We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived about 2:30 but were told we can't check in until 3pm. Came back an hour later and the front desk was very unorganized and rooms not ready. When we did get our room keys, one of our three rooms was not what we reserved. They gave us another room that was occupied. Finally, the third time was correct. The rooms are very nice and the roof has a tremendous view of the ocean and city. If you can put up with the terrible front desk service, this is a nice hotel. Several casual restaurants and a grocery store within walking distance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kgdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    300
    133
    47
    78
See reviews for
153
287
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

A nice place to stay before or after cruise. Not a lot of amenities, but we just wanted a nice clean room for one night. Wish the restaurant was open. A very nice deck up on top. Great views of the city. If they had a bar up there would be even better. Would stay again if ever in San Juan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Miramar because it was a convenient place to stay before a cruise. I guess that's why they placed us in a tiny room that barely fit the two double beds that we needed. It definitely didn't look like the pictures advertised when we booked. :OP I don't think I would recommend this to anyone. It's convenient but I think there were other places to stay that would have been just as convenient and probably more comfortable.

Pros: Staff are pleasant and try to help you out as much as possible. Closet available to hold luggage. If your room is as small as ours was, you'll need to move the luggage out of the way.

Cons: Elevator is SLOW (faster to take the stairs). Check out time we waited about 5 times before we could squeeze in to go downstairs (we were on the top floor). Restaurant is under renovations and there isn't very much around the area except for a smoke-filled restaurant down the street and a Subway. Tiny rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quinte55ential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I have been to Puerto Rico a number of times, but never stayed in one place very long until our latest trip in January, when we decided to locate in Miramar, an area just over the bridge from Old San Juan. We rented Room 701 in the Hotel Miramar on Calle Ponce de Leon, and could not have been happier. The neighborhood is full of good restaurants, beautiful homes and is only a short walk to two nice beaches. The hotel is Fifties fabulous from the neon sign on the spacious sun roof to the incredible view of the blue-green Atlantic from our seventh floor picture window. The staff -- friendly and efficient -- was always ready to help. After a day or two the Miramar began feeling like home. So much so, in fact, that when it was time to return to the snowy East Coast, neither one of us could bear the thought of departing. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 701.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Book three rooms before our cruise. The restaurant was closed. They were doing a remodeling .The place is old but very clean. It's a cheap place to stay before a cruise. I don't think I would spend any more time than that there.cant go wrong for the night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was a clean Basic hotel with good service from the small personnel. However, do not expect much. The room was big and the view was good, but services were very Basic. No bar (closed) and no pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erkki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
997 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,755 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Puerto Rico Tourism Board presented Hotel Miramar the 2012 Award for Best Small Hotel for good reason, it’s a spectacular 3-Star rated hotel that deserves another. This 8-story (50-room) hotel is older but was totally gutted and rebuilt for larger rooms, with mini-fridge and microwave in each. There’s a small fitness center, free WiFi, two computers, a rooftop terrace, and even coin-operated laundry, but professional cleaning is available. Though Bistro 606 is temporarily closed, half a dozen restaurants are within two blocks, and there’s a Pueblo Supermarket a block away (for bottled water, cheese, wine/beer, etc.), all along Juan Ponce de Leon Ave. The location is perfect, about three miles from Viejo (Old) San Juan (OSJ). There’s a bus stop a hundred feet from the hotel, and the fare is only 50 cents, which takes you to the bus terminal in OSJ. Once there, three trolley lines shuttle tourists at no cost to various sites. General Manager Jill Bobiera Cruz and hotel staff succeed in their efforts to make a memorable experience and seriously discounted hotel rates for San Juan visitors. They certainly accommodated my every need, and I shall return next winter with friends, and will stay only at Hotel Miramar, located at 606 Juan Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, (Miramar/Condado) Puerto Rico (787/977-1000, 877-MIRAMAR) www.HotelMiramarPR.com.

Room Tip: Request room on upper floor facing east to avoid tropical afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeanMurphy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3106, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing