We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for the quality”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Chula Vista
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the quality”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Our family of 5 adults and an infant stayed in 2 rooms for one night before our departure on the
cruise ship Carnival Victory. The counter staff was friendly and checked us in about an hour early. The sign behind the counter said they didn't accept debit cards, even though I booked it through "bookit.com" with the debit card. I did not have a credit card and the clerk told me they would have to debit the amount immediately. I told her that that was no problem... I was then charged an extra $10 to park our rental van.
The overhead light in the room made such a loud noise that we couldn't hear the TV, which even though it was a nice flat screen, the image was very fuzzy.The tiny bathroom shower was ok but the fan did not work and there was no counter space. Pillows were very comfortable...it was a good night's sleep.
In the morning we returned our rental van to the airport and paid a taxi $20 to return. (We learned to ask about fares before getting in) The hotel provided a continental breakfast that our grown son said was simple but sufficient. At checkout, the line was out the door and it took us nearly a half-hour to depart. The hotel staff offered to keep our luggage in a back room until we wanted to board the cruise ship, but I had checked with the ship earlier and was told we could drop it off at 2:30. We thought it better to take our luggage upon check-out and not pay the $25 taxi fare to return later. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and this hotel was definitely overpriced for what we received.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisaTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    118
    89
    48
    24
See reviews for
86
109
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed there for one night before our cruise. We weren't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised. We actually got upgraded to a two bedroom unit, although we didn't need it the extra space was nice. The room was in good condition, the bed was comfortable, the continental breakfast was great with waffles and boiled eggs. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. We even had free internet. We didn't use the pool as it was pretty rainy when we were there but it looked very nice.
We were very pleased and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Lobby is like walking in sauna, makes you pay $2 for use of the safe. Has sign on counter, which says no early check-INS

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deforhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Stayed one night before our cruise. Good location. Nice Staff. Clean rooms.

Comfort Inn Web-site states there are restaurants attached to the hotel, but they have both closed. There is however other restaurants within walking distance.

Very nice area. Felt safe walking at night. Close to bars, restaurants, casinos.

A taxi to just about anywhere is $15-$20. However if you are patient you can take the bus for $0.75. A taxi is very easy to find, there are usually several parked outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, IL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed at this Comfort Inn for one night, before embarking on a cruise out of San Juan. We were expecting adequate accomodations and were surprised to find the place has been recently refurbished--paint, bedding, etc. The continental breakfast was more extensive than usual, with self-made waffles and hard boiled eggs in addition to coffee, cereal, juices, etc. The next morning we we discovered that the beach is a much shorter walk away than the hotel's description might suggest and the area itself if fairly upscale in terms of shops. Overall, a nice experience and would definitely stay again when we're in San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sept16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed at Comfort Inn for 3 nts last week and it was very clean, right in the tourist area and we had a very pleasant stay. Continental breakfast was adequate - juice, tea, coffee, cereal, make your own waffles, toast, pastries,boiled eggs.

Room was nicely furnished, beds were comfortable and Reception was pleasant and helpful.

As for the Condado area, plenty restaurants, bars and if you like the big name stores like Louis Vuitton, Gucci etc. are right around the corner. A 24 hr Walgreens is about a block away. If you want to go further afield, take one of the plenty taxis near the hotel. Forget the bus...they seem to have no set schedule.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbadosMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

This is not the Grand Oasis in Cancun, but you can’t beat it for the price and the staff is so nice and helpful. The rooms are much nicer than what the outside looks like. They are a little small but clean, comfortable and the AC kicked butt. Bed felt great.

Only 1 block from the main strip that has everything, shopping, dining, bars, beach resorts and casinos.

I liked it so much that I am already booked for Halloween weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevetraveling2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
0.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in San Juan
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 48 in San Juan
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#34 of 48 in San Juan
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 48 in San Juan
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 6 Calle Clemenceau | Condado, San Juan 00907-1608, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing