We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hotel”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at the hotel and we will never again. Where do I start, first there is extremely loud construction going on next door and there is no way of sleeping in or enjoying our morning. The first time we opened the door we were hit with an awful smell. It was so bad we went to the pueblo next door to buy things to help cover up the odor (which didn't work) we than found out it was the curtains that had mildew all over them. We told maid service and they didn't do anything about it. The beds are not comfortable at all. It is a very old hotel and nothing modern about the rooms at all. The parking is horrible. We had to constantly park on the side of the road and walk a good distance. Our tv was ancient and our remote control kept going out as well as the tv. We kept losing signal and it was extremely annoying. I am so glad we did not pay full price for this hotel, and even what we did pay was not worth it. I am not sure if we just had high expectations from a previous puerto rico visit and hotel, but we will never be coming back to this one. The staff is friendly, the bathrooms were nice and that's the only two good things about this hotel. I honestly do not understand how this hotel gets such high reviews. Very disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank barnes201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is small and cozy, which my husband and I enjoyed because the staff is friendly and attentive. The hotel doesn't have a lot of tourist attractions immediately next to it but the busses run by it almost every five minutes and take you right into Old Town. What it lacks in recreation (like pools, spa, etc) it makes up for in effectiveness and hospitality. Rooms are spacious and the clealiness is above average for sure. Would definately come back next time I'm in Puerto Rico!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Hated this place. Photos are MUCH nicer than the reality. Room was big, bathroom was nice. To see the ocean from the 'ocean view' room we would have needed to stand on the tall bed and peer out. Whole place stank of a mix of mustiness and way too much air freshener.
Booked through booking.com, it was already expensive for what it is, but they then deducted a ton of other charges from our credit card - explained why they were so reluctant to give us our receipt. We tried to dispute the charges but they'd already deducted them and we needed to leave for the airport. No other hotel in San Juan has charged us these extra fees, so they are not standard. For what we eventually paid, we could have stayed somewhere so much better.
Staff (Michelle) lied about how far it would take to walk to nearby places and insisted on calling taxis who charged outrageous off the meter charges, and whose drivers passed her cash - both laughing at the dumb tourists I guess.
I'm sure the hotel will come back with some trite answer about how sorry they are or try to dispute some of the above, but take my advice and give this place a wide, wide berth.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank angieruane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just taking a moment to say thanks to the staff of the Miramar Hotel in San Juan , Puerto Rico! I don't enjoy large hotels, so I look for quality boutique hotels that can guarantee a more quiet relaxing ambience!
Thanks to the staff n Jill the general mgr. I had a fantastic stay ! There is a personal touch and caring ambiente that makes you want to stay longer!
Nothing is ever perfect but the effort they put into the service and accomodationsmore than majes up for any mishap.
Romos are spacious and Well kept.
Thanks again, hope to revista soon!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooday444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On arrival it is in a good location but after paying for 2 nights prior to landing.. was told no such reservation was there and had to pay again, normally would walk away but was at 12 at night and first night in Caribbean.. rooms where grand out with a very simple breakfast,.. took me at least 4 attempts at getting my money back before I did.. would give another star only for the matter was dealt with as im sure they were hoping i was going on a cruise the next day so couldn't argue about the money owed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Despite the non-smoking status of our room the room smelled like someone had smoked in it within a day or two. All of the floors in the room--including the carpets--had a greasy film everywhere. It was actually slick to walk on. This made us feel uncomfortable, like the entire room was greasy and dirty. We didn't want to touch anything. Bathrooms don't have locks. But the worst thing was, after we checked out, they charged our credit card $250. When we called to inquire why they said it was because we had smoked in the room. Since we don't smoke it is difficult to know whether they are being fraudulent or simply made a mistake and had the wrong room. Perhaps their cleaning people smoke and blame the guests. Either way, if you dare book this hotel, watch the charges on your credit card very carefully! Better advice would be to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerSanJuan, Manager at Hotel Miramar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay. We take pride in having being recognized as the Best Small Hotel in Puerto Rico by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company and in the high standards of cleanliness of our hotel. Some people might not like our location, etc but the level of cleanliness is unquestionable. We also take very seriously our position as a Smoke Free Hotel under Puerto Rico Law 66.
There was evidence of smoking in your room and verified by both management and employee that serviced the room. You contacted our hotel and we explained the charges incurred. You are welcome to dispute the charges with your credit card company and we will provide the evidence.
Thanks again for contacting us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed one night prior to a cruise. The hotel is in a convenient location, near the cruise port and within an easy bus or taxi ride to Old San Juan.. Check in was quick and efficient despite there being a large group checking in at the same time. The room was basic but very clean and the bathroom was nicely remodeled. The bed was comfortable and there was no problem with outside noise. No pool but there is a lovely rooftop deck with fantastic views. The restaurant was closed for remodeling but there is a supermarket nearby and several good restaurants. The neighborhood felt safe. All in all, a good choice for one night. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.8 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#15 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#33 of 48 in San Juan
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3106, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £80 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing