We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in History...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
San Juan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation in History...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The front desk service was excellent, we spend three amazing days close to everything in Old San Juan. Thanks to the location of the hotel we could enjoy San Juan from a different perspective! We had a blast! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zayi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    341
    200
    81
    76
See reviews for
129
442
127
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Can't be beat for the price and location. Located along the Plaza de Armas, a bustling gathering plaza smack dab in the heart of Old San Juan. Easy, walking access to all Old San Juan has to offer: historic sites, museums, cafes, views of the ocean and bay, restaurants, bars, etc. A cafe adjoined to the lobby offers coffee and pastries and was a nice amenity. The elevator, which others have commented on, was a bit quirky but cool and charming; another amenity, in my opinion. Staff were courteous. Only downside was the lack of windows in the room I chose to stay in - not an aesthetic concern, but sometimes I had trouble getting motivated in the morning without sunlight. Still, given the price and location, I'm not complaining. I would at the Hotel Plaza de Armas again, no questions asked.

Room Tip: Interior, windowless rooms are less expensive, but may not be for everybody.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank spinningmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is very convenient, close to all attractions in Old San Juan. The Stop number 9
to board the free trolley is in front of the hotel. Front desk clerks are friendly and polite. The
room is clean, and AC is working well. Good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank houstonman344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was very happy with my hotel stay. It is located in the middle of everything including pharmacy and stores. I felt very secure there even in really early mornings. Staff is very friendly and polite. i was staying in inside room, very quiet. Hotel is clean, ac is working well - what else would you need to have rest in between sightseeing...
on my previous trip to San Juan, i was staying in different hotel in the same area but after my stay in Hotel Plaza de Armas this may i would definitely return back to enjoy their hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777valleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jax Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Front desk staff were very polite, but kind of inept. Had to go up and down the stairs 3 times because our key card wouldn't work. Ended up in a better room with a large balcony though :-) Elevator is really small and kind of scary. I wouldn't use it, but my husband did and he lived through it. The hotel is in the heart of Old San Juan, lots of police around, plenty of restaurants and only a 10 minute walk to the cruise pier.
It was pretty loud as our room was on the street on a Saturday night. All the floors in the hotel are tile, so we could hear everybody who talked in the hallways.
If you are going to San Juan to "party" and you don't mind staying up past 10:00, it's a great hotel. If you want a restful nights sleep, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank lisarunsfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Very perfect Central location in old san juan ,, super friendly and helpful reception team, very clean, great value price, i will definitely come back to this hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love that place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inlovewithpuertorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our stay at the Hotel Plaza de Armas was excellent. It is a simple hotel in an excellent location in the middle of Old San Juan. The room was nice and clean and the staff was very courteous and helpful, always available with a smile. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank PRTourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 47 in San Juan
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 47 in San Juan
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing