We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee we had in old San Juan. ”

Cafe Cuatro Sombras
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Coffee Shop, Single Origin Coffee, Restauratnt
Towanda, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best coffee we had in old San Juan. ”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The coffee is amazing everywhere in Puerto Rico. The concierge at our hotel pointed out that Puerto Ricans are very demanding about coffee and they don't use the term barista because it's redundant. He's right. The coffee was excellent everywhere we went, but this place really stood out. Service was very good and the designs on the top of your latte or cappuccino are an added bonus.

Helpful?
2 Thank jimbberryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    138
    28
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great coffee, perfect spot”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Fresh coffee, beautiful decoration. Perfect spot and easy to find. Highly recommended if you want to try true puertorican coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mileslovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I liked the coffee at Cuatro Sombras. although some times services is kind of slow. Don't miss the toast with guava butter...It makes the wait worth it....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesLabadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The coffee here is amazing. Went here as part of the flavors tour and went back and got some to take home. Barely need sugar or leche. Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CandisCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great coffee and relax atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful friendly service, and the coffee was exceptional. Whenever I to Old San Juan I visit them for my cup of coffee. Oh! And the pastries are good too.

Great location three to five minutes walking distance from the port.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Cuatro Sombras also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Cuatro Sombras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing