We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, modern room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Tiki Island, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, modern room”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has amazing staff- everyone was beyond friendly. Great location to get to everything too! We stayed in one of the newer rooms- I think ours was a handicap room- two peepholes- one very low. Nice big bathroom and huge open shower. Small room but nice. Rooftop pool is very small but beautiful.
The bad was minor stuff- no washcloths in the room, only one hand towel, the peep holes- especially the lower one- were like spotlights directly at the bed! We hung the blanket over the door to block. Alarm clock went off at 8am- that's a pet peeve of mine, especially when I unplugged it before going to bed! Cleaning staff should clear out any/all alarms between guests!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank merdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    124
    45
    20
    17
See reviews for
165
423
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I really can't say enough good things about this place, and more importantly, the people there! The rooms are great, but what makes for an outstanding experience is the staff - among the very best we've encountered!

Free, anytime, espresso coffee service in the lobby is a great perk (plus, it's real Puerto Rican coffee!)

Isander and José should be cloned! They're that amazing!

Muchas gracias por todo! Bendiciones!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisbeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here and loved it so much we returned at the end of the trip to stay again. We were treated like old friends upon check-in with fresh coffee and cookies. Our room was very clean and welcoming. I'm a stickler for bathrooms and this left me impressed. All newly done with a great shower. Bed was very comfy. The hotel has a very mediterranean/spanish feel to it which adds to it's already charming staff. The terraza was absolutely beautiful with some private seated sections, palm trees, a quaint infinity pool, sunning deck, outdoor showers and 2 bars. The views up there are outstanding lending a 180 degreee view of the city. We chose to have our breakfast each morning on the terraza which was a great way to begin each day. I have to say that although the hotel was booked (I asked) I hardly saw any of the other guests. It was very quiet, private and the staff extremely knowledgable and accomodating. There is really no reason to every stay anywhere else in OSJ. The location is unbeatable and the experience was truly great. Thank you to everyone who helped us at the hotel. We will be coming back :)

Room Tip: none of the rooms will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LegsMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights prior to boarding a cruise. The hotel is very centrally located in Old San Juan and all of the big sights are within walking distance. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff who offered us a cold beverage, and showed us a map of the area and highlighted places to eat and things to see. Our room was beautiful, high ceilings, comfortable bed, walk in shower, etc. There was a delicious breakfast at the hotel each morning with fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats and cheeses, juice and coffee. They served the breakfast on the roof top patio or in the lobby, whatever you prefer. On Friday night they even had a free BBQ in the evening for the guests. There is an infinity edge plunge pool on the roof of the hotel with great views. Overall a great hotel and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReviewerD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our first visit to Old San Juan and we absolutely loved La Terraza hotel! We had just finished a long sailing trip and it was so lovely to be greeted with great customer service, a very nice upgraded room with new finishes and comfortable bed. The front desk agent offered us a beverage upon arrival and helped guide us to fantastic local restaurants such as Verde Mesa during our stay. The hotel features one of the only rooftop patios in Old San Juan with fantastic panorama views of the city. My only feedback would be that they need to service a bar on the rooftop! Light European breakfast was a nice amenity. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade upon check in! You may have to wait a little for the room but it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Actually writing this from my room, Staff=Amazing Rooms=Clean comfortable Newly renovated Location=Cannot beat your in the center of it all! The staff at the front desk told us the best destinations best LOCAL restaurants to dine. We will be back we are so happy that we chose tjis property. Btw terrace is beautiful!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Robele4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room (#6) was really great. Truly your own apartment in Old San Juan. The two bedroom, two bath with full kitchen served us well. There were four of us (two couples) and you never felt like you had a lack of privacy within the room. There were a few things missed when they cleaned and prepared the room initially but when I brought it up to management, it was corrected immediately. We stayed for 6 nights and could have easily stayed much, much longer. Breakfast was served in our room on time every morning. The cleaning staff did a great job and the best part; you never even saw them, you just knew they had been there. The manager Franklin and all of the staff at the front desk were very accommodating. The rooftop patio/pool is truly a treasure of this hotel. Once they get the rooftop bar completed, it will be quite the experience! The hotel is centrally located to EVERYTHING. So easy to get around Old San Juan and you find yourself never far from the hotel. The charm and character of this hotel will not disappoint. Do yourself a favor and forget all of those big name chain hotels and give this place a chance. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,691 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing