We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Princess Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a comfortable place to call home while you are on vacation, then the Coral Princess is for you. The rooms are clean and welcoming. If you can afford or want to spend a little extra for the penthouse, then you will get extra space which is great for groups.

It is a small bed and breakfast where you definitely feel at home. It has an open atmosphere where it is possible to relax at the hotel. It doesn't have the same amenities as other resort hotels like a fitness center, but you are in the tropics! Run outdoors! It is conveniently located near the beach and Ashford Avenue. You have clubs and fine dining at your door step.

The staff is friendy and helpful. The true star and gem is Margarita, the young woman working the breakfast counter. She is born and raised in Puerto Rico. She has great advice of what to do and what to eat. If you are looking for more touristy activities, she can make awesome recommendations. If you are looking for places where locals eat and hang, she can make the best recommendations. She definitely helped make our trip better by providing useful information, tips, and guidance about literally everything.

For me, she was the reason why I enjoyed staying here. She is warm, incredibly sweet, and very good natured. I can see why she works the breakfast counter because she definitely adds extra sunshine to the breakfast nook.

If you decide to stay here, seek out Margarita for scoop of what is good in Condado.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    353
    83
    22
    23
See reviews for
112
451
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neubiberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in the Coral Princess Hotel for two nights before my return flight to Germany. The hotel is small, clean and conveniently located close to the main street in Condado with restaurants and shops, and few steps to the beach.
The room was not very spacious, but well equipped. I liked the bathroom, a little bit used but somehow charming. In the hotel, I enjoyed breakfasts, especially relatively good choice of food. The hotel staff was very friendly. There is a jacuzzi on the rooftop, but I preferred the salty water of Atlantic. On the same floor, there is also a pool table.
Unfortunately on the day of my arrival, there was a number of blackouts in Condado and a noisy emergency power unit was just behind my window (running for several hours).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agatol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We selected this hotel based upon traveler reviews we found on-line. The Coral Princess did not disappoint! The building is older and not modern by any means, but it was exactly what we were looking. We wanted a quaint representation of Puerto Rico without glitz and glam, just clean and comfortable. I think there are about 25 rooms total. Ours was on the second floor overlooking the parking lot. After spending the days exploring Condado and Old San Juan, we looked forward to a cozy, quiet night of restful sleep. We didn't hear other guests, casino noise, band music or any of the other disruptions that often come with major hotel chains.

The staff was extraordinary. We felt welcome no matter where we wandered. A simple breakfast was ready each morning (hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, tea, breads, ham slices, cheese slices and fruit), but it was more than enough to tide us over until a late afternoon meal. The two ladies we met in the kitchen area were very pleasant. Various coffee drinks, tea drinks and juices are available constantly.

There were, I think, three different people at the front desk and each of them was more than willing to patiently answer our questions and make suggestions for our day.

The property has a lovely courtyard filled with native plants and tables with chairs, a pool area, an ice machine, a reading/game room and a small foyer by the front desk.

Each and every area was kept clean and neat. Another important point for me is that the only entrance was through the front door which was kept locked and opened only if the front desk buzzed open the door. I felt very safe. We were also allowed to leave our luggage with the staff until we were ready to head to the airport and return home.

We didn't have a car and really didn't want to pay taxi fares (the fares seem to vary from driver to driver and sometimes were negotiable. The Coral Princess is located very close to the bus routes, the beach, the casinos, several nice restaurants and, of course, a trillion places to get alcohol.

I definitely recommend the Coral Princess to anyone who wants to sample nightlife, but not have it intrude 24X7. And I almost forgot, it is very, very affordable for all that is offered.

Room Tip: We only saw room 13 and were very satisfied with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LindyFromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here for three nights prior to a cruise. Location is great, close to public transportation, and walking distance to many restaurants and stores to purchase anything that you might need. Easy bus ride to Old San Juan. The price is very reasonable for all that they offer!

They also have beer, soda, and water in the room for $1-2! Nice perk!

The hospitality is wonderful!!! They were always there to help when needed. Breakfast is very good...but the coffees available all day is the best!!!! Very nice to sit outside and eat outside. Beautiful landscaping all through the hotel.

It's a small hotel, but offers everything you could possible need! We stayed in a room with a full bed. The room had enough room for two of us, along with all of our luggage. There was a small sitting table, small refrigerator. The room had everything that I needed.
Nice pool, small, but usually had it to ourselves!

If I get back to Puerto Rico, I don't think that I would stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: My only suggestion, get a room off of the road. It could be loud a little at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HrComsTrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

When we checked in, the person at the desk overcharged us $40 from the price we booked at, and when we questioned him about it said it was the city tax and service fee. However, we checked our Priceline email again and it said that those were included, and we showed him. He quickly apologized and refunded the extra. However, based on the speed of his reaction it seemed like he was used to doing this, meaning that the hotel probably gets away with this on unsuspecting tourists.

On the other hand, the rooms and service are good and the breakfast is better than none. Croissants, muffins, white bread, fruits, and juice machine (not fresh squeezed).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I'm not one for leaving reviews so I'll just make a few bullets of my experiences since they keep emailing me to do so.

1 hot tub was broke. the control panel looked as if it's been through a war and when we asked the front desk person they said it's going to be fixed but it's mother's day weekend and would be fixed soon.


2. There was a small bit of sand in the bed and soap scum on the walls but not that much to deter me in the future from staying with them.

3. But the customer service was great, allowed a 12 PM check out and was very helpful with directions and what to do in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobdylan21221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here post cruise. Great position 2 minutes to beach and easy access to old san juan. Relaxed atmosphere with small plunge pool and lovely little courtyard where you could take breakfast. Unfortunately rain stopped play so we could not use plunge pool or jacuzzi on roof.

Very clean

Would return of cruising fro Puerto Rico again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#13 of 46 in San Juan
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#7 of 46 in San Juan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel

Property: Coral Princess Hotel
Address: 1159 Ave Magdalena | Condado, San Juan 00907-1710, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel is an elegant 25-room boutique-style hotel offering the business traveler and families an excellently priced alternative in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Managed by its owners, you will receive personalized quality service that will surely make you feel at home. Located a two-minute walk from famous Conado Beach, Coral Princess Hotel is a block from boutique shops, over 15 restaurants, coffee shops, and casinos. It is centrally located just 5 minutes from Old San Juan and the Puerto Rico Convention Center, 10 minutes from Hato Rey business district, and 10 minutes from the international airport and Isla Verde. Enjoy your complimentary Deluxe complimentary continental breakfast served daily at the hotel’s courtyard, stroll down Ashford Avenue, or swim and sunbathe at our pool or nearby Condado Beach. We'll make you feel at home! You will sure want to come back. Complimentary high speed internet access in room and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing