We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the tostadas!”

Cafe Cuatro Sombras
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Coffee Shop, Single Origin Coffee, Restauratnt
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Try the tostadas!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Since this was the only coffee shop I visited in OSJ I have nothing to compare it to. My black coffee (Americano) was quite tasty, and my husbands cream and sugar (latte) was delicious also. Since it seems like you can't get just a cup of coffee in OSJ, it was pricey. I also had a tostada with guava butter, which was one of the best pastries I have ever had! This simple breakfast was the equivalent of coffee and donut or coffee and croissant. Worth stopping by.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    137
    26
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Really great coffee”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stopped in for breakfast one morning and had the best coffee! This appears to be where the attorney's from the court building across the street start their day. Coffee was wonderful and had a croissant that was very tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retiringonaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The freshest Coffe you will taste”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

this place have their own roasting machine to roast the coffee so it does not get any better than that. The staff is very friendly and the place is very cozy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Coffee in Old San Juan...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great spot in Old San Juan to enjoy all the flavor and aroma of Puerto Rico's finest coffee. Cup of first class, the atmosphere and smell in the whole place is inviting, good service and attentive personnel. They have different delicious pastries and snacks... a must visit for coffee lovers!

Helpful?
1 Thank EveZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in San Juan”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This coffee shop was recommended to us by the staff at Chateau Cervantes. It was, by far, the best coffee we had during our trip to Puerto Rico. We went every day we were in San Juan. Delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Cuatro Sombras also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Cuatro Sombras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing