We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"..........” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"..........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

no type of security inside the hotel or even in your own room(make sure to pull/push the door in/out for it lock)also the "privacy lock" Doesn't work at ALL or been broken off! Anyone could just walk in the hotel (since they dont ask or remember who is staying),check the doors,who knows what happens from there.

Room Tip: rooms are not cleaned, the rooms are not being cleaned. Which means that you could be sleepin in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks a lot Ashly for your recent review about your stay at Old San Juan.

We are really glad you enjoyed the remarkable location that we have.

I would like to start telling you that Old San Juan area is one the safest place on all Puerto Rico and Hotel Plaza De Armas is one of the safest hotel since our neighbors are:

1.- The Governor Mansion is just a couple of blocks from our property (Fortaleza Street)
2.- The Department Of State is just besides our property.
3.- The Mayor Office is across the Plaza De Armas Square.
4.- There is a Police Station inside the Mayor Offices.
5.- The President of the most Popular Bank is just around the corner.

Moreover the are always Policemen in every corner of the Old Town because here we value the security theme as one of our main concern.

We are deeply sorry for the feeling you have toward Hotel Plaza De Armas but this is not the opinion of a SOLID 61% of people from Tripadvisor, 80% from Expedia.com, 77% from Booking.com, 62% from Orbitz.com, 88%, from Despegar.com and 73% from Agoda who has visited us and were pleased with the security, location, service and price and for those reasons they continue recommending us to others.

At the moment you wrote your comment we are the number 17 out of 44 hotel in the whole San Juan Area.

We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- I personally do not know where exactly you stayed with us but telling that "no type of security inside the hotel or even in your own room" that is incorrect because we have camera in the premise working 24/7/365 and we can control any contigency. We are a 24 hour service and we do have access to a Police Station in the Mayor Office in case of any incident that can occur. At this very moment we have not had any opportunity to use this service because any incident have never happened.

2.- Every person that have access to the hotel is a person that has been properly registered at the Front Desk with a copy of his/her ID in order to mantain certain information and a Level of security. None person can enter the hotel and pass to the rooms if they are not registered or authorized by a guest who is registered.

3.- Although we have 50 rooms, we do remember and more than that know every guest that we have in our property since is our rule to ask everyone who is staying with us how is the room and if there are any other things we can do to help the guest. Every Front desk Agent has been trained for that purpose. Also that is a guarantee that we will know everyone staying in our hotel.

4.- Due to your comment we have double checked every door in our property and found just a couple of them without working correctly. However there is more than one device to secure the door beside the "privacy lock" as you mention.
Please allow to remark that NO PERSON CAN ENTER THE HOTEL if the proper registration process has not been done, and WE KNOW EVERY GUEST that enter in Hotel Plaza De Armas since they become our friends once they stay with us.

Our housekeeping service is done on a daily base unless the guest requieres not to,all the elements inside the room are totally change for those completely clean out of the cleaning room, however due to your comment a meetings were held with the entire staff and they received additional training in maintaining the standards which we have set for our Hotel Plaza De Armas. This includes proper cleaning and also proper supplies being in the room and all this was applied to your room.

We have taken appropriate measure to control the situation with the pieces of food/molds/hair on the walls you mention and have been removed and constantly review for maintenance in order that this kind of situation never happen again.

Hotel Plaza De Armas PR has a "good night rest" policy ensuring all guests receive a good night rest without any kind of noise. Any excessive noise complaints will not be tolerated and further action should be taken into consideration. This property's policy is to refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, including pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.

However it's still possible to hear the voice of other guests or the slam of other guest rooms or any other noise all you had to do is go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator/General Manager because maybe that way you could be changed to another quieter room and your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you could avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

Only a sick person can take a time of his/her vacation to see through the window of another room most of our friend (Guests) are people very friendly and respectable that come to Puerto Rico and to our property to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan. People love to be here. They are not coming to see through the window of other people room as you suppose that could happen. However due to your comment we have taken care of the situation to avoid any event in that direction.

Look like you never considered leave our property because you mentioned that you were changed to a room with window, I'm pretty sure you did not pay anything else for the upgrade because I was the one who authorized it. As you can see we always try to exceed our guest expectation.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but outside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area. Of course you can always look for another location nearby Ashley, that's your call but they will be always not like us.

The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    336
    197
    80
    73
See reviews for
125
433
124
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Hotel Plaza De Armas is a charming Hotel right in the center of Old San Juan. We loved the ability to walk out the front of the Hotel and be in the center of the Square. Lots of great restaurants to walk to or hop on the free trolley. The Hotel room was inside (no window) and the AC did not keep the room cool, after the first two nights the staff was able to relocate us to another room. I'd recommend this hotel for one or two nights but nothing more, not very comfortable in the way of bedding, linens or room comfort. Cleanliness was average. Be prepared to use the stairs, the elevator is very small (two people) and often is not available as someone used it and did not close the manual door.

Room Tip: Request outside balcony, be sure you have a private bath,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HarrySGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Location was excellent, staff very helpful, bed super,comfortable and lots of pillow,options. Hotel is a bit old but very clean - kind of funky which we like rather than new and sterile. Got a room in front with a small balcony. Weee warned it could be noisy in a.m. It was a bit but we,like the sound of the city waking up. And if you close door and turn on air, no issue. Plaza across the street is lovely and great coffee kiosk with chairs, tables and umbrellas. Spent time there every day. Marilyn's place, bar around the corner had the BEST mojitos. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Plaza de armas transports the guest to a 19th century ambience, very
classic, clean,warm, and elegant.
The building retains the original arquitecture and it is well kept.
The staff is Polite and eager to help.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urayoan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have to say that the location couldn't be better. It is central to everything, and none of the sights is a far walk. There is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel. That being said, here's what was true of my three-day stay. My room had no phone, no windows, no coffee maker, no remote for the TV, and a TV that kept switching on and off, making it unwatchable (although admittedly I only wanted to watch the news on occasion). he only way to communicate with reception is to walk down three floors (he elevator is VERY old and slow and not worth the wait unless moving luggage). There is no refrigerator, no breakfast, and no restaurant (apart from a pastry shop), and all of the vending machines were out of service. If I were to visit San Juan again, I would look for a different hotel in the same area. BTW ... two nights and a FULL day of walking are enough to see the main sights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnyytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We chose to stay here for two nights because we really wanted to explore Old San Juan. We had been to San Juan before but had stayed in Isle Verde which is very touristy, so we wanted a different spin on Puerto Rico.

This is a hotel in my opinion that you stay at for Location. It was super cute in the lobby but the rooms need serious updating. Walls were in bad shape (peeling paint, stains, etc), bathroom was super tiny and the sink was actually in the room and not in the bathroom. These were not super huge problems for us as we did not plan to spend alot of time in the room, and the room was cheap. I prefer to spend my money on adventures when I am on vacation and not on elegance in a hotel room. If that sounds like you, then this is the place for you. Gave me a comfy bed to sleep in, and the front desk staff was nice. And thats all I was really looking for, was somewhere comfy and clean to sleep.

With in walking distance to alot of noteworthy places in old San juan.

We rented a car for this trip. For this hotel, parking was kind of a pain in the butt. I had dropped off my friend and had her check in while i drove around trying to figure out what the hell was going on. Upon check in you are given a map directing you to the prefered parking lot of the hotel. It isnt far, but parking on site is much more prefered for me when I stay at hotels and am using a rental car. Parking was pretty cheap as long as you park where they tell you to.

Room Tip: The cheapest room they have has a twin bed in it. I was not aware of this while booking, and booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The location of the Hotel Plaza de Armas is perfect for a visit to the old part of San Juan. Many of the historic places are within walking distance. As well, city buses stop at the Plaza if you wish to take a tour of the city or to travel further to the Fort and El Moro by bus. Being centrally located, we did not have to spend money on taxis. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and very knowledgeable as to what to see and where to eat. The room was clean, plain and comfortable

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank millertait_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing