We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
3
9
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
9
8
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2006

While staying in Old San Juan for a weekend, my girlfriend and I stayed in Castro's Guest House, now called San Juan Guest House I believe. The prices are cheap and that was one of the main attractions to us, but the charisma and Old San Juan feel is worth way more than money. Castro checked us in, was very nice and accommodating, and gave us the full tour despite being awoken by our arrival. Word of advice, the more Spanish you know, the better your conversations with Castro will go. The room itself was wonderful. We got the balcony suite (highly recommended!) and had more than enough space... two larger than twin size beds, two balconies with matching French doors, and a wonderful view of the street life below. And all the little things added to the historical and antique feel of the place, from the tile floors to the gilded iron balcony railings. This building seems full of many old stories and rich culture. It is above a loud bar, but once we got to our room and in bed, it really didn't keep us awake. And the central location made it easy to get to all the sites that we wanted to see. So if you can deal without your own bathroom and maid service, then I highly recommend Castro's Guest House. It's one way to stay in the heart of Old San Juan for a very affordable price.

Date of stay: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank FrequentFlier35333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2005

As far as I could tell, this was the cheapest place to stay in Old San Juan. It's a good place to stay if you don't plan on spending any time in your room. It's not at all pleasant, despite the fact that it clearly used to be a beautiful building. If you like things like a bathroom with your room, blankets, or windows, it may not be for you.

For me, it was fine. I could stay in Old San Juan and spend the money I saved on food and beer. The rooms are clean enough and I slept fine.

Cash only, and bring a towel.

Date of stay: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank IsaacBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2004

I read the review before we booked this place. But just needed one night stay over before we set sail on our cruise...It remines me of Europe...Bring a towel, soap and shampoo...Bathrooms are down the hall.
Castro only speak spanish...when you call to make reservations you need some spanish....It helps....Mail him a check to whole the check. also put a date on it and tell him you want the balcony room. There was three of us. My husband myself and our 14 yr old son. There were two beds and one pull out sofa. Not air condtioning but ceiling fans.
Sheets are very clean.. I felt very safe...we we on the 3rd floor with balcony...two sets of french balcony door opens to the balcony...the disco next door opens at 10pm...didn't hear the music just the people in the street...Police are everywhere..It's cheap and perfect if you are not use to the Marriott.

46  Thank islandgirlruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2009
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews