We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Overall we were not impressed. Our room had no window and the bathroom sink was in the same room as our bed. The air conditioner was on high the whole time and you cannot change the setting or turn it off. The wifi is extremely weak and only available in the lobby. The elevator never works.
On the plus side the food in their restaurant was good and the location is in the heart of Old San Juan. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We would not recommend to anyone planning a long stay. We wont be staying there anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ln38437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thanks a lot Ln38437 for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas.

I'm really sorry about what you feel in your recent stay but let me explain you a couple of things to be fair with other people that are going to read what you have written about our place:

1.- Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite, peaceful and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs.

2.- The majority of our rooms are interior one, not all of them have the sink in the same space as the bed, but if you have requested a change for that matter you can be sure you would have been move to another room . Although our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet which is a little wider than the average room in this area. we do have bigger Suites Room with French Balcony, (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet with the SINK inside the bathroom and you can always open all of our windows. If you have book any Interior Room and I'm pretty sure you have taken advantage of a great offer we have online with this kind of room to save money you can request an upgrade for an affordable cost. Upgrade is always available upon request. So you are invited to stay in any of them for your comfort next time you visit us.

3.- Once again if you feel cold in your room there is always a way to fix that situation if you requiere so. Our air conditioning system may vary from on room to another but always you can lower or rise the temperature and always you can TURN OFF the unit but as you mention the staff is very friendly and helpful and we always are trying that people feel at home and pleased them in any need they may have including TURNING OFF an air conditioning unit.

4.- We are one of a few Hotel with FREE WiFi connection, we do not charge any money for this amenity and we are working on having more capacity to include other areas than the lobby and the atrium.

5.- Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing.
It's possible that during your stay could be out of service but just for a short period of time cause we always fix it as soon as it is possible to avoid inconvenience for our guest. However using the word NEVER is a big word to describe an incident.

6.- We have guest in our Hotel Plaza De Armas that have spent a long period of time with us (2 & 3 weeks in a row) and have been pleased with our services and with their room and if they have required anything in any moment have been addressed inmediately and without delay and the most important thing is that they have came back to stay even longer.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

However allow me to suggest you that next time you have a complaint about anything in any place, please, go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

I invite you to come to Hotel Plaza De Armas once again and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. I will personally take care of all your needs when you come back if you accept my invitation..

Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is a really old hotel which is mostly renovated. But you should understand that not everything can be renovated. So depending on which room you get, there is something that looks like falling apart. The best part of the hotel is the lobby and common places, fully renovated and charmingly furnished. We booked an interior room with no window. Shortly after arrival the door lock (electronic swiping card style) broke and they quickly moved us to their suite with French balcony. The first room was small and we didn’t stay long enough to see everything. The suite has a King bed with a sleeping sofa. Both rooms had new air condition with fairly quite function. The shower door had malfunction.
The best advantage of the hotel is its location. Practically walking distance to everything. The worst part for us was the balcony (window). Wed couldn’t sleep past 6:30 am any night because of extreme noise. Imagine sleeping in the middle of Times Square! The old window has no insulation and there is no difference in noise level either open or closed! The other problem was low water pressure of shower. There is an antique slow elevator which we chose to totally ignore (we used stairs). Also be aware that there is no internet connection in the rooms. The first room (on the lower level) also lacked cell phone reception!
The staff is polite and helpful. There is also luggage storage in case (like us) you have an afternoon flight and might want to enjoy the city a bit more. Rooms are clean and furniture is new. In the suite they provided a mini-fridge and microwave which were handy!
Overall, it is an OK place to stay if you choose an interior room and you are not picky. But given the variety of other options in the Old San Juan with the same perfect location and comparable price (or maybe a little more expensive), I recommend exploring those places first. I would not stay again in this place.

Room Tip: Only go for interior rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thanks a lot Alan for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas.

We would like to stablish a couple of update regarding our property.

1.- Since September 20, 2012 is under new administration.
2.- We are not Howard Johnson anymore.
3.- We are constantly improving our property
4.- We have the friendliest Front Desk Staff in the whole area.
5. Our housekeeping service is oustanding.
6.- We have the perfect location for being in Old San Juan.
7. We have Interior Rooms with NO WINDOWS but we do have Suites with French Balcony.
8. We have a Trolley Stop just in our doors (Trolley is FREE).
9. A Taxi Line is just in front of us..
10. We are near the airport and the cruise piers.
11. We are very affordable comparing with most hotel in the area.
12. We are one of the few hotels in the area that has elevator. It runs slow but is very reliable.
13. Our property is a 1869 historic building, remodeled in 2005.


The majority of our rooms are interior one. Our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet wich is a little wider than the average room in this area. but we do have bigger Suites Room with French Balcony, (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet.

In any hotel malfunction of devices can happen in any moment by the way it was not broken just the battery of the door stopped functioning but as you mention we took care of your situation immediately and you were moved to another room, receiving an upgrade for the inconvenience, a Suite Room.

Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing.

Few hotels in the area has FREE WiFi connections, must of them charge you for the use of it. We are working pretty hard in order to have a more advanced system that will allow us to have inertnet access inside ythe room FOR FREE.

Our building has an interesting historical past, starting with the construction of it in the 3er quater of the 19th century.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite, peaceful and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs.

Yes indeed we have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE.

Alan, allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

I invite you to come to Hotel Plaza De Armas once again and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. I will personally take care of all your needs when you come back if you accept my invitation..

Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed the night of 12/1 before our cruise.
Flew in from Seattle and arrived at 6am, they gave us our room!! We were so exhausted! We sprung for a balcony and it was WELL worth it!! Placement in OSJ is PERFECT! Deffinatly will stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: Spring for the balcony!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snobrdgrl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed here November 23rd to November 25th. We left for a cruise on Sunday 25th. Location is great!! Everything is in walking distance. The trolly stops out front of hotel. It is free and goes all around the city. I knew there was no windows when we booked it. But you really don't miss them. The elvator was a little slow ..not that bad... The manager Luis could have not done more for you. He is always smiling and couldn't do enough for you. . We ate breakfast right there is the hotel. Very good. Nice little bar on other side. Would recommend this motel for anyone. I will stay here again ...Great location and value..Thank you Luis for making our stay awesome...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We have stayed at Plaza de Armas for several occasions and they have never let us down. It has one of the best locations at Old San Juan at a great value! It has all the basic amenities you need to spend a great time at Old San Juan, after all you're not spending the day at the hotel when there's tons of sightseeing and exploring to do. The hotel's architecture reflects a lost era in San Juan, as an art history buff, I just loved it. The staff makes you feel right at home, and the manager, Luis, always goes out of his way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Highly recommend it if you appreciate the simple pleasures of life.

Room Tip: Windowless rooms are less expensive and you actually won't miss having a window because its arch...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla_y_Gile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thanks a lot Karla & Gile for taking the time to write your impression about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas.

Yes indeed we have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Our building has an interesting historical past, starting with the construction of it in the 3er quater of the 19th century.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite, peaceful and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs.

All the time we try to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

I hope to see you soon, it will be awesome to serve you when you come back.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

These building are sandwiched next to each other and never had windows on the sides. It seems like a big deal but wasn’t. The location is the best and the price $69.00 plus tax is a great deal for this area and PR in general. We stayed coming and going and the first room was a bit larger. Both were fine. The TV had cable. The second stay had internet problems so we went to Subway and they had it for free. We loved Old San Juan with so much to see so this hotel was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: The larger room I had was on first floor on the left just before the large couch.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonRavennaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I just returned from the Hotel Plaza De Armas on November 25, 2012. Thanks to all the fellow Trip Advisor travelers who provided honest feedback on this hotel. I title this review, "Down Home Hospitality," because this is the service weeceived from Luis when we arrived around 11am. As you know, normal check is around 3pm, but Luis took note of our group and my mom (a senior in a wheelchair) and checked us in within 30 minutes. That gesture is much appreciated because she was exhausted from traveling. We were able to take a nap and freshed up, well ahead of what we anticipated. Luis and the crew were overall very helpful and treated us like family. I had to laugh, because Luis always seemed to be around at the right moment to help get Mom in/out of the property with the wheelchair. The restaurant recommendation was great. I can't recall the name at this moment, but it was only a 20 minute walk to 280 Calle De Sol. Really worth the venture. The location is EXCELLENT. Right outside - a few steps to your right - is a trolley stop. Use the FREE trolley as transport to the major attractions. The trolley is "hop-on-hop-off" so you can explore at your own pace. There are actually 2 free trolley runs. Just across the plaza from the hotel are lots of shops and 2 fast food eateries (Subway and Wendys). But if you also walk a few blocks away, you will reach another plaza with Starbucks (that can be your landmark) and several local restaurants next door. You cannot go wrong at the Hotel Plaza De Armas. Just a note: This is formerly the Howard Johnson. If your taxi driver cannot locate the hotel, tell him/her it's the former Howard Johnson property and they can find it.) Finally, the ride is about 15-20 minutes from the aiport. The flat rate to/from the aiport to this property is $21 + $1 per bag (including roller bags. If the bag has wheels, there is an additional $1 charge per bag).
Thanks again Luis for everything. I wish we made plans to stay longer.

Your first Jamaican visitor :-)
(Hope this clue rings jolts your memory)

Room Tip: We had the king room facing the street. It included a king bed, a single bed and a futon.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AppleCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

A trillion thanks AppleCripp for taking the time to write about your experience in your recent stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas PR.

Opinion like yours makes us improve our services in daily basis.

Our staff are training constantly to meet the needs of every guest who enter our doors.

The descriptions of our facilities and the services we provide that you have written down will help a lot of people to find out for themselves the kind of services we provide to our friends.

Of course I will always remember my First Jamaican Crew. It was a great pleasure being completely at your service and I praise to God that we have the strenght and health to provide the kind of assistances you and our future guests deserve everytime you've andvthey've got the opportunity to visit us.

Please make sure you contact me whenever you plan to visit us once again. It will be awesome to serve you when you come back.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing