We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drams Hotel, a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersGold level
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drams Hotel, a good hotel”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I needed a clean, safe and inexpensive hotel to stay at during my three days in Puerto Rico. The Dreams Hotel fit the bill. It was very close to the subway station and there was a large variety of restaurants to choose from in the area. The rooms were more than adequate. There was a fridge and microwave in a room separate from the bedroom. There was cable TV in the rooms. The Rio Piedras shopping area is also in close proximity.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DouglasAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    87
    37
    14
    21
See reviews for
62
84
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights and while the beds were not the most comfortable and I do believe the bed sheets or pillowcases weren't washed..we have to say we enjoyed our stay. We spent a good amount on our first hotel and decided we would do Dreams so we can save money and do more in Puerto Rico. If you want to see Puerto Rico and feel like a local then this is the place. We also had a car so we were able to move around efficiently..if you don't then I don't suggest coming here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Looks are deceiving here, as we arrived on a Thurs. Night, as students congregated on the streets for partying. At first we were not allowed to proceed to the hotel some 50 feet away, due to road closures as pedestrian ways for the students. However, with te proprietor's intervention, we were allowed in, and parked right by the premises. The students were controlled and amiable, and there was a great shish kabob chicken booth and small bar by the front door. The rooms were spacious, no frills but very clean. Bathroom had shower, and the refrig. functioned. A welcome simple breakfast snack of toast, juice, coffee, and fruit was included, and the owner was very helpful with plans, directions and suggestions. The staff even helped power wash our car from a few flyers left on it during evening activities. We would stay there again, as it is much more reasonable than the downtown and old port hotels and very acceptable. We did walk around the area, visited the university, as well as a museum of old PR art and artifacts. The connections to the highway are simple and we had no trouble getting around by car.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marikaS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The room was clean and cozy and the staff were very friendly. Lots of character. The location isn't great. There isn't much around. Hipopotamous restaurant was fantastic. The chateau briand was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed two nights and we loved it. Very near to train station. Hipopotamo Restaurant made a wonderful paella. Walgreens one block away. Very very clean rooms. Good and friendly staff. We will come next week after our cruise, and we are happy to enjoy this property again. Remember to travel by boat to Old San Juan, very good choice. Elena will explain you how to make it.

Room Tip: We stay in 301 and was very good. Has a kitchenette, small fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you are a tourist on a budget, this is the place to stay; if you have business with or around the University, this is the place to stay. If money is not a problem, you will not appreciate this hotel. Desk staff is exceptionally helpful and courteous. If you want plush, soft, new towels - bring your own, but the service is good, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is away from the "tourist" traps, a Walgreen's is handy, good food and a nice ice cream shop is nearby, but you are definitely staying with the locals. We stayed for five nights and enjoyed it all.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor (behind the gate) are easiest to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredAckelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have stayed only one night in Dreams Hotel before going home after our 2-weeks round trip around the island.
Were a bit concerned beacuse of all the negative reviews here and the budget price, but our concerns were absolutely groundless!
The staff is kind and helpful, the rooms are basic, but clean and newly renowated. The area has a very nice and unique atmosphere due to the university that to be honest we just loved! Though the night we spent there was the first party-night in the semester, our room was facing the back and thus we were not disturbed by the noise at all!
We definitely recommend this Hotel for those travelling with tight budget (and appropriate expectations) and for those who are open for a different, youngish part of Puerto Rico!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aniko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#19 of 47 in San Juan
816 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#33 of 47 in San Juan
292 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico

Property: Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Address: 109 Ave Universidad | Paseo Jaime Benitez, San Juan 00925-2424, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem for the budget traveler. Centrally located in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Not in the touristic area.Very clean, comfortable and recently renovated rooms. Nearby Int'l Airport, University of Puerto Rico, Plaza las Americas Shopping Center, VA Hospital, Paseo de Diego, Piers. Old San Juan and Puerto Rico Convention are 4 miles away from us. Exceptionally warm, friendly and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing