We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 9 February 2008

The Howard Johnson in Plaza de Armas was a nice place to stay for a couple of days in Old San Juan. The price was very reasonable and the staff was very helpful. This is a remodeled, older hotel, so rooms are small, without windows, but the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. I think it was a good value for the price and you can't beat the location. The continental breakfast is pretty sparse (bread, a few apples and bananas, coffee, and juice), but it was a decent way to start the day. The elevator is one of the old, small, creaky ones that you pull a gate across, so it is a good idea to ask fro a room on a lower floor so you don't have to use the elevator.

The picture shown on this site is not the HoJo Plaza de Arms. It's actually a very discreet entrance between a cigar shop and a souvineer shop that is easy to miss.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KW_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2008

This is a great hotel for staying overnight before or after a cruise. We needed a room with 4 beds to accomodate two children, ages 6 and 10. I was a little nervous after reading the comments on the cockroaches (and there are lots of them in PR!), but there was not a single cockroach in sight.. We knew that we were arriving late and leaving by noon, so we were willing to take the chance.
We were arriving Christmas Day, so I did not have high expectations on service, figuring everyone was off. The desk manager was very helpful pointing to a place for a 10 pm snack for us and kids. We had a room facing the street with two window/balconies on the second floor (room 206 I think, labled "home office" on the door). Yes, the elevator is old (the kind you have to close the cage and door for it to move), but we were on the 2nd floor, so we didn't need it much. The room was not the most quiet, but the air conditioner makes enough noise to drown out most of the street noise. I wake at the slightest sound, and only a couple of honks early in the morning were enough to wake me. It was a huge room, with lots of space for our 4 large suitcases.
It's clearly an older building, but honestly, the most noticable part was the worn/scuffed tiles in the hallway. Once in our room, there were new, clean tiles, a clean bath, and lots of space. There was a king, a twin, and a sofa that folded down into a twin. I have to warn you that the sofa looked to be about 5 ft long with wide padded arms (about 12 inches each), so when the back folds down, it worked for my tall 6 year old, but at 5' 7", I would have been hanging ontothe arms which were not entirely flat with the bed.. There were no sheets ready when we arrived, but the front desk quickly located them, and I made up the bed myself.
Almost across the street from this hotel is a plaza square, which had a lovely espresso/bakery kiosk, which was open on Christmas day evening. We slept through the breakfast provided by the hotel, but there is a fast food joint within 1/2 block that was perfectly adequate for breakfast. There is also a Wendy's in the same block.
We loved that it was a 10 min walk to the old fortress of San Juan, and the front desk gave us a walking map and good directions. The waterfront is also in easy walking distance, but we did not have time. The cab ride to the cruise terminal was about 10 min.
All in all, it was a great price compared to the other options for 4 of us, but I'm not sure I would have put an adult in the sofa bed. One last note: I booked directly though the hotel, and when I went to confirm, they thought we had 3 persons instead of 4. They were able to confirm us a room for 4, but I was under the impressions that I was getting a King Plus room, which was a king and two twins, We ended up with a king, twin and small sofa bed, which worked for us but not if our children had been bigger. Still, a good value for the money!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WAgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2007

I stayed here for five nights while doing some work for a nonprofit. The primary pluses are location and cost. It is in the center of Old San Juan, on a nice little plaza. A full grocery store is one block away. The hotel serves a breakfast in the morning that includes fruit, cereal, etc., served on paper plates. Nothing great, but not terrible either. The hotel is apparently in an old apartment building converted to this purpose.

Rooms: You will want a room with a queen size bed or larger. Our group found smaller beds in other rooms that were unacceptable, even for one person. There are no windows in most rooms (except those facing the street). The rooms are very quiet, especially since there is an air conditioner in each room. Rooms are reasonably spacious and wi-fi is included at no cost.

Elevator: There is a single elevator that moves at a speed of about one minute per floor (literally). This is a four story building. If you have no problem walking up and down stairs, you will use the cramped staircase instead of the elevator. If you need to use an elevator, you are going to have frustrations. Depending on your physical condition, a lower floor might be desirable.

Staff: We found the staff to be quite pleasant and helpful.

Overall, this seems to be a hotel used primarily by cruise ship passengers for a single night stay on one end or the other. So long as you are not looking for luxury and have no problem with stairs, the hotel is quite acceptable. If you intend to spend any meaningful amount of time in the room or hotel, you will find it a bit dreary, but a bargain. We did not encounter issues of cleanliness mentioned elsewhere, but this is not a corporate hotel, so one could expect variations.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank lifesaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night after our cruise. We decided to select this one after just reading a few reviews. After 7 days of cruising, we decided that we wanted something with no windows or phones. It was more that we expected. We were literally in the heart of Old San Juan. We didn't have windows, but they did install a phone. The people at the hotel were wonderful. If you needed anything at all they were excellent at helping out. For instance... Our boat docked at 7am, and we were trying to decide what to do with our luggage. My husband suggested that we just go to the hotel. Well upon letting the staff know that we were quite early they told us not to worry about it and stored our luggage. They gave us a map of the area and we ended up at Forts of Old San Juan. We literally were able to walk to both Forts and take a tour through the mines. By the time we had finished and had lunch it was well past 3pm. Everything is in walking distance and the people there speak english quite well. Thank you all the staff at The Howard Johnson Inn Plaza. We will never forget our one night stay. My next visit to your hotel will be longer next time.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suntanrussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

My wife and I are in our mid 20's, and we stayed at the HoJo in Old San Juan one night before our cruise.

We had standard room with a queen size bed on the main floor with no windows. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and everything worked well (accept the safe, the battery was broken and when I told the staff they said they would fix it, but they got busy and forgot. NOTE: Despite this the staff was great)

The only complaint about the hotel is that the rooms the main floor all open up to the main eating area for the breakfast bar. This creates a lot of noise if you like to sleep in. Also, as the review prior to mind stated, the skylights also leaked into this main common area when we there as well.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again if I need a place to stay in Old San Juan. Old San Juan isn't very big and you can walk anywhere you need to from this hotel. Also, it is about a 15 minute walk to the cruise terminal.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank oncourse82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

I expected the hotel to be like all the other stock hotels you see around, but it was surprisingly individual. It's owned locally and licensed under the Howard Johnson name, but it hasn't lost its unique touch. The rooms aren't ritzy, but the convenient location makes it so worth it. It's a fabulous location if you want to bum around Old San Juan--it's right next to tons of great food and within walking distance of the sights. (Old San Juan, by the way, is absolutely lovely.) The hotel was a good price and breakfast was included. Really, there's nowhere else to stay in Old San Juan!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank youandme_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We booked this hotel two nights prior taking a cruise and one night after our cruise. There were six of us traveling, so we booked three rooms. All of us agreed that this hotel met our expectations. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Every thing there was within walking distance. There are two pharmacies across the street. There are a lot of souvenir stores, the house were the pina colada was born (Barrachina) was around the block. There are a lot of restaurants close by. We went to Jibaritos, a puerto rican restaurant, located about six blocks from there. Continental breakfast was included so that was very convenient for us. The elevator from the hotel is more than 100 years old!!! It was very tiny and slow; so we used the tiny stairs all the time...if you don't like to use the stairs or have a lot of lugagge ask for a room on the first floor. The people at the lobby were very friendly and polite. There are no phones on the rooms but since we all had our cell phones we didn't care. The rooms had no windows but that did not bother any of us. The rooms were clean, and we felt safe all the time. If you would like to be close to the beach then this is not the hotel you need. If you want a good location to explore the old San Juan within walking distance at a reasonable price; then I would recomend you this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank fridakalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#21 of 47 in San Juan
831 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#24 of 47 in San Juan
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#44 of 47 in San Juan
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £105 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing