We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Terraza de San Juan
Nearby Hotels
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$496
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
576
136
45
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
136
45
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracesmall infinity poolfull kitchenliving roommodern amenitiesquiet streetboutique hotelwasher dryercafe con lechefirst floorhome away from homebed was very comfortablethe location is perfectfew blocksparking garagesmall hotelcruise port
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful piece of paradise. I stayed with my family from Germany, 3 of us in room #4. We each had an oversized large bedroom with a full bathroom. In addition to a fully equipped kitchen, we had a washer-dryer and a full size living room. Each of the rooms had separate air conditioning controls, so we were able to adjust the air conditioning to each of our comfort levels. Breakfast was served at our convenience, whatever time and whatever place we wanted our breakfast to be. The breakfast was a full continental with fresh fruit, a variety of pastries, hot coffee, tea and orange juice. Melissa and her team were absolutely wonderful to deal with. I felt completely at home, and completely relaxed into the environment that they had established. A quiet, relaxed form of efficiency existed everywhere; from housekeeping, to front desk, to all the other services we could possibly ask for. I felt as if I were at home. It was so safe and so comfortable. The decor was authentic, and yet totally modern. The location was central to d San Juan, but we slept in absolute peace every evening. And, after a busy days, peace, relaxation, and comfort was all we could ask for. Don't even hesitate if you're looking for accommodation. This is the place for elegant comfortable living.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Excellent staff and service. Nice clean rooms with really comfortable beds and the best rain shower. Spectacular views from the rooftop terrace with a nice a infinity pool. Location, location, location. Restaurants and shops near it. Walking distance to all Old San Juan.

Room Tip: OMG room 324, views to die for!! spacious, brand new…. sweet...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gus0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have stayed at over 300+ hotels around the world, both as an international flight attendant and a travel lover. I was more than pleasantly surprised to find the attention to detail, perfect location, spacious and gorgeous accommodations and attentive staff at La Terraza de San Juan. Wow. We were a group celebrating a friend's birthday and all stayed on the property where we were able to host an elegant party on the rooftop with amazing views and gentle breezes... just lovely. Morning arrived with a generous tray of aromatic coffee, warm breads, fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, jams, it was delicious! I recommend this place and know you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: I got a tour of the place, every room is different and they are all great, it all depends on the size of your party.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I could not have better things to say about Franklin and the entire staff at La Terraza. We went back and forth about staying closer to the beaches or in OSJ, but all week we were more than thankful for our decision.

The rooms are spacious and have plenty of character - the tile, canopy over the bed, incredible ceilings, we were taken away by how authentic they've kept the building and each detail over the years. We didn't expect breakfast to be prepared for us individually for us every day, but it was a fantastic touch. The staff always had great recommendations for lunch, dinner, excursions and everything in-between. After five days, we didn't find ourselves bored once. We will definitely be back in the future.

Be sure to take a trip out to the rainforest/bio bay for a day. Franklin even helped us book a car and had someone arrive at the hotel to drive us to the rental location - couldn't have been easier!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I almost don't want to write this because I want to be able to get a room there. We are a family of two adults and two teens and usually book two rooms at high end boutique hotels. At El Covento the cost would have been in the 600-700 dollar range a night for two small rooms. Here? In season, we paid $375 for a massive apartment-- had to be well over 1,000 square feet, two bedrooms, full kitchen with three small balconies looking out over the beautiful streets of old san juan with the ocean at the end of the street, full living room, two full baths. Gorgeous building, much of the original architecture retained with soaring ceilings, heavy ornate mahogany doors. Breakfast of fresh juices, coffee, rolls, fruit, meats and cheeses brought to your door. Beautiful roof top balcony, perfect location, walk to everything, friendly safe neighborhood. For us there was no downside, even when they forgot our breakfast the first morning when we requested it early (said they delivered it to the wrong room)-- too many pluses for this to matter. However, what others might not like is that other than breakfast there isn't really any service to speak of, generally no one at a desk, no one to ask questions of. Even though we were given a phone number, no one answered when our breakfast didn't show up. However, we are self sufficient, and had no problem reading the information left about the hotel and area, and finding our own way around, calling our own taxi from the number left on the fridge, etc. Definitely a place for independent travels, not inexperienced travelers who need hand holding. For example, at night, you get back in by using a code and there is no one there at a desk, you just lock back up and walk to your room. This being said, I will emphasize again, it is a lively, warm, safe feeling area and we never felt uncomfortable though I can imagine travelers like my parents would be lost without someone always at a desk.

Room Tip: We loved facing the colorful, historic street (room 5 top floor?) because of the mini balconies. It seems like the rooms facing the ocean have great views but I don't think they have balconies or at least they are not mentioned in the descriptions. And if you are looking over the street just turn your head to the left to see the ocean! We booked again and booked the same room, though I'm tempted to try the ocean view, just couldn't give up the balconies!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtLovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews