We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Oceano

Oceano
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,034 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Oceano's cuisine is fresh, creative and unique. Renowned for serving locally sourced ingredients and mouthwatering tropical accents, each bite melts in the mouth as easily as the sun melts on the horizon. The executive chef, Ann Marie Antonetti, and team of well-experienced professionals are able to meet the discerning and luxurious tastes of any palate. The seafood-rich menu features delectable dishes, each coming with its own signature tropical accent. By combining unexpected flavors with a Caribbean flair, paired with a spectacular panoramic view of the ocean, sensual signature drinks and extensive wine list, Oceano's menu offers unparalleled and memorable dining experience, matching your palate to the tropical breeze.
Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I went to this restaurant for dinner. Our experience was great. Starting with the service, continuing with the food which was excellent and very flavorful. The portions were just right. I strongly recommend it, and definitely will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jannette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,983
    844
    273
    71
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Quite Up to Expectations”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Food was nicely prepared but small portions and service was acceptable but not stellar. The atmosphere was nice but a little pretentious and rather sterile. I guess the entire experience can be summed up by the place just tried too hard to be something it's not

Helpful?
Thank Travelmoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch and dinner. Fabulous scallops”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We first tried Oceano for lunch and what a view. The food was great too- I had the grilled Mahi Mahi and my husband had the Hamburger. We had perfect service. We saw where they have Maine Diver scallops for dinner so we came back two days later for dinner. We were not disappointed they were fabulous. I also had the grilled pineapple salad. Very good. This restaurant was our favorite experience on our visit to San Juan.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Fantastic location on the beach. Food was very good, staff professional and cooperated to fit preparation into dietary needs. But bring a flashlight to read the menu and bill if you are going after dark.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow factor!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

In San Juan for a girl friends get away and kept seeing ads for this place that was a couple of blocks from our hotel. It is beach side with open air dining and wonderful atmposphere. Unfortunately for us it started to rain so we had to be shuttled inside quickly, but the staff is used to this and sat us upstairs quickly. The Sangria is awesome, and the food is wonderful. I had the scallops. We had orderd the Mahi Mahi appetizer and quickly ordered a second plate because they were so good. Craig was our waiter and is wonderful! We can be a hard group to manage, but he took it all in stride and was quite humorous. Beach side dining doesn't get much better. Make a reservation if you want to be seating on the deck to take in the ocean breeze.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CincyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oceano also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing