We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super cool hotel, beautiful from top to bottom!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super cool hotel, beautiful from top to bottom!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room (#6) was really great. Truly your own apartment in Old San Juan. The two bedroom, two bath with full kitchen served us well. There were four of us (two couples) and you never felt like you had a lack of privacy within the room. There were a few things missed when they cleaned and prepared the room initially but when I brought it up to management, it was corrected immediately. We stayed for 6 nights and could have easily stayed much, much longer. Breakfast was served in our room on time every morning. The cleaning staff did a great job and the best part; you never even saw them, you just knew they had been there. The manager Franklin and all of the staff at the front desk were very accommodating. The rooftop patio/pool is truly a treasure of this hotel. Once they get the rooftop bar completed, it will be quite the experience! The hotel is centrally located to EVERYTHING. So easy to get around Old San Juan and you find yourself never far from the hotel. The charm and character of this hotel will not disappoint. Do yourself a favor and forget all of those big name chain hotels and give this place a chance. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    122
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
163
421
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice hotel overall...but if you suffer from ANY type of upper respiratory problems such as Asthma you may not want to stay here. Even on the newer side it had a strong smell that triggered an asthma attack to the point that we did not stay the night and had to check in to another hotel. Remember, it's a very old structure. This being said, I want to say that the staff was great. They were very helpful, friendly and understanding. It's very centrally located with many restaurants and things to see.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I moved to San Juan area (from Condado's Casa Castellana Bed and Breakfast) when my husband left and I had 3 days left in Puerto Rico. I booked my stay in La Terraza Hotel and it seriously blew me away! The pictures doesn't do it justice. So from my Snorkeling trip at Culebra I drove to San Juan and found street parking *lucky lucky* then went to the hotel and got so excited. It looks old but when you go inside the vibe and décor is awesome! The front desk people are so nice (shout out to Princess and Isander). Their front desk is also a "bar". They serve coffee and tea and sweets FOR FREE! Yum! And apparently the antique coffeemaker has a name! (I forgot hehe) It's 2 buildings adjacent together and I was assigned to the newer wing. I think they hay 24 rooms available in different configuration. I was on a budget so I asked for the cheapest room since I was alone... but when I went to my room (interior, no windows) It's HUGE! with modern bathroom. The bed is HUGE and the room smells sooooo nice!!! I fell in love. Oh yeah and the roof top!?!?? OohLala!!!! wading pool and breakfast with a view. Just the place to be! (I feel guilty my husband wasn't there to enjoy it with me) Great location. quiet street. near yummy restaurants (like st germaine and fatty's). I can't stop raving about it.... ok fine... the main entrance was jamming my entire stay so I hope they got that fixed. Definitely a next time for this place. Oh and during my stay... maybe only 6 guests were there too. Peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UrbanGypsy0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We tacked 2 nights in Old San Juan onto the end of our honeymoon (starting in Fajardo) and we loved staying here! We stayed in 3A which was wonderful. The staff is phenomenal - so friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Location was great! Rooftop pool was nice when our feet needed a break from walking around! Breakfast on the terrace was a treat. The only downside was when I made the reservations, the gal made it sound like we could find parking on the nearby street very easily since we had rented a car for our whole trip. This was not the case. My husband drove around getting quite lost trying to deal w/ OSJ traffic and multiple one-ways trying to find parking. He finally came back to the hotel and they told us where to park in a structure (luckily there are 2 - one is very expensive and the other is very reasonable) about a 10-minute walk away. Next time, I think we'd ditch the car - although it was nice to drive over to Condado for an afternoon (it's about a $30 round trip cab ride). Overall, we loved La Terraza - would definitely stay here again if ever back in San Juan!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived after 10 pm and Franklin was smiling and ready to greet us at the front door. He made my wife an espresso and also poured drinks for us (alcohol is everywhere in Puerto Rico) to create a truly soft landing in San Juan. Franklin also gave us all of the information we would need for the weekend and made me generally feel like we were in good hands. The building is very distinctive with high ceilings and funky staircases. The furnishings are minimal but very functional and stylish. Shower is huge and artfully tiled, but hot water is not consistent. Excellent complimentary toiletries. Comfortable bed and good continental breakfast served in a striking rooftop setting. Our two favorite places in Old San Juan were within two blocks of this place. Struck up a long conversation with Jose Enrique, a member of Fantasmes, who had recently played in my hometown of Austin. Did I mention the rooftop plunge pool overlooking Old San Juan? Any time I return to San Juan, I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SigmundBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hey...I'm just going to sound like a recording so why repeat all the excellent reviews. Browse through them, all the good is absollutey true.
I just have to mention Old San Juan is where you want to hang out, not in the hotel. That being said, the cute, small infinity pool area is great for catching a little sun and unwinding after a day in and around the area.
The front desk staff, José and Darío were incredibly helpful. We were celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary and the staff treated us like family, it was sooo nice. I just can't wait to go back for a more extended stay.

Room Tip: The Isabel La Católica room, private balcony, super spacious. 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Pietri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

When I made the reservation, this gem in the heart of Old San Juan was rated #1. I now know why. Very quaint location. I am told the hotel is only 3 years old, although the building was built in the 1800's. The construction and decor is wonderful. The old doors with metal latches and closeable louvers, The exposed beams in the ceilings, it makes you believe you are in a hotel from the 1800's. But upon seeing the kitchen and bathroom, the individually-controlled a/c units in the rooms, the excellent wifi, one would think this was the most upscale Ritz-Carlton around. We stayed in Unit 5, with two bedrooms. There were doors that opened so you could stand out and look down the street. Note to families with small children- these doors did not seem to have any way to be locked! The iron grating on the "porches" needs to be replaced due to corrosion. I leaned against it and it seemed solid, but it looks suspect. The elevator, although new, is very slow and very small. Good for moving luggage up and down, but we used the stairs most of the time as it was quicker and healthier. The kitchen was well-appointed, but we did not use it in the 2 days we were here. The plunge pool on the roof, with the view of the city, is a really neat spot to hang out in the evening. A word about taxis. We took a taxi with a driver that had never heard of, or ever been to La Terraza. We got a 30 minute "tour" of old San Juan (terrible traffic) before finding it. My advice would be to call the hotel and have THEM call you a taxi that is familiar with the hotel and save yourself some time. I will not have to surf Tripadvisor or any other websites next time we go to San Juan as we will only be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing