We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Loved every moment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Mead, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing! Loved every moment!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We started and ended our visit to Puerto Rico at La Terreza. We arrived late and found parking right in front of the hotel. We were greeted with smiles and a hot cup of tea as we checked in. Our first two nights stay was in an amazing room with several balconies and a beautiful room. We had breakfasts on the terrace upstairs and in the dining room. Both were wonderful. We were provided great recommendations for places to eat and maps to enjoy our days in Old San Juan. Our last visit we downsized our room and it was smaller but every bit as beautiful and comfortable as the suite we had previously. I have NO complaints about the hotel, it is in the perfect location, with incredible service, beautiful views of the city from the terrace and wonderful staff. We HIGHLY recommend staying here! Parking can be a challenge, but we didn't mind walking a couple blocks when we couldn't find a closer spot.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    126
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
168
421
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Our 10th year anniversary was amazing at this place. They will exceed your expectations! This is a must stay at Old San Juan. They only have 24 rooms and every room is unique! The staff is wonderful and very helpful. It's like a home away from home!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We loved this place - the staff, the location, the accomodations. Everything exceeded our expectations. Very comfortable rooms and bed was huge. Staff was incredible - always helpful and made us feel welcome from the start. They went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our visit. This was our first time to PR and San Juan, so we didn't know what to expect or how far in advance we needed to book certain activities. The staff, especially Princess, made extra efforts to find what we were looking for. We stayed at La Terraza for 10 days and hated to leave. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest room and got room 125. It was very comfortable and the bed was huge. This r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewlz-NWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everything about this hotel was wonderful. Staff was super friendly & always ready to help. The rooftop terrace had wonderful views. The lobby, breakfast areas, and rooms were all beautifully designed. A visit to old san juan is incomplete unless you are staying at La Terraza.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Such a cool place - not your standard hotel room. Absolutely loved it - quaint, clean, great location in old San Juan, super friendly and helpful folks. View from the roof top is amazing! Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family had a wonderful time at La Terraza. We stayed for two nights and could easily explore Old San Juan's backstreets and footpaths. From the moment you walk in, you feel welcomed. The staff is great. The pool on the terrace is tiny but perfect for a quick dip overlooking the historic parts of the city. Super cool place.

Room Tip: 3A is great. Doors opening to small balconies overlooking the downtown streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasSabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I can't say enough about this gem of a hotel! It deserves more than 5 Stars! I have traveled extensively and I have to say this is one of the favorite places I have ever stayed. Great location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, authentic Spanish decor, small and quaint, super clean, loved the rooftop terrace for afternoon cocktails and complimentary continental breakfast. We stayed for 2 nights, but I wish I could have stayed longer. We plan to return again later this year and I had better book now before all of you find out how fantastic it is :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SailingWineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing