We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Princess Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$496
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$431
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$372
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
451
362
83
22
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
362
83
22
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubyogurtcontinental breakfastthe breakfast areaold san juanhard boiled eggspuerto ricosmall poolboutique hotelcondado areatwo blocksthird floortropical plantssmall hotelgreat boutiquecoffee machinenice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2011

First, a few (minor) caveats: This is not a "beach hotel" -- it is a very easy 2-block walk to Condado Beach, but it is not sitting right smack on the beach if that is what you are looking for. Our room (19) was not large, and does not have much of a "view", but it was very clean and pleasant. Mattress was on the firm side, not terrible. And the hotel only has 4 dedicated parking spaces, but we usually had no problem getting one, and there is street parking and a pay lot one easy block away that only charges $13 for 24 hours, with in/out privileges.

Those minor things aside, we had a very pleasant stay at the Coral Princess. It is an attractive 3-story building located on a pleasant city street, one block from Ashford Avenue (the "main drag"), two blocks from the beach. It is in easy walking distance of countless restaurants of all types and price ranges (and, I assume, nightlife). (There is a Walgreens right around the corner for those forgotten items.) It has very quick and easy access to Hwy 26 (airport, Old San Juan, etc.).

Again, the room is not large and does not have much view, but it was very clean and attractive, with nice artwork on the wall, etc. Big plus for me was the minibar with $2 Cerveza Medalla and $1 soda / bottled water (the $25 bottle of wine on the other hand is a bit pricier, but I don't think PR is exactly known as a wine capital...).

The staff was friendly and attentive, someone was on duty / at the desk 24x7. They were always very helpful with directions, recommendations, etc. We had a slight problem with our ceiling fan that did take one reminder, at which time they fixed it quickly and were very apologetic about it.

The third floor has a number of very spacious, nicely furnished "common rooms" including a kitchen and pool table, and there is a very cool roof deck with a huge wraparound sofa, assorted chairs, lounges, hot tub, etc., as well as a great view of the surrounding Condado skyline. There are also a number of attractive, shady patio areas scattered all around the hotel. The common rooms plus roof deck plus all of the patio areas could easily accommodate a party for well over a hundred people, even though there are only 20-25 rooms in the whole hotel...!

Breakfast is included, buffet-style. Fairly standard fare -- nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain about either. But there is plenty of variety (ham / hard boiled eggs to cereal / yogurt), and certainly plenty of food -- you won't leave hungry. And it is served by one of the shady patio areas, so there are a lot of nice little places to sit and
eat. There is a small pool / small pool area -- never had a chance to get in.

Bottom line -- if you are looking for a nice, convenient boutique hotel in Condado, close to (but not right in the middle of) the "action", and don't care about being right on the sand, we think the Coral Princess is a great option.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandNinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed at the Coral Princess for a week in February, and we could not have been happier with our choice.

The hotel is located in the heart of Condado, just a few blocks from the beach and from other pricier hotels like The Marriott. The beach is in fact behind the Marriott and open to the public. We were able to rent chairs for just $3 a day from a local guy. And there is a walmart a block from the beach, for your sunscreen/beach needs that wouldn't fit in your suitcase. There are, in fact, many stores within walking distance. The hotel leaves room in your wine fridge for your own purchases. But the water and soda the hotel stocks is just as inexpensive as buying your own. The wine in the cooler is a bit pricey, but reflects wine prices in the area stores in general, as you are on an island and everything is imported. There is a convenience store on Ashford Avenue, a few blocks down from Tijuana's, that has a decent wine selection. Prices were about $5 higher on most brands than at home in NYC.

The rooms at the Coral Princess are small but clean and cool and modernly furnished. The bathrooms are especially nice with marble walls and floors and deep jetted soaking tubs. The breakfast that's included in the price was, as noted in other reviews, limited, but it suited our needs just fine: Cereal, toast, waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, cheese and coldcuts. The 24-hour cappucino machine was a real plus, as I wake up early and really want my coffee first thing.

The hotel location is very safe, and convenient for day trips into Old San Juan. The local bus as advertised is only 75 cents but runs very infrequently (an hour and a half wait sometimes). We made two day trips. Once by bus and the second time by taxi for $12 each way. Our rule of thumb: a long line indicates it hasn't been around for a while. Ask the people sitting there; everyone likes to discuss the bus schedule!

The really nice thing about the Coral Princess is the staff. They hooked us up with a kayaking expedition to the bioluminescent bay in Fajarda, not to be missed, and Abe even found us a locally baked rum cake to take back to our coworkers at the office. There wasn't a safe in the room when we arrived, but like all our requests -- one was brought to our room as soon as we asked for it.

The top floor of the hotel offers a hospitality suite that is open to all guests, including a kitchen, a sunroof with sofas to lounge on, and a jet tub that seats about 6 people comfortably. One of the hotel guests hosted a family dinner up there one evening with her PR relatives. We headed down to the pool and left them to it. But most nights we were the only couple up there. The ground floor patio includes a plunge pool, which we tended to use only after the beach or to cool off from the hot tub. Who needs a pool when you've got the beach two blocks away!

The weather forecast predicted rain every day of our stay. It only materialized at night. Mornings tended to be overcast, but clearing around 11:00am. Every single day was a beach day. 82 degrees in February -- what more can you ask?

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank minimal4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Great Hotel Marred by Bad Experience

We had a wonderful week at the Coral Princess which was marred unfortunately by a bad experience.

The positive attributes of the Coral Princess Hotel are numerous: The hotel is centrally located in the Condado area. It is a small, chic European style hotel with a rooftop garden area that is a wonderful and inviting refuge to lounge and read. The staff is exceptionally charming, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean, well lighted and comfortable with properly working internet access.

The hotel does have “free parking” but there are only 4 spaces allotted for it on the hotel property which is directly in front of the hotel and off the street. It is a on a “first come, first served” basis, so if all 4 spaces are taken then you must find your own parking on the street or in a parking lot.

Unfortunately our car was broken into while parked in one of the 4 free spaces directly in front of the hotel and its security camera. Our rental car’s back rear passenger side window was smashed and the radio was stolen at approximately 530AM. The Police were called around 7am when this was discovered to file a report.

I met with the Police as they filed the report and heard from the Police directly that several cars in the last few months have been broken into, in exactly the same way as our rental car had been, AND in the same small parking area provided by the hotel.

The Police complained to me and the hotel staff that they are NEVER able to see the security camera’s tape recording of the previous night’s events as requested so that they could possible apprehend the person responsible.

I pursued the issue of the security camera’s tape recording with the hotel staff over the next couple of days, hoping that there would be something on the camera to help the Police find the person or persons responsible for mine and previous break-ins and to eliminate future guests from the hassle of having their cars broken into.

Ultimately I found out that the security camera is NOT working! Thus, my complaint about this hotel.

The hotel bills itself as an upper-end property with free parking provided by the hotel. The staff and owners of the hotel are aware of theft and vandalism with cars parked on their hotel property. That their security camera is not working and available to the police is not acceptable by a property such as this. Especially since there is a repeated occurrence of break-ins according to the Police and actual hotel staff I spoke to.

I lost a day of my vacation dealing with insurance issues and returning a damaged car for a new one, I would hope that the hotel would take this seriously for future guests and for the hotel’s own reputation as a safe and reputable place to stay. From what the room rates charged are at this hotel, it should have a working security camera which is available to the Police if needed. Until their security issues are resolved I can not recommend this hotel, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We would stay at the Corral Princess again and would recommend it to anybody. We had two stays in San Juan and after our first stay at the Corral Princess we cancelled our other reservation and stayed with them for the second stopover. The staff are extremely helpfull and friendly. The hotel is only a short walk to the beach but offer a pool for customer use if they don't want to get sand in their shoes. We had a later flight the day we left and stored our baggage for us, let us use the facilities for the afternoon and had a bathroom (with shower) available for our use before we left. It's like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie154951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Great location: A nice swimmable beach is only a couple of blocks away and we walked into Old San Juan. There was a Walgreens around the corner and lots of restaurants. It took about an hour but was a nice walk (should only do it in the daytime). The staff at the Colal Princess were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was a bit better than a typical continental. Nice Coffees and juices were available for free 24/7. Another nice touch was that the water and soda in the fridge in the room were only $1 which was very reasonable. The pool is small and not used much but nice for a refreshing dip. The hot tub was quite popular and the guests were friendly. The room was small and basic but had everything we needed. We took the bus back from the main bus terminal of Old San Juan that stopped very close to the hotel. It was mostly tourists who got on the bus. much cheaper than a cab.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJThornhillCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews