We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good and Inexpensive”
Review of Olimpo Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olimpo Court Hotel
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Saint John's, Saint John, Antigua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Good and Inexpensive”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel for 3 days in march and the experience was a real good one even though the reception area stop working at about eleven o'clock, they would let you know that in advance. the staff is very service oriented and the rooms are very clean and comfortable and a good room for that price. I have plans to go back to Puerto Rico and of course I am going to stay again at this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    22
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed here for 1 night after a cruise and then 1 night after a week on the island of vieques. The hotel is close to the isla grande airport (domestic airport(the local one good flights to Vieques), san juan and also an easy place to get a bus to the old town (if you are a confident traveller). Also very cheap on bus about 50cents or 75 cents one way to the old town!!!!! for a 10 min journey. Cost about $10 or $15, dollars by taxi from the cruise terminal to get here about 10 mins journey.

It is not really a hotel but a block of flats with a small reception area and a lift (no food provided or offered) My rooms did have a fridge. Very helpful receptionist. All very clean. On both nights I stayed here the room I was given was a big double with a balcony and big clean bathroom. It is not really top spec new, bathroom a bit dated but very solid with windows, but really clean, and not claustrophobic and quiet. This hotel is so much better value than most others I saw advertised. It is a good base from which to enjoy San Juan without paying ridiculous money. I booked via email - couldn't book direct by internet - had to phone up with credit card number. My first email wasn't really answered - better results by phoning. They are 5 hours behind UK.

I liked the area of Miramar which this hotel is based in. It is a relaxed suburb where it is easy to walk to the bank, pharmacy, late night supermarket and restaurants and take aways. There is a good restaurant right next door to the Olimpo which I didn't have time to visit but didn't look too expensive and looked fun. I had a good manicure and pedicure on the main road at end of street that the Olimpo is on (it is a hairdressers) . Not expensive and all very puerto rican and fun. No english really spoken.

For breakfast I also had a simple tasty breakfast with lovely egg on toast at cafe (green colour cafe) at end of street. It opens really early.

Taxi journeys seem to cost $10 one way what ever you do locally which i thought was expensive.. As mentioned I took the cheap bus to old town instead. Reception can help out with bus times. They run late and I used to come back about 9pm and felt safe. The buses run very regularly. I loved the old town of san juan. Lots of good restaurants and cafes and bars and south american music and energy. Lots of shopping also - some good factory shops for top brands eg Coast bags, Croc shoes, Ralph Lauren and loads more. Really beautiful buildings.

I got a ride to the international airport at the end of stay from the taxi rank outside the hotel which was good value. (can't remember exact amount!!!)

One other thing to note when I was there end of April it was a bit cloudy rainy - there was a tropical storm for a few days - after that it was good. May is the start of the rainy season here.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and ask if its quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PassionateTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostock, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The rooms were simple but clean and with a lot of space. For a modest price we had a balcony with a view of the sea (even though there was also a large portion of car park in the view), a small fridge and microwave,a table and chairs to eat at, TV, plenty of space for clothes, a safe (though ours didn´t work) and good airconditioning. The people at the reception were friendly and very helpful, and the area was quiet and felt quite safe.
Overall, I´d recommend this place if you´re looking for somewhere cheap and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fordie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I was in this hotel for a medical visit, and a friend recommend it to me. It was one of the most affordable priced hotel in the middle of Miramar, in San Juan, just between Ponce Ave. and Fernandez Junco Ave., with good transportation, good neighborhood, and good service.

Don't expect any plus service like in a Resort, nor a Jacuzzi or gym, but if you need to travel on a budget, and find a clean, good place to sleep and take a shower, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank inasetec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed a week. The price is perfect and it's location is great. The room, which was big & comfortable, included a microwave and a small fridge, which is great, because there's a supermarket at walking distance. There's also a movie theater, pharmacies, lot's of great places to eat, banks...Everything u need is at a walking distance. You can take public transportation (bus) for 50 cents and, in a couple of minutes, you're smack in the middle of Old San Juan. There are also lots of taxies, for those who don't want to take the bus, but it'll cost u $12. The hotel isn't modern-looking, but it's clean, comfortable, has fridge & microwave, the staff is friendly, the price is really great, the location is also great, the parking is free...It's a great affordable place I'd recommend to anyone who's looking to visit the Old San Juan area at a great price. There's no pool and (at least in our room) the view isn't all that great, but all that i've mentioned before make up for it, specially cuz you'll be hanging at San Juan most of the day! You can go to the top of the hotel for a spectacular view of El Condado.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anaition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Because ot the very reasonable price, I was a little bit concerned about the location and accomodations. But I was very much impressed with the room. It was clean, comfortable, provided all the amenities I needed for the night, and not far from El viejo San Juan,or the airport. Angel, one of the receptionist, was very friendly and provided us with information about the area. We came back to San Juan a week later and our friends from PR stayed there also for a day. I recommed this hotel if you are not looking for luxury. By the way, I had a nice view from my room.
Maria Torres, Kansas USA

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maravillada2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

If you are looking for budget accomodations in San Juan then look no further. Now don't expect, tropical swimming pools, gourmet restaurants, ammenities galore, or the beach at your doorstep, but what you can expect, is a very clean quiet comfortable room with air conditioning, a full private bath, an in room safe and cable TV with a helpful and freindly staff. To get to the resort areas, restaurants or the beach, you will need to take a taxi or the bus. However, location aside, this is what a budget hotel should be. Besides, the bus stop is only a half a block away and will take you anywhere in the San Juan Metro area cheaply.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjukyd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Juan/City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 46 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olimpo Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimpo Court Hotel

Property: Olimpo Court Hotel
Address: 603 Miramar Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Hotel Olimpo Court
Olimpo Court San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing