We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far the best customer service we've met in a long while”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Far the best customer service we've met in a long while”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I booked this property through Hotwire so we didnt know the hotel's name. I guessed it but didnt dare booking it somewhere else as reviews were mixed. However under $100 a night your options are HIGHLY limited in San Juan.

So then let's rephrase this: we COULD not have been happier through these 3 nights even if we spent double as much!

From first minute to last staff just went out of their ways to accomodate everything what we wished for.
I booked a queen room which was up on the SP floor (702) where they serve the breakfast and tuesday/thursday dinners. This had one minor setback which was the "traffic" through morning and if you are a light sleeper you could hear the elevator working. Otherwise no noises whatsoever.
The room had a king bed, which was on the soft side but no issues whatsoever, a beautiful bathroom and a huge waredrobe. Tv with all the channels you wished for, fast internet and a fully stocked fridge with really cheap drinks (can of soda $1 a pop, $1 candy bars, etc.)

As previous reviews mention you should have your own vehicle otherwise you rely on public transportation or taxis. We had a car and it was 5 minutes to Old San Juan. Brilliant.

It ticked all the boxes for us and Tuesday Puerto Rican dinner was just splendid.

If going back to San Juan we would not even look anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ka0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Ka0z,

Thanks so much for taking of your precious time to share your review with us and others on this page. We are glad and appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was an honor having you as our guests, we deeply love to read from our guests about our team exceeding their expectations by delivering what our commitment states, to deliver a customer service of excellence.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that were able to experience the services that we have include to enhance our guests experience. It is also nice to read that you were able to see how close we are located from all main local attractions.

We look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits to our island. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    227
    74
    30
    22
See reviews for
195
410
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I came across the Ciqala Luxury Suites by chance. I had never heard of it and didn't even know where it was. BUT I am definitely glad I found this place!

The staff here is exceptional - attentive, friendly, accommodating; you name it. Whatever you need they will take care of you.

The hotel is amazing - spacious rooms, great breakfast, dinner, etc.

This hotel is NOT for you if you are looking for a hotel with amenities - bars, restaurant selections, pool or even a beach. If you want to walk to bars and restaurants then this is not the place. You SHOULD have a vehicle while staying here or be prepared to take a taxi or public bus to the Old San Juan area.

This hotel IS for the person who is looking for a modern, spacious hotel that offers great value and is ran by a friendly staff. You really can't beat this property with any other in the San Juan Area. There is no other property that offers what Ciqala Luxury Suites offers.

This hotel offers a cook to order breakfast INCLUDED, wifi INCLUDED, parking INCLUDED, Dinner on Tuesday and Thursday INCLUDED, happy hour on Monday and Wednesday INCLUDED, Transfer service to the Beach INCLUDED. Well you get the picture.

My husband and I had a Presidential Suite Rm#302 and we had no complaints. We coud not hear our neighbors or any outside noise. The room offered more than what we needed. And we had so much room it was truly wonderful. In fact, we have now moved to the Isla Verde area for a conference and I miss our room at Ciqala. In our current hotel room we feel like we are in a box!

I want to go back to Ciqala!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Worldtraveler428,

Thanks so much for taking of your precious time to share your review with us on this page. We truly appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. It is always an honor for us to read from our guests about our staff exceeding their expectations, customer service is vital for us as part of the CIQALA team. We are glad to read that you loved your Suite and did not hear any noises as our units are sound proof, and that you were able to enjoy of all services that we have included to enhance our guests experience. Our location in Miramar is part of downtown San Juan at only walking distance from the Convention Center and minutes’ drive from beaches, Old San Juan and other attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel by chance and it was all worth it. We stood in a presidential suite. To start we were greeted by Natalia G. She's awesome and friendly and very helpful!!!! Our suite was awesome. It had 2 full bathroom and full functional kitchen. TV in the living room, one in the master room and one over the jetted tub. It was awesome to watch TV and sip on a glass of wine in the jetted tub. We went up to the SP and looked around at the bar where they serve drinks for free!!! It was great and the views are awesome. I will definitely be returning to this hotel and will recommend it all my friends and family. Great location easy access to any where in San Juan.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VQS_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear VQS Home,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience in this review. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our beautiful island. We are so glad to read that your experience finding us was all worth it and that our Natalia G greeted you home, customer service is very vital for us. It is always great to read from our guests about the services delivered as well as being able to notice how close we are to attractions and things to do while staying with us.

We look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits to Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

First time in wonderful Puerto Rico! Loved Culebra Island and Old San Juan bars and stores. Stayed at Ciqala for a week with family. What a great choice! The place is beautiful, great location near neighborhood restaurants, parks and amazing historic houses. We will certainly miss our morning made to order breakfasts overlooking the Miramar skyline. Hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Suites facing the street have French doors to balcony, letting more light in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Molly L,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience in this review. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our enchanted island of Puerto Rico especially knowing that this was your first time here. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to have breakfast with us as well as exploring around our location and see how close we were to many nearby attractions, restaurants and more.

It was truly an honor having you as our guests and look forward to welcoming you back home on your next visit to our island. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My friends and I decided to take a Thanksgiving holiday trip together to PR. 3 out of the 5 of us had been before. 1 person had experienced the all inclusive resort experience, 1 has family living in PR, and the other volunteered and stayed in a community lodging space. This was a different step in the right direction for all of us that had been there before.
There isn't a shuttle from the airport to the condo but it was a quick ride, about $10. Check-in was relatively easy and we got there just in time to experience happy hour. There was a snafu when I called to check-in with my reservation because I'd booked on Orbitz. While I'd already paid the additional charge of $25/person after 2 people on Orbitz Ciqala didn't have a record of it. I was concerned I'd have to pay double so I called Orbitz and they settled it. we arrived just before happy hour which is Monday through Thursday I believe. Happy hour is basic, no mixed drinks, but a 24 rack of beer and wine served by nice people.
Our rental was beautiful. We had 3 bedrooms in the presidential suite on the 6th floor. I agree with the reviews to not stay on the7th floor because it's the same place where breakfast is served. Perhaps the 5th is ideal because in the morning or even late at night you can hear the chair scraping against the floor on the 7th floor. Not terribly pleasant but not complaint to management worthy.
There are ACs in every room which was nice. The fridge was fully stocked, but be aware that there is a cost associated with using the items in the fridge. The fridge does generate water and ice. For Americans worried about drinking the tap water, you'll be fine unless you have a super sensitive stomach. There's a Walmart within 5 min drive of the condos and a convenience store next door. Between those two places you should be all set for an affordable vacation.
The wifi wasn't throughout our condo but it was in the main living space. The TV worked well and got a bunch of the channels from the states.
We decided to go to the beach for one day on our trip. Notice: Tell the front desk the night before if you're planning on going to go to the beach. We didn't realize this in advance and had to wait about 20min for a cab. No worries, but it would have been helpful to know. For those of you who care, you can drink on the beach with very little interruption from the police.
For Thanksgiving we were promised a complimentary dinner. It was complimentary which usually results in joy but we felt bad for the lone guy who had to work that day. It looked like they catered the food and brought it in, and he was in charge of serving the food. We arrived about 30min to an hour after the dinner was set to start thinking it was buffet style. Luckily we got there when we did because a few people who came after us didn't get much food due to the limited amount.
The neighborhood the suites is located in, isn't the nicest, the reviews are correct. My response to this may be different from most because I grew up in a neighborhood similar to it. So no, don't walk around the area with your kids after midnight. Can you safely survive in a group of people? Yes. If you have the money for luxury you might want to choose some place else if this is going to bother you.
My friends and I ended up on a hunt trying to find places to party in San Juan. However, we found Yelp to be unreliable because many of the places had closed and there was no notation on the website. We ended up deciding to walk home instead of take a cab. We stuck together and it was fine. There are prostitutes hanging out on the corners, but they're at work, just like the rest of us who work on the opposite site of the moon. If you're not interested in their services, they don't bother you.
The parking garage was convenient once we had a car.
Breakfast, delicious. Particularly the oatmeal. The pancakes and waffles were delicious too. Yum!
In general, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back. The staff are kind and do their best.

Room Tip: Floor 5 might be a good choice - see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderlusting1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Kay H,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review with us on this page. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad to read that you were able to enjoy some of the services that we have included to enhance our guests experience. It is always an honor to read about our team providing continuous great customer service as all guests are very important to us. In regards to the chairs sound on the 7th floor, we have changed the chair legs with new bottoms to void those sounds especially when meals and cocktails are served. In regards to places to go and what to see, we have prepared a list with restaurants, clubs, historic, sites, casinos and more since last month, and we provide it to all guests upon arrival, we have also included the note that all guests need to reserve the night before for the beach shuttle.

In regards to our location, Miramar is the second historic zone in downtown San Juan constantly monitored by the local police. Based on your comment, as in many different big cities in the world, maybe these things could happen sometimes during the weekend nights and are over 10 blocks away from our hotel.

We are honored to read that you will visit us again and we truly look forward to welcoming you back at your home in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Spent the weekend at Ciqala. Good location in Miramar just a few blocks to the lagoon with Condado on the other side. My very clean, spacious, suite had a full kitchen, separate eating area, whirlpool tub, living area with nice couch and a comfy bed. Great made to order breakfast was included. Alas I was not there Mon-Thurs to enjoy the complimentary happy hour. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ges5542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear ges5542,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review with us on this page. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad to read that you were able to enjoy some of the services that we have included to enhance our guests experience, that you loved your Suite, we are very sorry to read that you were not here for the cocktails and dinner but we hope you can enjoy it on your next visit as well as going to the beach on your beach shuttle to that the full experience.

We are honored to read that you will visit us again and we truly look forward to welcoming you back at your home in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Ciqala Luxury Suites week of Christmas one thing that they are so good about is hiring friendly staff/employees, they are friendly and helpful. The staff/employees definitely provided us with an excellent customer service.


Things we like about it:
- it was clean
- free parking
- free wifi supposedly but it didn't really work at all when we were there, not sure if its just spotty or has limited number of users
- the set up is not really hotel more like an apartment so its good if you have a couple of people or big groups
- free breakfast made to order, and happy hour tues/thurs nights

Things we don't like about it:
- it is hard to find even with a car, its in the middle of nowhere
- the parking does not have a gate or camera so you feel a little unsafe
- there is only one way to get in and out of the garage and its very narrow
- there is no pool or not very close to the beach area,
- we can't sleep very well the walls are too thin or not sound proof, we hear everything
- the next door coffee shop seem to be open all night so we hear voices and partying all night which sucks wish that it was sound proof
- the hot water seems to ran out after 30 mins so some of us took a cold shower which sucks
- the price seem to be high or same as the 4-5 stars hotel i think it should be less since they have full service resort

Room Tip: Make sure that your rooms are all the way on top or not close to the coffee shop otherwise you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdwildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear mdwildcats,

Thank you for taking of your time to share your review on this page. We are glad to read that our staff continues following our standards of exceeding our guests expectations with excellent customer service, all of our guests are very important to us. In regards to our parking gate, it was being repaired during the time you stayed with us due to a guest broke it by accident, our water faucets are European style and very tricky to open especially to switch from cold to hot water; we have taken notes on adding the best way to operate them to avoid these situations to other guests who get to experience it, our internet service provider was having different issues during the Christmas week which has already being solve. Our hotel features a security system including cameras in all common areas, we have added signs showing where they are located.

Our hotel is located in Miramar, the second historic zone in downtown San Juan at only 5 minutes from the Condado area, beaches such as Condado and Escambron, Old San Juan, shops, restaurants, historic sites and Casinos. We provide driving direction on our main page as well as our staff is trained to guide our guests to our main entrance. We do not have a pool but we provide transportation to/from the Condado beach. Our units our sound proof, however, there were different guests having family gatherings on their Suites during the Holidays. The coffee shop next door is on of the typical Puerto Rican convenient store where they sell from food to happy hours for the people to gather.

We take this opportunity to invite you to visit us again. All guests are very important to us and we look forward to having the honor to serve you again soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
816 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Property: Ciqala Luxury Suites
Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Puerto Rico, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you call for reservation to your arrival, we make sure that your stay with us is more like visiting family members as we deliver personalized service at all the time and take close attention to details. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, our suites are carefully decorated with your well-being in mind providing all comforts of home at your dreamed destination. We assist you stay on track while traveling with our fitness room, business center with computer access and a printer. You can just relax and enjoy your favorite drink at our rooftop pool bar while overlooking the breathtaking view of the city and Bay. Start up your day at our SP Floor with our complimentary breakfast buffet as well as made to order full American Breakfast freshly prepared by our chef who is ready to greet you with a smile every morning as well as our team members who are delighted to take your order. From fresh pastries, fruits and juices to very well deserved hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing