with a bed & breakfast feel. Devon/Joe whip you up espresso when you need a pick me up or give you a bottle of water too cool down. Best of all, they don't charge you and just want feel at home. (now don't go abusing their kindness).

I hope everyone who is planning a vacation to San Juan to seriously consider this hotel. You'll feel like you're going off the beaten path and living like a local vs staying in the tourist trap area of Condado. You'll be eating at the best local restaurants vs eating at all fast food chains located on mainland USA. And you'll be going home with new friends and lifelong memories.

Room Tip: Throw out that boring guide book! Just ask Devon to tailor make your impromptu plan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

What a great bed and breakfast our son found for us! We stayed in room #4 and #2 before and after a Caribbean cruise. Our only request was to stay in a hotel with authentic Puerto Rican ambiance. This we found in La Terraza. The rooms are very spacious with 14 ft. ceilings, colorful, comfortable and modern without losing its latin flavor. The bathroom is so wonderful large like the 2 bedrooms with modern amenities. I can't say enough about Devon, the assistant manager and Joe,the manager. Both are friendly, warm and the best resource persons for anything you want to do or see in San Juan. We received personalized, friendly, service with breakfast nicely laid out for us in the kitchen counter when we woke up. The hotel is within walking distance to all services and historical sites. We will definitely go back to La Terraza and hope you try it too. Thank you Joe and Devon, we appreciate the good coffee, conversation, warmth and excellent service!

Room Tip: Ask Devon for the best room available. We stayed in room #4 and room #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess9125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed in room 4. The construction noise everyone else was complaining about was very mild. Wonderful place both Joe and Devon are great. I will definitely stay here again in the future. A hidden gem in the middle of old San Juan for sure.

Room Tip: Swimming Pool will be a very nice addition once it is built :>
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natlus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I had a wonderful time here. The staff is wonderful. Where else can you check in and they give you a complimentary espresso. I usually avoid continental breakfasts, but they have the best. They hand you a cool cloth towel when you come in off the streets. And its within 5 minutes walking of everything in Old San Juan. My room was a little quirky, but I expect that in old buildings. The rooftop patio was great for hanging out in the evening. They are building a rooftop swimming pool and bar, and that is my only complaint. The contractors started too early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for Devon, the manager. She will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TEX2MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I really loved this hotel, and hate to say anything negative, but we did have one issue while staying there.

First, the pros: Our room (3A) was beautiful, with a full kitchen and living room, nice TV, washer/dryer, great closet space, powerful A/C, high ceilings, and nice little balcony. I could not have been happier with the room! We traveled with our 2-year-old, and it was great having a separate room for him to fall asleep in (the hotel provided a Pack'n'Play). I loved the in-room breakfast as well. Other reviewers have said it simple, and that's true, but it was definitely enough for me, healthy, and so convenient. The location was ideal, and we enjoyed the roof terrace.

Now, the con: I have seen construction on the building next door mentioned in another review, and I have to say that it almost ruined our trip. It began at 7am on our first morning (after our delayed flight got us in after midnight!) and sounded like someone was hammering a nail directly into my skill. The noise is deafening, ruined my sleep, and scared my toddler. After talking to Devon (who is lovely), I learned that the construction is not supposed to begin until 9am, which would have made a big difference. Also, the work does not happen on the weekends, so if your stay there is not M-F, you should be fine. Devon apologized for the early morning with a bottle of wine, which was much appreciated.

I really recommend this hotel, but before staying there again, I would call in advance to see if the building next door is still having work done!

Room Tip: We loved room 3A for ourselves + our toddler, but before staying there again, I would call in advanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I just stayed at La Terraza during Labor Day and I was so impressed. They have married the old colonial charm with modern amenities with phenomenal hospitality. This hotel is extremely well located if you want to enjoy the charm of Old San Juan, its history, the forts and castles, restaurants shops and nightlife. The free wifi makes it very business friendly. Clean, charming, incredible hospitality by the staff, oh and I forgot, the view from the rooftop terrace is incredible! Def my favorite place to stay in San Juan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing