We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
La Parguera, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old San Juan”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Great place to stay. BUT TAKE A TAXI. There is no parking!!! The service was great. The rooms are nice, and clean.The elevator is small and slow. And the city can be loud in the morning. That being said, I would stay there any time. The location is walking distance from everything. The owners are very nice people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    338
    199
    80
    74
See reviews for
126
437
125
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

As a young couple with no kids (yet!)and living in the West side of the island we like to enjoy some weekend getaways aroung our island. This is one of our favorites, coming to Old San Juan. Since finding this hotel we can have a nice experience while exploring the old city life. This is a great escape for people in the island that don't always get to know or experience the walking on the brick streets, the sight seeing, the fine dining and then just walking back to the hotel without even using your car. And finding great people at the front desk, a clean, cozy room and some relaxing time in a historic building that's settled right in front of a historic Plaza. And by the way, the suites are big, comfy and have all that you need to spend a nice romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMPR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at plaza de armas i really liked very much. small room but decent, cleaned, service was excellent for the price i paid couldnt ask for better because i paid cheaped price. employee at from desk very friendly . good for sleeping I enjoyed staying at lpaza de armas, I will go back again.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSITA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived by taxi after our flight arrived and it was so quiet, quaint and very nice. Right in the heart of Old San Juan, you can walk to everything in 15 minutes. The view that night was beautiful over the water! There was a Wendy's 2 minutes away and we ate late that night after putting our things away. The staff was so helpful and the manager saw us waiting the next day to leave at the bus stop and told us not to wait it was easier and quicker to walk and he gave great directions. It was nice having a late check out so we could walk to the fort and shop and all the nice old buildings around us was great. It was very quiet and peaceful and I look forward to staying there when we go back! It was priced better than all the rest and if you stay somewhere else you will overpay and you won't enjoy it like you will here.

Room Tip: The ground floor is best if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My mum and I recently stayed for 4 nights. The hotel staff were low yk and friendly especially Michael :-)
We did change rooms from a room with no windows to a lovely room with a lovely view.
The hotel is good value for money and location is the best. Only down side was the noise from outside on the street.
We would go back again thank you :-)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinePorstmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thanks a lot Cath for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Old San Juan.

We are really glad you started your review with positive notes about Hotel Plaza De Armas, however we are sincerely sorry your stay had a little inconvenience like the noise from the street.

We trained our front desk staff to assist our guests in anything they require and that is one of the reasons why people are choosing us to spend a wonderful time in Old San Juan.

I can see that you are pleased with your stay at our hotel except for the noise on the street. It is not in our hands to control the noise in the street but let me remain you that you were in a very nice interior room where you could had slept more quietly but you chose not to stay there.

The comments from our guests are really important for us because we aim to make each and every stay of our friends a memorable one.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

I invite you to come to Hotel Plaza De Armas once again and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your Mom again. I will personally take care of all your needs when you come back if you accept our invitation..

Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, USA
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was only staying for one night before flying off the next morning and so didn't put much thought in the choice of hotel. I just wanted someplace relatively inexpensive to stay but where I could get dinner and walk around a bit afterwards.

Old San Juan is a great area with lots to see, and also casual and safe at night. This hotel is in the middle of it all, just steps from one of the plazas and a few blocks from numerous bars, restaurants, and the historical forts.

The hotel itself seems very old fashioned, with narrow hallways, and a tiny phone booth sized elevator (barely big enough for two people OR their luggage) with inner and outer doors that moves at a snail's pace. This was more charming than annoying though.

The reason for my low review was my room. I got the cheapest room which was windowless. It was 8 feet by 10 feet (I counted the tiles on the floor) and had blank white concrete walls and no window. It was literally like a prison cell. With no windows I got claustrophobic just being in the room. Not only were there no windows, but nothing but a single small painting hanging over the bed. They could at least hang something on the wall. The bed was tiny and uncomfortable. It was the kind of place you rent by the hour if you know what I mean.

I decided to just shut my eyes and sleep and get up early but if I were going to spend any time at all in the room I would have upgraded or changed rooms.

The service people were reasonably nice and provided restaurant recommendations and got me a taxi with no problem. There was no gym or pool.

Room Tip: Definitely don't get a windowless room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank UncleLongHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are more than glad Uncle Long Hair for your recent review about your stay at Old San Juan.

The comments from our guests are really important for us because we aim to make each and every stay of our friends a memorable one.

We are deeply sorry your stay was not up to your expectations but we are really glad that you started your comments with positive notes about Hotel Plaza De Armas.

Our hotel is a historic property, located in the heart of a historic city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires.

We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building. Our building has been here since 1868 and you can find a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook, that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan.

The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but oustside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.
Beside we are not allow to have pool for being a historic building and who needs a gym when you can walk all the city and maintain your shape just walking up and down the stair inside the hotel.

We are one of 4 hotel in Old San Juan Area that has elevator. Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing.

The majority of our rooms are interior one. Our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet wich is a little wider than the average room in this area. but we do have bigger Suites Room with French Balcony, (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet. You can always open all of our windows. If you have book any Interior Room you can request an upgrade for an affordable cost. Upgrade is always available upon request. So you are invited to stay in any of them for your comfort next time you visit us.

About the bed I think for sure that you are the first one who complained about that. We constantly survey our guests about how are all the things in their rooms and nobody has told us anything about the quality of our beds. On the contrary we have heard people telling us how wonderful was peacefully sleeping in our rooms.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area and by the time you wrote your review we are in a really excellent position among all the hotels in San Juan area. In fact we are the hotel number 15 out of 47 and 62% of friends who visited us recommend our property to others.

Of course you can always look for another location nearby Uncle, that's your call but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

As you have said you can not complaint to much since you took advantage of a great special offer we have, however next time you have any complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator/General Manager because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

I'm more than sure that if you had expressed to the Front Desk Agent your uncomfortability a proper solution could be obtained immediately, specially if you suffer from a claustrophobic condition.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way. Next time please stay more than just one night in order to see more properly the kind of services we are capable of and I'm really sure your impression will be a diffferent one.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stay here one night before we caught our cruise. Staff was very helpful and room was clean. Elevator was broken so we had to carry our bags up the narrow staircase to our fourth floor room. The location is great in old San Juan. We walked to everything since it's so close. We even walked down to the pier to catch the boat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbendfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing