We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for budget travelers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castro Guest House Old San Juan
Reviewed 1 August 2006

Great location in Old San Juan and a great price. Three people including myself stayed in a huge room with two balconies overlooking the street. The room had lots of old furniture, one double bed, one twin bed, a three-seater couch, a table with chair, dresser with mirror, and a mini-fridge. The owners only speak in Spanish. In general I enjoyed my stay, but here are some negatives:

- Very loud outside so I had trouble sleeping. Cars, voices, and music at all hours of the night. We had to keep the windows open, or it would have been too hot and stuffy. Bring earplugs!!!
- During the day, there was lots of sunlight, but it was very dark inside the room at night. It was so dim that you can’t read.
- Shared bathrooms. The owners give you a roll of toilet paper to bring with you and back forth to the bathroom. It’s kind of a hassle. No soap in the bathrooms so you have to bring your own back and forth as well.
- Don’t stay in a room across from the bathroom because there was a woman staying there who kept getting woken up by people slamming the bathroom door all the time.
- The twin bed was SQUEAKY and woke me up whenever my friend rolled over in it.

Positives:
- Great location
- Great price
- Huge room
- Mini-fridge came in handy
- Balconies were nice
- Safe enough – guests have a key to the front gate that locks automatically behind you

As long as you can speak Spanish, bring earplugs with you, stay in one of the bigger rooms, and do not stay across from the bathroom, I would recommend this place for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank novafalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
112
Reviewed 11 April 2006

While staying in Old San Juan for a weekend, my girlfriend and I stayed in Castro's Guest House, now called San Juan Guest House I believe. The prices are cheap and that was one of the main attractions to us, but the charisma and Old San Juan feel is worth way more than money. Castro checked us in, was very nice and accommodating, and gave us the full tour despite being awoken by our arrival. Word of advice, the more Spanish you know, the better your conversations with Castro will go. The room itself was wonderful. We got the balcony suite (highly recommended!) and had more than enough space... two larger than twin size beds, two balconies with matching French doors, and a wonderful view of the street life below. And all the little things added to the historical and antique feel of the place, from the tile floors to the gilded iron balcony railings. This building seems full of many old stories and rich culture. It is above a loud bar, but once we got to our room and in bed, it really didn't keep us awake. And the central location made it easy to get to all the sites that we wanted to see. So if you can deal without your own bathroom and maid service, then I highly recommend Castro's Guest House. It's one way to stay in the heart of Old San Juan for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2005

As far as I could tell, this was the cheapest place to stay in Old San Juan. It's a good place to stay if you don't plan on spending any time in your room. It's not at all pleasant, despite the fact that it clearly used to be a beautiful building. If you like things like a bathroom with your room, blankets, or windows, it may not be for you.

For me, it was fine. I could stay in Old San Juan and spend the money I saved on food and beer. The rooms are clean enough and I slept fine.

Cash only, and bring a towel.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank IsaacBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2004

I read the review before we booked this place. But just needed one night stay over before we set sail on our cruise...It remines me of Europe...Bring a towel, soap and shampoo...Bathrooms are down the hall.
Castro only speak spanish...when you call to make reservations you need some spanish....It helps....Mail him a check to whole the check. also put a date on it and tell him you want the balcony room. There was three of us. My husband myself and our 14 yr old son. There were two beds and one pull out sofa. Not air condtioning but ceiling fans.
Sheets are very clean.. I felt very safe...we we on the 3rd floor with balcony...two sets of french balcony door opens to the balcony...the disco next door opens at 10pm...didn't hear the music just the people in the street...Police are everywhere..It's cheap and perfect if you are not use to the Marriott.

46  Thank islandgirlruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southluly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
Thank KarineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
3.0 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.7 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
5.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castro Guest House Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castro Guest House Old San Juan

Address: 205 Calle Tanca, San Juan 00902, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Speciality Lodging in San Juan
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Castro Guest House Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Guest House Old San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing