We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but charmless and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Princess Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Clean, but charmless and expensive”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

The good things about this hotel are the location, very close to the local amenities, the cleanliness, and the fact that it was a small building, not an eyesore tower on the beach. Also, there is free wifi in every room, which is nice, except that the signal was coming and going. Our room was very clean, the bed was small but comfortable. Overall our room was pretty cramped, albeit clean and functional it lacked any charm or character. The same was true for the common areas. Functional, clean, but pretty cold and completely charmless. The staff was efficient, but not particularly kind. Breakfast was ok if you are not a big morning eater. Considering the size of our room and the service I would say this hotel is definitely overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myosotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    362
    84
    22
    23
See reviews for
115
464
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

OMG , when i planned my trip to puerto rico i was suppose to stay with family with my friend and somthing came up and we had to look for a last minute hotel , and we searched many hotel prices and viewed alot also finally we came across the coral princes inn and we thought the prices were reasonable and the hotel looked nice , we loved it a taxi from the air port was only 16 dollars and the hotel staff were one of the most amazing people i've ever dealt with , its clean and home like feeling they helped my friend and i get to places on the bus and btw the bus is only 75 cents ! thanks to them we got to enjoy our trip and save money as well , im planning a trip back to pr with my husband and kids and i know exactly where i am staying !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leiinyleiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

This was our first trip to PR. We plan to return often. The people were so nice. I was never afraid, and I would walk back/forth to the casinos at all hours. This hotel could not have been better for us. However, some people may find the rooms a little small, and the parking is sparse and it is two blocks to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svilhelmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Felt very lucky to discover this treasure. It is one block from the main drag in Condado. Modern yet charming. Immaculately maintained. Rooms just right for a week's stay. More than adequate breakfast buffet included. Any requests were promptly met. Limited parking on the property but plentiful street parking. Front desk man/concierge, Abraham, is the most helpful and knowledgeable person imaginable. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Our rate was quite good; it was off-season. Fortunately the weather was great and I would go to PR in October without worry.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Va
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The breakfast and 24 hour coffee and juice bar is what attracted us at first. Our room was small but had TV, refrigerator and very clean. The bed was soft and we like a firmer mattress, but for the price, the patio with the palms to relax in we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeGee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Coral Princess Inn for a few days before a cruise. The room was very small but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom (and the room) was very clean. It was super hot while we were there so we can report that the in-room air conditioning was in good working order. You can easily make your room into a freezer if you so desire. We enjoyed the small pool very much though it is definitely small. The lounge chairs are configured oddly to fit around the pool but we were lucky and had the whole pool to ourselves. This hotel has wonderful common areas including a library and small eating area where they serve continental breakfast. It was remarkable that, no matter what time of day you wandered this hotel, someone was cleaning something... pools, plants, kitchen, laundry... one day they even painted the stairway. The attention to upkeep was unbelievable, this was a really clean place. The staff was also very helpful. We asked how to get to old San Juan and the taught us how to get there by bus which was either free or just a small fare (maybe $1 each?) which saved us a lot of money in cab fare. Also we asked where to eat local food and they referred us to a great restaurant down the street. There is some shopping, including a drug store, and beach access nearby the hotel but the area seemed a bit sketchy... some stores "buzzed you in" even during the day, so we tried not to go there after dark. The beach had a similar vibe.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snickerseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights but wished it were longer. This place has so many tiny touches from the cool marble floors to floor to ceiling closet space, oh my! A pool table w/kitchenette and balcony. A few different common area with quiet little spots to read, kick-back & relax. Enjoyed the plants and listening to the birds sing.Tip* start the hot tub early, takes a while to warm up. Beach 2 blocks away. Great food w/i walking distance.
Breakfast: muffins, pasteries & such was filling and the coffee was to die for...trust me on the coffee- it was excellent!
It's all in the details. Th owner must LOVE this place because it certainly shows.
Overall, It was a pleasant surprise. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleUkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.8 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel

Property: Coral Princess Hotel
Address: 1159 Ave Magdalena | Condado, San Juan 00907-1710, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel is an elegant 25-room boutique-style hotel offering the business traveler and families an excellently priced alternative in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Managed by its owners, you will receive personalized quality service that will surely make you feel at home. Located a two-minute walk from famous Conado Beach, Coral Princess Hotel is a block from boutique shops, over 15 restaurants, coffee shops, and casinos. It is centrally located just 5 minutes from Old San Juan and the Puerto Rico Convention Center, 10 minutes from Hato Rey business district, and 10 minutes from the international airport and Isla Verde. Enjoy your complimentary Deluxe complimentary continental breakfast served daily at the hotel’s courtyard, stroll down Ashford Avenue, or swim and sunbathe at our pool or nearby Condado Beach. We'll make you feel at home! You will sure want to come back. Complimentary high speed internet access in room and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing