We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooms”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It was spacious and top end, the only thing I wasn't fussy about was the neighbourhood. Natalie was the best customer service employee I've every met. Always there to help answer questions, greeted you with a very warm friendly smile. The other staff members were also very good and equally as friendly, but she was made the stay that much more wonderful. Wonderful staff all around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Maryann M,

Thanks so much taking of your time to share your review with us and others on this page. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice at the moment of choosing a hotel to stay here in San Juan. Miramar is the second historic zone in San Juan, this is why all buildings are kept as original and under constant restoration, it is also monitored at all the time by the local police. We encourage you to participate on the next upcoming event named Miramar Lives which will be taking place in all areas within our location during December 14-15 this year, this is a cultural event organized to create awareness about our beloved Miramar. We always love to read about our team exceeding guest’s expectation and we are honored to read that our Natalie made your stay more pleasant.

We look forward to continue welcoming you back home. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    202
    66
    27
    25
See reviews for
167
379
22
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our room was beautiful! I figured since we had the Presidential Suite (most expensive room), that it would be. Spacious living room, dining room and kitchen, three great bedrooms, laundry room, huge closets, comfy beds, central air, TV's in each room, etc. However, the small things started to add up and in the end I was just annoyed.

The complimentary happy hour was a cheap 30 rack and bottles of wine the hotel bought and would pour into a glass for you. Okay, it was free, but I expected a bit more. We had complimentary breakfast every day which was great- made to order eggs, pancakes/waffles, bacon/sausage, oatmeal and some fruits. The last day we arrived at 930am (breakfast ended at 10am) and they were out of coffee. I asked if there could be some more and about ten minutes later they poured hot water in the carafe, essentially just watering down the end of the coffee that had been sitting out for 2 hours now- not exactly a refill. We also had complimentary dinner on Thursday night, and since it was Thanksgiving, we were excited that they were going to make a Thanksgiving dinner, which we were told by the front desk. Dinner was 6pm-8pm and we arrived at 6:30pm and everything was gone. The only options were rice and beans, turkey, stuffing and potatoes to begin with. The gravy was out and not replaced, and everything else wasn't replaced until about 7pm and was gone again with in minutes. Some guests came about 7:45pm and the person working literally told them "there was nothing left, sorry". However, a co-worker of his came up about the same time and managed to leave with a full plate (aka they had food saved for the employees, but told the guests everything was out). I was also expecting something more in general for Thanksgiving- at least one vegetable!

Additional issues included having a balcony, but not being allowed to use it due to insurance reasons, we were told. The TV's in the bedrooms only got four channels (the one in the living room had all cable channels) and the Wi Fi did not work in the bedrooms either. The place was definitely located in a semi-sketchy area, but being all in our 20's, we didn't really mind (I can understand why a family with children may not want to stay here). That being said, we consistently found the front door unlocked and no one at the front desk. AKA, any one could enter the building at points through out the night. Housekeeping didn't come until LATE, after 3pm most days, and our sheets were never replaced, the bed was just made and some days they forgot to give us certain items (no hand towels or face clothes one day, no shampoo the next). Staying with five people, we showered a lot and at one point I had to go to the front desk just to get a towel. We stayed on the 6th floor, and the common floor/dining room was above us, meaning the consistent sound of people moving chairs above us was heard from 6:30am on daily. Finally, we had a dishwasher and full kitchen, but was not provided with any dishwasher liquid or soap, which would have cost us extra. Even the coffee in the kitchen (which usually you get a pod of coffee at least) and the laundry detergent cost additional money. We had to buy a lot from the 24 hour store next to us.

In our defense, we did tip the staff at breakfast every day as well as at dinner and the house keeping daily at least $5, if not more. Not sure how I feel honestly- I feel like the customer service was sub-par, especially since we were staying in their most expensive room. The added "perks" were so-so, as I only enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. I think I would try a place closer to town, for a little bit more money in hopes of receiving better service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th and 7th floor will be loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Chelsy B,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review on this page. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to Puerto Rico. We are glad to read that you found your Presidential Suite beautiful, all units feature the same style and taste of decoration.

Our complimentary happy hour features beers and wine for two hours added to our rates as well as all other complimentary services to enhance our guests experience. We have taken notes about your comments in regards to the coffee. In regards to the Thanksgiving’s Dinner, we provided a complimentary traditional Puerto Rican styled dinner, the food mentioned is exactly what we eat here in Puerto Rico as dinner for this celebration. We also ordered a separate dinner for our employees we were on duty as well as for our guests.

Our balconies are closed for security reasons, this is why we never advertise them. Our entrance doors feature an automatic security system that only our front desk staff and our guests with their keys can open/close them at any time. We have front desk services 24/7. The housekeeping team works from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm providing service floor by floor. As stated on our environmental guide provided to all guests upon arrival, we change the sheets very two days unless the guests request it to be changed on a daily basis with the request card that we also provided on the welcome kit (as stated, if guests want their sheets to be changed daily, they place the card on the beds and the maids change them).

We are very sad to read your review, however, we would love to have the honor of welcoming you back on your next visit to Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I just want to say thank you again Jorge, for doing such an outstanding job with my room reservation and for turning such a frustrating situation into such a pleasure. I really look forward to my stay there now and can't wait. I hope everyone else there is as nice as you are.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tootles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Tootles63,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review with us. We really appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our island. We are glad to read that our Jorge turned your frustrating situation into a great one in a positive service oriented one. Please feel free to visit us whenever you get the chance to travel to Puerto Rico again, you may consider CIQALA your home away from home. It is our mission and culture to deliver the highest quality of service and to assure that every guests feel as at home while staying with us.

Looking forward to welcoming back home again soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We got the 3 bedroom suite at ciqala 7 nights stay. We did have to pay a fee for anyone past 2 people staying in the hotel its 25 Per person per nt which I think wasnt necessary being that we paid so much already. They didn't have room service a pool or the best breakfast choice and most of the times it was cold. The hotel itself is small nothing to do in it you have to go out to other hotels for casinos or fun the area is not safe at all to walk up the block there are drug dealers and prostitution. They advertise balconies which are locked you cant use them. The front desk was extremely helpful nice and never hesitate to help if I come back it would be thanks to them other then that I think id rather stay elsewhere. The master room was great except my tv above the jetted tub never worked I asked several times to fix it. The other 2 rooms the beds were not comfy at all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Queen1212,

We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our beautiful island and for taking of your time to share your review in this page. As the majority of the hotels in San Juan and as stated in all information related to our hotel, all of our rates are based in two adults maximum, we do have an extra persons fee to be applied to every additional person in the unit. We do not feature a pool and this is why we gladly provide transportation to/from the beach. Our breakfast features two options, buffet and the cook to order freshly made upon request. Based on your comment, maybe these things could happen sometimes during the weekend nights and are blocks away from our location here in Miramar, as in many different big cities in the world.

Our balconies are locked due to security reasons and this is why they are not featured in any information related to our hotel. We hope to have the honor serve you again on your next visit to Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks for your review.

Best regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed two nights upon arrival in San Juan and one upon departure. The presidential suites were spacious and very comfortable. It was very quiet every night. We were forewarned by other Tripadvisor reviews to expect that breakfast, with eggs cooked to order, would take about twenty minutes, so we factored that into either an early or late arrival to breakfast and it worked well for us. Incidentals stocked in the refrigerator were modestly priced. Our Puerto Rican dinner provided by the Ciqala on Tuesday night was delicious. We didn't feel unsafe in the neighborhood, and we walked to the bus stop to go into the Old Town of San Juan, and once there rode the free trolley throughout Old Town to various stops. We also walked to Casita Miramar for dinner, which was a to die for meal. Staff was very friendly, professional, knowledgeable, and helpful at all times during our stays here, and if we were to return to San Juan, without a doubt this is where we'd want to come back. Just a lovely time here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear CanadianWannabe,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review with us on this page. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice for your vacation to our beautiful island. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, that your Suite was comfortable and that breakfast works perfect for you. We are also glad to read about our staff exceeding your expectations, customer service is one of the most important key in our standards of service. It is always great to read about our guests walking around within our location and noticing that it is safe.

We look forward to welcoming you back home on your next visits to Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ciqala in September for our anniversary for a week. The hotel is beautiful! Luxury home suites are exactly what they are. You feel like you are at home. It's beautifully decorated, and has all the features you would need. We stayed in room 502 and it was perfect for us. It's a one bedroom suite with living room, dining room, full kitchen, 2 full bathrooms (one with jetted tub and walk in closet) and a laundry room.

The balconies on the rooms are locked, so you cannot access them. If you are a smoker, you can go upstairs to the PH floor (where they serve food) and smoke on the balcony there (they have ashtrays up there) or go downstairs and out front.

There is a parking garage to park in (I would highly recommend renting a car if staying here). It's locked for safety at all times, but you just pull up and they open the door for you right away. We never had to wait for more than 30 seconds.

They have a free shuttle to the Condado beach in the morning, but I believe you have to reserve it the night before. We never used it. They will provide towels for the beach and they have beer and such for sale as well as throw away coolers if needed.

I cannot say enough about the staff -- they are all polite, friendly and very willing to help with anything that you need -- from the front desk staff, to the chefs and the cleaning staff. They always greet you with a smile when you walk in and really offer to go above and beyond as compared to any other hotel I've ever stayed in. They are all more than willing to offer advice and recommendations on where to eat, what to visit, etc. Every one of them were great! We had the same chef for the majority of the time we were there who was so nice. We chatted with him every morning.

As others have posted, the breakfast is made to order and it's FREE (eggs, toast, croissants, omelettes, pancakes, fruit, cereal, juice coffee)- you go to the PH floor and order what you would like and you have an option to sit inside or outside at bistro style tables on the balcony. On the PH floor they also have a living room area (couch, tv) and a computer for you to use if needed.

You also get free traditional Puerto Rican dinner 2 nights of the week (I believe it's Tuesdays and Thursdays) and also free beer and wine a few nights a week for like an hour or so. We went up one night and had a beer and we were the only ones. There's not much of a selection, buy hey, it's free, so it's definitely a nice gesture.

The hotel is a quick drive from all of the action - but it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of Viejo San Juan and Condado. It is a historic area, and it's not as maintained as the more touristy areas so you will see some graffiti and some less than desirable people in that area, but that is to be expected. I love to see culture as it really is, so that was enjoyable to me. In the day, it's fine to walk around... I don't think safety would be an issue at night either, but there were a few people hanging out around the corner every night drinking and yelling by a parked car. It seemed to be their usual hang out spot. They didn't bother us and we didn't bother them, so it wasn't an issue. If you are easily frightened by things like that, it may be an issue for you though.

The fridge was stocked with water, soda, beer and wine and some snacks like candy bars and popcorn ($1 to $2 for water, soda, snacks). They were reasonably priced, but we never used any of that. We just bought our own at the grocery store or ate out.

They have single use sized laundry detergent and fabric softener in the laundry room for use, but be careful - they do charge for it. It wasn't bad, like $3 each, but I didn't realize there was a charge for it because the price list is taped to the lid of the washer and it was up when we got there. So I started to do laundry and then saw the price list when I closed the lid. Not a big deal, but worth mentioning.

The rooms are cleaned and restocked daily - they do a great job.

Bed is super comfy, jetted tub is amazing (with TV mounted on the wall), and the shower is very nice too, with a fancy showerhead. Double sinks in bathroom, walk in closet was very spacious.

Kitchen is stocked with basic cooking tools, pots, pans, utensils, plates, glasses, mugs...etc. There's a full sized refrigerator (with ice and water maker), stove top and small convection/microwave oven. It's not a regular oven :) Coffee pot also.

I never used the gym/exercise room - so can't comment on that and there is no pool.
There's only about 2 rooms on each floor so it's really private, we only saw someone on our floor once during our whole stay - they were getting on the elevator as we were getting off.

It's about a 15 minute drive to the airport.

I think that's all I can really say about this hotel -- I like details so I tried to be as detailed as possible. I would absolutely, 100% recommend this hotel to someone staying in the area. It's a fantastic deal and definitely worth it with all the perks, cleanliness and amazing staff! I will most definitely be returning there next time I go to Puerto Rico.

Muchas gracias Ciqala :) Nos vemos la próxima vez

Room Tip: 502 has one bedroom, 2 full bathrooms, full kitchen, living room, dining room, laundry room, walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Emily S,

We want to thank you for taking of your time to share your review with us via this page and for making us the hotel of your choice during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are genuinely honored to read that you found what you expected and that you loved your Suite. Our balconies are locked due to safety and security reasons.

We always loved to read from our guests and mostly about the services delivered during their stay. It is truly a pleasure to read that our staff exceeded your expectations, excellence in customer service is our main goal. Thanks so much for your suggestions about the laundry prices list, we have taken notes and will be modifying it immediately. Our hotel don’t feature a pool, this is why we are glad to provide transfer to/from the Condado beach.

Our location, Miramar is the second historic zone in San Juan, this is why all buildings and structures are kept as original under constant restoration. Our area is constantly monitored by the local police, it is very safe to walk around at any time during the day. Thanks so much for your recommendations, we really appreciate it.

We look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visit to our island. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This place is a small establishment with very roomy accommodations. The rooms and suites are spacious and have small fully stocked refrigerators with all sorts of snacks and refreshments. (For a fee of course.). The staff is friendly and very accommodating. In fact I made a rather strange request for a step stool since I couldn't climb up onto the bed and to my surprise they had one which I used the whole time I was there. The bed is so comfortable I didn't want to get up and the fact that it was so quiet didn't help me lol. Breakfast was made to order. Dinner was served for two days out of the week. Lastly, you had the opportunity to have a private chef cook dinner for you in your suite. (Fee for latter only.) They also have a free parking garage. The worst part is the neighborhood. You can probably go out in daytime but unless your driving I would not suggest going out at night. However, the area has many old and new buildings with beautiful architecture and the area is attempting to rebuild.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenaida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Zenaida G,

We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to Puerto Rico. Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience on this page. We are glad to read that you found everything you needed during your stay, that you loved your suite and of course, about our staff exceeding your expectations with great services.

In regards to our location, Miramar is the second historic zone in San Juan, as part of our history, all building and structures are maintained and kept as original. We truly encourage you to view a video named our location, you can access it from our website by just clicking on the YouTube icon.

Once again, thanks so much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review. We look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits to our enchanted island.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Property: Ciqala Luxury Suites
Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Puerto Rico, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you call for reservation to your arrival, we make sure that your stay with us is more like visiting family members as we deliver personalized service at all the time and take close attention to details. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, our suites are carefully decorated with your well-being in mind providing all comforts of home at your dreamed destination. We assist you stay on track while traveling with our fitness room, business center with computer access and a printer. You can just relax and enjoy your favorite drink at our rooftop pool bar while overlooking the breathtaking view of the city and Bay. Start up your day at our SP Floor with our complimentary breakfast buffet as well as made to order full American Breakfast freshly prepared by our chef who is ready to greet you with a smile every morning as well as our team members who are delighted to take your order. From fresh pastries, fruits and juices to very well deserved hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing