We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights prior to boarding a cruise. The hotel is very centrally located in Old San Juan and all of the big sights are within walking distance. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff who offered us a cold beverage, and showed us a map of the area and highlighted places to eat and things to see. Our room was beautiful, high ceilings, comfortable bed, walk in shower, etc. There was a delicious breakfast at the hotel each morning with fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats and cheeses, juice and coffee. They served the breakfast on the roof top patio or in the lobby, whatever you prefer. On Friday night they even had a free BBQ in the evening for the guests. There is an infinity edge plunge pool on the roof of the hotel with great views. Overall a great hotel and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReviewerD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    122
    45
    19
    18
See reviews for
162
419
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our first visit to Old San Juan and we absolutely loved La Terraza hotel! We had just finished a long sailing trip and it was so lovely to be greeted with great customer service, a very nice upgraded room with new finishes and comfortable bed. The front desk agent offered us a beverage upon arrival and helped guide us to fantastic local restaurants such as Verde Mesa during our stay. The hotel features one of the only rooftop patios in Old San Juan with fantastic panorama views of the city. My only feedback would be that they need to service a bar on the rooftop! Light European breakfast was a nice amenity. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade upon check in! You may have to wait a little for the room but it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Actually writing this from my room, Staff=Amazing Rooms=Clean comfortable Newly renovated Location=Cannot beat your in the center of it all! The staff at the front desk told us the best destinations best LOCAL restaurants to dine. We will be back we are so happy that we chose tjis property. Btw terrace is beautiful!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Robele4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room (#6) was really great. Truly your own apartment in Old San Juan. The two bedroom, two bath with full kitchen served us well. There were four of us (two couples) and you never felt like you had a lack of privacy within the room. There were a few things missed when they cleaned and prepared the room initially but when I brought it up to management, it was corrected immediately. We stayed for 6 nights and could have easily stayed much, much longer. Breakfast was served in our room on time every morning. The cleaning staff did a great job and the best part; you never even saw them, you just knew they had been there. The manager Franklin and all of the staff at the front desk were very accommodating. The rooftop patio/pool is truly a treasure of this hotel. Once they get the rooftop bar completed, it will be quite the experience! The hotel is centrally located to EVERYTHING. So easy to get around Old San Juan and you find yourself never far from the hotel. The charm and character of this hotel will not disappoint. Do yourself a favor and forget all of those big name chain hotels and give this place a chance. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice hotel overall...but if you suffer from ANY type of upper respiratory problems such as Asthma you may not want to stay here. Even on the newer side it had a strong smell that triggered an asthma attack to the point that we did not stay the night and had to check in to another hotel. Remember, it's a very old structure. This being said, I want to say that the staff was great. They were very helpful, friendly and understanding. It's very centrally located with many restaurants and things to see.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I moved to San Juan area (from Condado's Casa Castellana Bed and Breakfast) when my husband left and I had 3 days left in Puerto Rico. I booked my stay in La Terraza Hotel and it seriously blew me away! The pictures doesn't do it justice. So from my Snorkeling trip at Culebra I drove to San Juan and found street parking *lucky lucky* then went to the hotel and got so excited. It looks old but when you go inside the vibe and décor is awesome! The front desk people are so nice (shout out to Princess and Isander). Their front desk is also a "bar". They serve coffee and tea and sweets FOR FREE! Yum! And apparently the antique coffeemaker has a name! (I forgot hehe) It's 2 buildings adjacent together and I was assigned to the newer wing. I think they hay 24 rooms available in different configuration. I was on a budget so I asked for the cheapest room since I was alone... but when I went to my room (interior, no windows) It's HUGE! with modern bathroom. The bed is HUGE and the room smells sooooo nice!!! I fell in love. Oh yeah and the roof top!?!?? OohLala!!!! wading pool and breakfast with a view. Just the place to be! (I feel guilty my husband wasn't there to enjoy it with me) Great location. quiet street. near yummy restaurants (like st germaine and fatty's). I can't stop raving about it.... ok fine... the main entrance was jamming my entire stay so I hope they got that fixed. Definitely a next time for this place. Oh and during my stay... maybe only 6 guests were there too. Peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UrbanGypsy0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We tacked 2 nights in Old San Juan onto the end of our honeymoon (starting in Fajardo) and we loved staying here! We stayed in 3A which was wonderful. The staff is phenomenal - so friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Location was great! Rooftop pool was nice when our feet needed a break from walking around! Breakfast on the terrace was a treat. The only downside was when I made the reservations, the gal made it sound like we could find parking on the nearby street very easily since we had rented a car for our whole trip. This was not the case. My husband drove around getting quite lost trying to deal w/ OSJ traffic and multiple one-ways trying to find parking. He finally came back to the hotel and they told us where to park in a structure (luckily there are 2 - one is very expensive and the other is very reasonable) about a 10-minute walk away. Next time, I think we'd ditch the car - although it was nice to drive over to Condado for an afternoon (it's about a $30 round trip cab ride). Overall, we loved La Terraza - would definitely stay here again if ever back in San Juan!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing