We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre stay at BW Condado”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Township of Washington, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mediocre stay at BW Condado”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We, a family of 4 with 2 little kids, spent Christmas through NYE at BW Condado. We had relatively low expectations of the hotel which was not our first or second choice. The hotel met our low expectations.

Pros:
- gracious and helpful front desk staff
- location which is a short block to the beach
- beach chairs and towels provided when available
- decent hot breakfast
- plenty of restaurants around
- Duane Reade across the street

Cons:
- strong odor in room likely because of the old carpeting which needs to be replaced
- lack of housekeeping. Requests for housekeeping were met with a replenishment of soap/lotion/etc, not a cleaning of the room
- power outages in our room for the first 4 days. Seemingly the circuit breaker was faulty and eventually replaced.
- they have a kitchen but it's only open at breakfast
- worn down room/bathroom

We ended up at this hotel because we booked our holiday last minute. Other hotels were not available or were astronomically priced.

While I do not recommend BW Condado, if you have no alternatives, it is a passable option.


Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nikhil_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelRivasCondado, General Manager at Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hello Nikhil_nj,

Thank you for your review of our property, I was happy to read that you found our front desk staff helpful and our hotel to be conveniently located near the beach. As you mention, we offer complementary breakfast, and just across the street we have several restaurants.

I sincerely apologize, as unclean rooms are unacceptable at our hotel, and we make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. I would like to speak with you directly, at your convenience please contact me at mrivas@condadopalm.com

Again, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience, and hope that next time that you are in Puerto Rico, you give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Miguel Rivas
General Manager
mrivas@condadopalm.com
787.721.9500
787.370.1080
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    567
    214
    65
    34
See reviews for
440
517
89
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

4 nights with adult daughter. We booked partial ocean view suite - which was a true suite with separate kitchenette (m/w, full size ref rig, coffee maker), bedroom (no door, but separate) and reasonably comfortable sofa bed. Huge balcony. Upon arrival we were pleased they could accommodate early check-in request (around 2 PM) but entering room we found a paint can, brush and drop cloth. Call to front desk was met with great apologies and removal of items within 10 minutes. 5 minutes later a call from front desk offered us an upgrade to "full ocean view" room which we took. Identical room, several floor higher. Rooms were in good shape, clean, everything worked. When we noticed there were no linens on sofa bed, call to front desk and linens arrived within 10 minutes. Buffet breakfast average - no fresh fruit, not the usual waffle maker, but hot eggs, sausages, potatoes. Pros - location on Condado a block or 2 from many restaurants, bars, etc. Cab to Old San Juan $17; to/from airport about the same. A block from the ocean - this is ocean view, not ocean front and they make that clear. Lobby bar nice place to catch a quiet drink. Cons - the NOISE from the street really is load, even on the 15th floor. Saturday night it was difficult to sleep, but manageable the other nites. If you want peace and solitude, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: You have to choose between ocean view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gails09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The good:

Breakfast (included) was better than average largely due to availability of fruit and yogurt, a variety of breads/pastries AND eggs served with bacon or sausage. This was the one area that staffing seemed adequate

The proximity to the beach was terrific, and the hotel loaned out beach chairs which was very nice. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean.

The not so good:

The BW chain would do well to make some investments in this property both in the physical plant and in training their personnel.

While not a particularly effective team, the staff we interacted with were largely pleasant. They just didn't seem to know how to problem solve and/or be creative. Or perhaps they were not allowed or encouraged to be anything more than task oriented.

The housekeeping unit looked to be significantly understaffed. We never saw a housekeeping cart in our hallway, and rarely saw staff from that unit anywhere in the hotel. We didn't get our room serviced during our stay but once unless we requested it, almost always after being out for the day.

Others who have reviewed this property mentioned that the elevators were barely adequate . We found that as well particularly since there were no service elevators. 1/2 way through our visit, one unit broke down leaving a single car to service 12 floors worth of guests and ferry bins of trash etc. On the plus side I guess those trips up and down the stairs helped work off some of the tres leche cake we enjoyed more than once during our trip.

The windows and draperies in the rooms do very little to block sound. We've never stayed in such a noisy room.....ever in Times Square!!! The AC unit in our room really labored too, adding to the noise problem. Had it been a more restful environment we might have not noticed how tired our room looked

We never had hot enough water in our shower no matter the time of day. It was only warm even when the temperature control was as far to the left as possible.

For someone looking to stay a night or two, it might be easier to overlook these flaws than travelers (like us) booking more extended stays.

At the price we were not expecting luxury, but certainly a much better stay than what we experienced.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and still found it to be really noisy. Perhaps a higher floor might have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelRivasCondado, General Manager at Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello rencar,

I truly value all of our customers comments all which are essential of successful business. Please accept my apologies for the situation that you encounter during your stay.I am happy to read that you found our hotel with a nice breakfast and a terrific location,with the opportunity of improving the quality of our rooms; I will make sure to share your comments with our team as we are devoted to ensuring that all our guests are taken care of, valued and respected. Please know that I am working with our engineering department to look for possible causes of hot water temperature fluctuations and the A/C noise in your room (along with the entire building) to prevent this situation from happening again.

Tripadvisor user, I would kindly as you contact me, so I may personally apologize and see how I can mend this experience.

Miguel Rivas
mrivas@condadopalm.com
787.721.9500
787.370.1080
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had one night to stay in San Juan after our cruise and chose this hotel because we could use points. The pluses - there is a Walgreens across the street with everything you need. Fridge in room. The beach is one block away. There is a pool, but it gets shade late in the day. There was a generous breakfast. The rooms were clean. We were close to the action with the Heineken Jazz Festival down the street. There is a good bar downstairs and decent restaurant on the corner. The down side, they were very busy so there was a wait for rooms, our sons had a 2-Queen room and we had a King room. We did not get a coffee maker in ours. The biggest issue though is noise. Our boys had a view of a parking lot, so ugly, but quiet room. We had a great balcony view west with a great view of the action (and fireworks), but the traffic noise through this area is incredible. We were so tired that we slept soundly, but if you were here for a few days, I think it would get to be a bit much. The hotel internet was great and computers were available to print boarding passes. We found all the staff to be friendly, polite, and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We finished our South Caribbean Cruise and stayed one extra day at the wonderful Best Western in Condado, Puerto Rico. The hotel was remodeled recently and they did a wonderful job. Between the staff and the hotel, everything was perfect. We were two blocks from the beach, and surrounded by shops and restaurants. Our room was spacious and clean and our bed very comfortable! We had a 10 minute ride by taxis to the airport to end our stay before returning to reality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the hotel are quieter and have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Propsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

With my family we have been satisfied with BEST WESTERN that we visited in USA , but 2 weeks ago we went to CONDADO BEST WESTERN IN PUERTO RICCO and it was a very disappointing experience . Service was bad ,and personal very non professional and non efficient who lies to customers , room service was terrible and basically non existing ( we stayed 3 days ) , and above all a very sarcastic and rude manager .. With my family we really felt trapped and treated like nothing ...., Hotel is also old and definitely needs some work specially bathrooms , it’s also super noisy outside ,and it’s impossible to sleep , the beach by the hotel was awful ,there a terrible smell ...

I HAVE BEEN TO MANY HOTELS IN NORTH AMERICA AND EUROPE, THIS IS THE WORSE HOTEL EVER ...

Room Tip: don't go ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahdi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed one night pre cruise, Staff was amazing from Carlos, Jihan,Javier and Mary they made are stay amazing! Would stay here again in hearbeat! Enjoyed the bar and the bartender! Our room was clean and bed very comfy. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salbythec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Address: 55 Ave Condado, San Juan 00907-1708, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Business Hotel in San Juan
#8 Family Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites – a modern hotel nestled in one of the most exclusive areas of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Peaceful, affordable and just steps away from a powdery-white beach, we pride ourselves on providing the best value at the best location. Our 151 rooms and suites feature contemporary decor and an array of convenient services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Palace Hotel And Casino
Diamond Palace Hotel Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing