We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We arrived on Jan 2, and before asking our names we were "ordered" to take our lugagge to a storage place in a room past the reception.
The staff was rude.
The hotel is filthy.
We were charged for the first night stay, which we are fighting, when we decided to leave after being shown, at our request, a windowless room that was terrible.
We moved to the Sheraton a few blocks away for $20 more per night.
Worst experiene in a hotel in more than 30 years of intense international travelling.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Andres D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks a lot Andres for your recent review about your visit at Old San Juan.

We are deeply sorry for the feeling you have toward Hotel Plaza De Armas.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned.

We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- You arrive around 11:00 am and our check in time is at 3:00 pm as most of the hotel in the area. We do not give "orders" to our guests, on the contrary we offer you politely to keep your luggages WITHOUT CHARGE until check in time.

2.- If you consider scratch in the wall like dirty, we are taking care of that because we are on constant maintenance.
I personally show you a room before your check in time without being properly arranged because you require so. You book an Interior Queen Bed Windowless Room but you did not like what you see, that's your choice.

After that I show one of the companion ladies a Suite King Bed that I was about to make you an upgrade FREE OF CHARGE but you never gave us the oportunity to do so and she decided that the room was not what she expected, that was her call too and all of you decided to leave the hotel.

3.- About the charge, the hotel has a policy about cancelling after the 72 hour period. " * CANCELLATIONS must be made 72 hours prior to check in. Cancellations in less than 72 hour may be subject to a 1 night cancellation charge."
However without fighting we have refunded togheter with BOOKING.COM all your money back.

4.- Our hotel is a historic property, located in the heart of a historic city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires.

We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building and that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan. People love to be here.

5.- Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

6.- The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but oustside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

7.- At the moment you wrote your comment we are the number 8 out of 46 hotel in the whole San Juan Area and a SOLID 61% of people who visited us are please with the location, service and price and for that reason they recommend us to others.

Of course you can always look for another location nearby Andres as you did, Sheraton (11 out of 46) is a nice hotel and that's your call but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way. Next time please stay more than just a couple of minutes in order to see more properly the kind of services we are capable of and I'm really sure your impression will be a diffferent one.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    338
    199
    80
    74
See reviews for
125
436
125
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel was EXTREMELY disappointing. Thankfully we only stayed one night and it was our last night in PR. If we had booked here for several days, I would have left immediately. When we arrived, we were put in a room without towels and a broken shower (no hot water). When we reported this to the front desk we we given towels...which were damp and then we were moved to another room and told not to worry about the ceiling in the new room but that "work was being done." The new room had hot water, but no pillow cases. The pillows were absolutely disgusting! Mold and mildew, as well as what appeared to be coffee stains. I had to track down the attendant who ended up giving me pillows from the first room we were in. I think we would have been better off at a hostel...and it wouldn't have cost $130/night! What a great last night for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nenok5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks a lot Nenok5 for your recent review about your stay at Old San Juan.

We are deeply sorry for the feeling you have toward Hotel Plaza De Armas.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned.

We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- A lot of people have stayed with us for more than 2 weeks even 3 and 4 and they have been taking care of all the needs the had.

As you mention once we find out about the situation in your assigned room you were move inmediately so there is no reason to complain about finding a solution for you.
The same thing for the situation for the pillows, you were given the one in the other previous room.

Our housekeeping staff work daily in cleaning and changing the bedding in the rooms. However an urgent meetings were held with the entire staff and they received additional training in maintaining the standards which we have set for our Hotel Plaza De Armas. This includes proper cleaning and also proper supplies being in the room.

The pillows you mention has been removed from the room.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION as you mention and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area and by the time you wrote your review we are in a really excellent position among all the hotels in San Juan area.

In fact we are the hotel number 15 out of 47 and 63% of friends who visited us recommend our property to others.

Of course you can always look for another location nearby Nenok5, that's your call but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.


Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way. Next time please stay more than just one night in order to see more properly the kind of services we are capable of and I'm really sure your impression will be a diffferent one.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for only one night, and we were treated very well!!! I'm definitely coming back there! The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location couldn't be better!!! It's a great option for Old San Juan!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silves, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The only positive thing you can say about this hotel is that it is perfectly located in the old historic part of San Juan. There are lots of small restaurants close by. We would certainly not recommend this place to anyone - except maybe if you are looking for something cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcel-and-Joke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks a lot Marcel-and-Joke for being honest with us and give us your opinion about your recent stay at Old San Juan.

We are really sorry if you were dissapointed with your visit.

We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- Our hotel is a historic property, located in the heart of a historic city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires.

We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building and that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan. People love to be here.

2.- Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

3.- The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but oustside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

4.- At the moment you wrote your comment we are the number 15 out of 47 hotel in the whole San Juan Area and a SOLID 63% of people who visited us are please with the location, service and price and for that reason they recommend us to others.

5.- Looks like you missed all the BIG RESTAURANTS in the area and just when to the Plaza were there are a couple of place to eat like WENDYS and SUBWAY. Maybe next time you should go to BIG RESTAURANTS like BARRACHINA were they have an special treatment for our guest, giving them a FREE FLAMENCO SHOW on Friday and Saturday, a FREE PIÑA COLADA and a 20% OFF of the TOTAL BILL, EVERY SINGLE TIME you visited them.

Maybe you do not have to much time to go to OLD HARBOR STEAK AND LOBSTER HOUSE, were they have their own brewery inside the restaurant. I'ts possible that you could not had visited TRIANAS RESTAURANT, AJI DULCE, VACA BRAVA, RAICES, INARU, EL MOJITO, DRAGONFLY, PARROT CLUB, MERMELADE, AGUAVIVA, EL JIBARITO, EL PATIO DE SAM, AUREOLA, CAFE PUERTO RICO, MADRE, SOFIA, CAFECULTURA, CAFE BERLIN, AIRENUMO and many MANY MORE that are at walking distance from the hotel.

I'm pretty sure you did not know we are an INTERNATIONAL CULINARY DISTRICT with more than 10 CULINARY FESTIVAL AROUND THE YEAR only in Old San Juan.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

However next time you have a complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator/General Manager because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

To be in Old town and walk around the town this is a good place. Old town is full of restaurants and all in a walking distance. Hotel room is clean and maintained. Hot water shower was good. Expect no other frills. Book all the tours in Puerto Rico by your own research. Front desk have not much details on that. People thinking about whether to be outside the old town or in old town I suggest be in old town for 2 days. Walk around and figure out Old Spanish settlement and go for kayaking tours.

Room Tip: Having a window room is of no use. Instead sleep, take bath and walk around the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G1uravS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We had a mishap with our bookings and arrived in San Juan without a place to stay the night. Tourist information desk at the airport helped us get this room. We certainly our thankful that plaza had a room available which they offered to us for USD 200. Apparently this was their family room and the largest one in the building. Well it did not feel large at all and was quite poorly kept. The bed sheets were dirty, the balcony door was broken, they did not clean well after the previous guest as there was hair in the bathing area and an open soap bar lying around. And oh of course how could I forget our ride up to the room on the fourth floor in by far the slowest elevator ever!! And there was no staff to help with the luggage, we had to drag it in and out ourselves. Out and out - stayed there as there was no other choice and yet regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pallavi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

this hotel was right in the heart of san juan. I was traveling by myself and it was nice to be very close within walking distance to many local shops, a frozen yogurt place, and eateries. The staff was friendly and nice and accommodating. I had no problems with checking in and out and would stay there again easily.

Room Tip: I liked being on the first floor because I had a lot of luggage. The room was spacious enough I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corndogsjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing