We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is a reason this place is ranked #1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terraza de San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
207 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“There is a reason this place is ranked #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stay here when exploring Old San Juan. The location is amazing, the staff is excellent, the rooftop bar and pool are the best in all of the colonial quarter (we tried several others). I would recommend not renting a car if staying in Old San Juan, take the set-price taxis (should not be more than 25 bucks for a couple from the airport). We explored Old San Juan for 2 days and loved being able to stop in at our hotel for fresh water, or a quick dip in the pool to cool off in between sights. Bedding was very comfortable, AC worked very well. The excellent staff sets this place apart from many others that I've been to....well done guys!

Room Tip: we chose the most affordable room, since we spent so much time on the terrace or in the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    120
    44
    19
    19
See reviews for
159
412
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is all that the other reviewers say it is: a great property in a fantastic location with nice rooms and a staff that could not be better. If I go again to San Juan I would return to this hotel without hesitation. My husband and I truly enjoyed our simple but large and extremely comfortable room, and the terrace alone was worth the stay. The staff was like having family downstairs to go to with any question or need or just to chat. They will do anything to make you comfortable, have the drill down pat about holding luggage and calling cabs and giving you recommendations, etc. Given that this hotel has raves reviews and now a top rating, I do feel the need to note a few potential "cons" in the spirit of "expectations management" about what this hotel is NOT. Not luxury in the "fluffy towels, refreshed toiletries, room service" sort of way. Not a place you want to have breakfast if that's an important meal for you (nothing wrong with it, just very limited). Not for you if somewhat seedy San Juan in all its glory (abandoned buildings, etc.) is not something you'd actually want to see from your room or the terrace. But if you want "boutique" and "real San Juan" I don't see how you do any better.

Room Tip: We had third floor with bay view, very nice. Rooms are quite different due to nature of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCBiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having never been to San Juan we had a difficult time figuring out where to stay. . . We relied a lot on review to pick this hotel, and realized since we are relying on review so much ourselves we need to start contributing. . .

This is an easy review to write. Old San Juan itself is easy to walk, and this hotel is in a great location close to one of the forts, the free bus around Old San Juan, restaurants and sites. It's not particularly close to the cruise terminal -- we thought about walking from the hotel to the port, but ultimately we were very glad we didn't.

The hotel staff was super friendly, greeting us as we walked in with beverages and a host of recommended places to chill and eat. We ate at a few of their recommended places and were happy with every option they presented.

The hotel sits on a typical Old San Juan street -- that means very narrow. We were glad we didn't have a car to figure out where to park, or try to navigate around. . . I'd suggest a cab.

La Terraza is a very old building, the ceilings are impressively high, and it feels like walking into an old mansion or something. . . Our room was at the end of a long hallway far away from the street. Noise wasn't an issue, except for the occasional slamming door in the hallway, and the construction that seems ever present in Old San Juan.

It was a large, grand room with a very comfortable bed. The TV channel selection left a lot to be desired, but we didn't care too much as it basically was only there providing background noise while we were getting ready. The bathroom was very modern, and the whole place was very clean.

I didn't realize when we booked the hotel that it had a pool on the roof. . . the roof itself is awesome, but the pool was a great way to relax at the end of the night. A bar is available by the pool if you are so inclined, but we preferred to just look over the city from the infinity edge of the pool. The small pool was perfect at the end of a long hot day.

The other big surprise was the food. . . Breakfast was served every morning, while it was basically a continental breakfast it was excellent and served on the roof. One night we were there they also has chirozo available for guests, we had other plans so we didn't partake, but were surprised that the hotel felt less like a hotel and more like staying at a family member's house.

Very cool hotel, great staff, awesome location and nice perks make this an easy hotel to give five stars to. . . next time we're in San Juan we'll definitely be looking to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwwreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had apartment 5 which is a two bedroom that can sleep six. The building is very cool, ronnovated colonial, the renovations are cool, the terrase is wonderful.

The staff are great coffee con leche whenever you ask, computer help, great ideas for dinner adn when to plan driving around traffic. I loved everyone who manned the fron desk. Note to management these people are wonderful!

The quality of the cleaning wasn't the best. I do not like mildew stains in showers. I know that in hot climates it is hard to keep the black and pink stuff out of showers, however it does affect the review. When I see the stains I try to clean them myself becasue i don't think you can get clean someplace dirty.

other than that it realy is perfect.

Room Tip: Some of these, like 5 realy are well equiped enough to stay for months. We had a washer and dryer an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelmom525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place is great! The rooms are spacious and gorgeous, the beds are very comfortable, and the staff is the nicest I've ever come across. While the shower water might not be steaming (who needs that anyway when it's 90 outside?) and the breakfast doesn't change from day to day, it is in the heart of Old San Juan and you're never far from what you want to visit. And the staff is more than happy to book any trip you wish. Oh, and the terrace is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Husband and I had just come off a 7 day cruise and had chosen this hotel for our 3 day stay in San Juan. If you are looking for a huge cookie cutter hotel with loads of staff members to be at your beck and call, then you best just move on. That won't happen here. While it's not a B & B, it is a boutique hotel. BUT, what will happen is that you will get excellent service from the friendly staff, a good night's sleep, breakfast on the beautiful scenic, breezy terrace, and good recommendations for local restaurants, sight seeing, and shopping.

We arrived at 9:30 a.m. via taxi from the cruise terminal, which was 10 min away. We dropped our luggage, since it was too early to check in. Jose, an energetic, enthusiastic young man who was at the desk, directed us to some local restaurants and shopping. Excellent advice! He gave us a map, which was very easy to navigate by foot. La Terraza is right in the middle of good restaurants and local shopping. Our comfortable room on the second floor was #225. It didn't have a window, but that was fine with us because we didn't plan on staying in our room much, as we wanted to get out and run around the city.

It was nice to wake up in the morning, have our coffee and hot tea, as well as fresh fruit up on the terrace before our walk to eat brunch at a local restaurant. There's also a very small infinity pool; I would venture to say it's more like a dipping pool, but still a nice little feature.

Isander was at the desk at night and was very helpful with directions and recommendations, as were the two young ladies who prepared the best coffee and even called a cab for us on the morning of our departure. They all greeted us with welcoming smiles and were extremely helpful.

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. In fact, I even stated to Jose that he must be one of the owners because he's always so happy and helpful. His reply was, "No, but I do love my job." Wow! I never met the owners, but they are certainly fortunate to have the staff they do. And I'm sure they know it.

We plan to go back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, if that's what you are looking for. Do go up to terrace for a peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiki Island, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has amazing staff- everyone was beyond friendly. Great location to get to everything too! We stayed in one of the newer rooms- I think ours was a handicap room- two peepholes- one very low. Nice big bathroom and huge open shower. Small room but nice. Rooftop pool is very small but beautiful.
The bad was minor stuff- no washcloths in the room, only one hand towel, the peep holes- especially the lower one- were like spotlights directly at the bed! We hung the blanket over the door to block. Alarm clock went off at 8am- that's a pet peeve of mine, especially when I unplugged it before going to bed! Cleaning staff should clear out any/all alarms between guests!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank merdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
2.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,657 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing