We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My home away”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My daughter stayed on november and visited her and I love it. We stayed for one night just for relaxi before traveling to the island. Perfect location with parking inside, home made great breakfast and close to Old San Juan, Airport, Condado, Isla Verde, beaches, restaurants, cruises, supermarket, shopping center Plaza Las Americas, bakery,

Room Tip: Confortable cleanlines bed and quiet room with a nice window view.. Awesome! Special thanks to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noemi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Noemi O,

It is an honor for us to be your home away here in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as breakfast the next morning. It was also nice to read that you were able to see that we are closed to all main attractions in the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back at your home in our enchanted island.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    223
    71
    28
    24
See reviews for
184
406
27
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked a 1 night stay before our cruise. We flew into the airport and got a taxi to the hotel (rate was $15 plus $1/bag and $2 fuel). Our taxi driver was nice and we used him to get to the port the next day for only $7. Check in was smooth. The lobby was small but efficient. The receptionist gave us directions to the public bus stop and shopping/restaurants. We asked her about a dining location in Old San Juan and we were happy with restaurant Rosa De Triana. We walked to the public bus stop and went to Old San Juan. The area around the hotel was not the best but ok for just a night stay. The room was nice and clean. The water pressure for the shower was not good as it was hard to rinse the shampoo from my hair. The breakfast was good but took a while to be served. Overall, a pretty good experience for our pre-cruise stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emily_fagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Emily_Fagan,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience in this review. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your pre-cruise stay here in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad that you had a very good experience with us. In regard to our European styled showers, they are a bit tricky to open and to manage hot/cold, we have taken notes and will make sure we explain to all guests upon arrival; thanks so much for informing. Regarding our location, Miramar is the second historic zone in Downtown San Juan; as part of our history, all buildings are kept as original with proper restoration as needed as well as it is constantly monitored by the local police.

We look forward to having the honor to welcoming you back home on your next visit to our island. Once again, thanks so much for sharing your experience.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I think that this hotel is really trying. They provide nice service, decent rooms, and a good breakfast. I'm not crazy about the location, but I can't judge it too much because we basically just slept there and headed on our way after breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear TraverlyTraveler,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. In regards to our location, Miramar is the second historic zone in downtown San Juan and as part of our history, all buildings and structures are kept as original with proper restoration when needed, it is also constantly monitored by the local police. We look forward to having the honor to serve you again, please feel free to make CIQALA your home-away from home in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was fortunate enough to find this property just trying to find somewhere to stay for one night near but not at the airport in San Juan. The interior is very modern and clean, colorful. The front door issecured with a buzzer. The front desk staff are available around the clock and were very helpful. The hotel is on bus lines and they are happy to direct, arrange tours.
The room had uber comfortable bed and a nice kitchen and bath.
An added bonus was the included and cooked to order full breakfast served either inside or outside on an upper floor
Near Museum of Modern Art and old San Juan and Condado
I would go back again with pleasure

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, consider a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Deejos,

We are very delighted to read your review and that we made you feel fortunate to stay with us, this means so much to us as a team. It was an honor to assist you during your stay. We are glad to read that you enjoyed breakfast with us as well as that our team was happy to provide you with any information needed. All guests are very important to us and it is our commitment to make them feel as at home.

We are very thankful to read that you will be staying with us again with pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ciqala for 6 days & loved it. It's a home away from home. Ok local neighborhood. Easy drive to Old San Juan and the beaches. Nightlife close by at Condado. Great restaurants a few minutes out. We were gone everyday exploring and enjoying all the recommendations of places to see & things to do and appreciated coming back to Ciqala and unwinding. The staff was great, place is very spacious & clean - daily housekeeping if needed.
Daily breakfast & dinner (Tues & Thrs) provided. Also a great little local restaurant across the street serves up tasry mojitos & tostones. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reddroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reddroady,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your 6 nights stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico, thanks so much for your comments. We are glad to read that you were able to visit all recommended areas, explore around and of all services that we have included on our nightly rates with the intention of enhancing our guests experience. It is always nice to read about how our team is doing, all guests are very important to us and it is part of our commitment to make them feel at home.

We are very honored to read that you will be staying with us and we truly look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I arrived at the hotel at 345 our check in time was at 3. The room we were supposed to stay in was not finished being cleaned, we found this out opening the door to our suite and the maid was finishing up mopping the floor that had not been swept. The hotel desk gave us another room, the 1st night the tv remotes did not work, pulled back the covers and found long strands of black hair. 2nd night coming back from dinner saw a roach run across the floor. I would suggest not staying here. The staff is very friendly but the overall cleanliness of the hotel is horrible. The room across from us was talking about bugs in their room as well. Don't be fooled by the nice décor.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Vanessa B,

We appreciate you staying with us during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. The experience at your arrival about providing a Suite that was not ready was due to a miscommunication between our team members as explained by our manager who also apologized and found a solution at the moment. We carefully take care of our cleanliness and this is the first time we have this type of experience. The bug you saw was due to in Caribbean weather during rainy days, bugs comes out and fly around the area, it has access by the window that was left open in one of the Suites, this situation was taken care of immediately.

We look forward to having the honor to serve you again on your next visit to Puerto Rico. Thanks for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Located in an actual neighbourhood (as opposed to a touristy area), Ciqala Suites delivers value for money. Our room was quite large, with a couch, fridge & stove and dining bar) in addition to the huge jacuzzi bathroom. Reasonably priced snax are found in the min-bar (most items a dollar), and there is a convenience store literally next door. There is a free happy hour during the week, and free, made-to-order breakfasts (omelettes, anyone?) everyday, til the civilized hour of 10am. Across the street is a superb restaurant (La Jaquita Baya), and there are several others within walking distance (6 blocks or so--try Casita Miramar). Free on-site parking (just don't have an SUV or other extremely large vehicle, as it is a tight squeeze) completes the picture. However, what makes this place is the staff--to a person, all were super friendly and helpful, printing our boarding passes for our flight home for us, printing maps for a day-trip to another part of the island, calling taxis for us, and just being overall pleasant. The manager is present and is constantly asking for updates on our stay and quality of service.
The only things i can say on the somewhat negative side are that it is difficult to step into the bath/shower (a stepladder is almost needed!) and there was no clock or radio in the room (lovely huge TV with many channels, however).
i would stay here again in a heartbeat. While not in the 'tourist' area, it is close enough.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, with a view, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trawicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Trawicki,

We are very happy to read that you noticed that we deliver value for money. Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review and for selecting our hotel for your stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad to read that you were able to explore around and to enjoy of all services that we have included to enhance our guests experience. We are also honored to have you as our guests and to read about our team exceeding your expectations with great services as part of our commitment.

We are very honored to read that you would stay with us again in a heartbeat and truly look forward to welcoming you at your home in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
801 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,709 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Property: Ciqala Luxury Suites
Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Puerto Rico, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you call for reservation to your arrival, we make sure that your stay with us is more like visiting family members as we deliver personalized service at all the time and take close attention to details. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, our suites are carefully decorated with your well-being in mind providing all comforts of home at your dreamed destination. We assist you stay on track while traveling with our fitness room, business center with computer access and a printer. You can just relax and enjoy your favorite drink at our rooftop pool bar while overlooking the breathtaking view of the city and Bay. Start up your day at our SP Floor with our complimentary breakfast buffet as well as made to order full American Breakfast freshly prepared by our chef who is ready to greet you with a smile every morning as well as our team members who are delighted to take your order. From fresh pastries, fruits and juices to very well deserved hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing