We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, but it has seen better days.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Peopleton, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient, but it has seen better days.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights following a Caribbean cruise. The hotel is reasonably priced, convenient and comfortable. We were out exploring San Juan and Puerto Rico most of the time so the lack of facilities in the hotel was not a problem. Rooms were comfortable. There was free internet access (why do cheaper hotels provide this and more expensive ones charge?). The Bistro attached to the hotel was expensive and not much used - we got breakfast for half the price over the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cricketer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    300
    132
    47
    78
See reviews for
153
286
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Miramar, prior to catching a cruise.Our stay was a very positive experience.
The gentleman at the front desk was so friendly and helpful, and gave us tips about where to eat in the neighbourhood, local shopping, attractions to see etc.
Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet.
We especially loved the rooftop patio. We bought some snacks and drinks at the grocery store one block up the street from the hotel, and then each evening sat up there and enjoyed the view and ambience while noshing.
The hotel is close to a local cafe, bank, grocery store, fast food establishments, movie theatre etc. We were surprised to read in some reviews that others felt the area around the hotel was unsafe. We felt exactly the opposite. Yes, it is true there are a couple of unoccupied buildings nearby, but we did not feel that because of this, our safety was compromised. There were always local people on the streets, out and about doing what normal citizens do in their own neighbourhood. This is an authentic area, unlike the artificial hotel zone a short walk away over the bridge. We felt blessed to have had a chance to stay here as opposed to staying at the hotel zone nearby.
The hotel was a great value, and we would certainly stay here again if we return to San Juan. Our taxi driver was familiar with the hotel and had no difficulty driving us here from the airport. While staying there, we used the local bus , caught at the bus stop nearby, to travel to the old town area. Very convenient.
We did go in to the little restaurant on the premises for coffee, drinks and dessert but we did not eat our meals there. As a result, we cannot comment on the eating establishment on site.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nutmeg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is the second year we stayed at this hotel before cruising. Will I return for a third time, yes without a doubt. The price is reasonable, the hotel is clean and very quiet, what more can you ask. The staff is friendly and always ready to help.
Your can catch a bus in front of the hotel for 50 cents, which gets you in the old San Juan.
There are restaurants and stores with walking distance.
However service in the hotel restaurant is slow, can be improved.

Room Tip: Both times room was located on 6th floor, very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brasstess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

they have spacious and well kept rooms, friendly and helpful front desk. We enjoyed beautiful lagoon view from our room (401 and 402) and the rooftop terrence was heavenly for a after dinner chat. M3 bus stops nearby to old San Juan; Supermarket (Pueblo?)only three minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTripPlaningDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed there 2 nights prior to a cruise. The staff were very helpful and even helped us locate a rental vehicle for a single day-trip out to the rainforest. They stored our bags on the last day so we could go into old San Juan for morning and early afternoon, return to pick up our bags and head for the cruise ship.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Calgarytravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed at Miramar a night before going on a cruise. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was clean. Ate at attached bistro...was good. Miramar is not a big hotel or a fancy one, but it is nice. I would stay again. Only bad thing I could say is we paid for a lagoon view and did not get it.

Room Tip: Martin at desk was very helpful. Grocery store right down the road, but does not open until 11 on S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was my second stay in this good value hotel. You can walk to Old San Juan (about 1.2 miles) or to the beach or Condado Lagoon for a swim or grab a bus to just about anywhere. The bistro restaurant is small, but provides some tasty options (including an excellent fruit salad and oatmeal for breakfast (specify no sugar or cream added and bring your own yogurt). There is a fridge and microwave in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter, but in the front you get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REFVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3106, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing