We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a tad overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Princess Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Coral Princess Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but a tad overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I couldn't help but compare the whole time that for the same amount of money as this place, I stayed in a large suite overlooking Niagara Falls. The Coral Princess room was nice, but small with echoey tile floors. Complimentary toiletries were very nice. Shower took a long time to warm up. There was wifi and a television. Breakfast in the morning was cold cuts, hardboiled eggs (a few weren't cooked all the way!), pastries, waffles, juice, fruit, and espresso. Restaurants and shops were only a block away, as was the ocean. The parking was all the way down the street and thirteen dollars a day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    352
    81
    22
    23
See reviews for
110
443
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Everything was excellent!! Especially people work there are super nice and so helpful! Breakfast was good also..and complementary drinks are available 24 hours. I really like the pool, felt so private. If I go to San Juan again, I'll definitely stay at this hotel:))

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kumimall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very cute little hotel in a great location in the Condado area of San Juan. I appreciated all of the little "extras" that many hotels no longer provide, such as soaps and shampoos, sewing kit, lotions, etc. Free wifi was great. Front desk was great. I like that the front desk had to buzz you in to the building, too. Added extra security.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the street and were fine, but there is night life and I'm sure it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KJbrooks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Coral Princess for three nights at the end of March 2014 prior to our cruise.
The hotel was perfectly situated on a quiet street, a short walk from Condado beach.
Our room was spotless: little table and two chairs, well stocked fridge, two double beds, large bathroom with complimentary good quality toiletries. Free WiFi was available throughout the hotel.
The staff were pleasant and were always available for enquiries, directions and help.
Breakfast was ample each morning.
We had room 22 which opened on to a communal landing/patio, so we didn't have a view either to the sea or street.
However, this did not detract from our stay and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

too bad my first review was written on my notebook with its tiny keys, and by a less than wonderful ceiling light. The hotel really was wonderful, as i indicated in the written part of my review - it is just unfortunate my overall rating with the five circles doesn't match the written portion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMS_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you are considering staying here, do yourself a favor and don't. We booked this hotel and flight through Orbitz and chose to stay here because they advertised free parking on Orbitz. Once we arrived there, we found out that there are only 4 free parking spaces and everyone else has to park in a pay-for-parking lot. After speaking with the manager on duty and showing her the Orbitz confirmation and website (she didn't believe me), she and would not help nor would her GM. They only blamed Orbitz and were pretty unapologetic to us. We did end up getting a parking spot later on during out stay, so we didn't have to pay the whole time. The car next to us did get broken into and riffled through as the door was open when we left in the morning. We told the front desk person and they didn't seem to care.

We stayed in room 14, which was a decent size but is right off the street. It wasn't too noisy though. The showers are awful! The water kept switching between scoulding hot and freezing cold. You can also see all the grime built up on the tile floors. We also had mosquitoes flying around out room 24/7 even though we killed them each day. I have no idea where they came from.

Positives: complimentary 24 hour juice and water, the breakfast is decent (pastries and croissants), and you must be buzzed in to the building.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 3 days in last week of march- location is great - near ashford ave though not on the beach front. Highlight though is their service! I had not booked my kayak rental for the bioluminescent bay at Fajardo- all tours were booked 3 days ahead- the other hotel where I stayed was not helpful. I asked Ricardo as a last ditch-effort - he and Wanda patched us through to another person who was able to get us in the next day itself- kudos to the staff! Coral princess more than met our expectations!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krissh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel

Property: Coral Princess Hotel
Address: 1159 Ave Magdalena | Condado, San Juan 00907-1710, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel is an elegant 25-room boutique-style hotel offering the business traveler and families an excellently priced alternative in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Managed by its owners, you will receive personalized quality service that will surely make you feel at home. Located a two-minute walk from famous Conado Beach, Coral Princess Hotel is a block from boutique shops, over 15 restaurants, coffee shops, and casinos. It is centrally located just 5 minutes from Old San Juan and the Puerto Rico Convention Center, 10 minutes from Hato Rey business district, and 10 minutes from the international airport and Isla Verde. Enjoy your complimentary Deluxe complimentary continental breakfast served daily at the hotel’s courtyard, stroll down Ashford Avenue, or swim and sunbathe at our pool or nearby Condado Beach. We'll make you feel at home! You will sure want to come back. Complimentary high speed internet access in room and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing