We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and reasonable pricing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and reasonable pricing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

June 2014. Being in the center of Old San Juan, this hotel is extremely convenient to explore the area. The hotel was clean, great service (Kevin was very helpful!), great A/C, and the general architecture was unique. We would definitely stay here again. There was no need for a car during the days we stayed in Old SJ as everything was within walking distance of the hotel or accessible by the free trolley (that conveniently stops right outside the hotel), which definitely helped save a little money. Taxi from the international airport to the hotel was $19 plus a $2 surcharge for fuel, $1 per bag, and up to 5 people are included in the fare, then it's $2 for each additional person up to a max of 7. If you do have a car the parking is difficult outside the hotel (not their fault and don't let this deter you), but there is a parking lot near pier 2 / right next to the bus station/ at trolley stop #2 that is very reasonable (about 40 cents/hr) and an easy walk to the hotel - or jump on the trolley. Be aware there are several parking lots that are quite pricey and are in the same general area, so read the signs.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies offer really cool views down into the streets, but may be a little noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank missy87tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    336
    197
    80
    72
See reviews for
125
433
124
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ceiba, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

In the Center of everything in the Old SJ...very clean all around the hotel...Café spot next to the lobby is economical, great service and taste... Very Fast Check In and Check Out...Great A/C and hot water...Staff are very friendly and especially Pedro was very helpful...I definitely would return to get away, shop and explore !!!

PS Parking is not hotels fault...but further down there is a Municipal parking called la Puntilla which is very economical after 2am is free and at night your able to find parking next to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAFeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was here for a conference, but visit often. If you are traveling on a budget but want to be close to the nightlife this is the best place. I got a great deal on Hotwire. Super clean, friendly staff, room is well equipped and AC is cold. Interesting building with classic architecture. Room had small single bed and no window.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlrflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Jan. 2014 my husband and I went to San Juan, Puerto Rico to catch our cruise ship for our honeymoon. We stayed here the night before we sailed. The location was great its right up the street from bars and restaurants literally walking distance a block and a half. They were still working on the cafe in their hotel but suggested the cafe on the corner which was GREAT and CHEAP. The hotel room was clean. We got a little surprise when looked behind the curtain shades and found a door that lead out to a private balcony. We could see the water from our balcony. The hotel is in the center of everything. A lot of shops and vendors are in walking distance. The carnival cruise dock is about 1 mile away from the hotel so we walked. The hotel will hold you luggage after check out until your ready to go to the cruises ship. I would suggest it for one night. The only down fall is that you can hear the music and the people leaving the bars that are right up the street. The noise woke us up a couple of times.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location is fabulous. The rooms are small but comfy and the staff is friendly and helpful. You can explore Old San San Juan at day and enjoy the nightlife, because it is close to everything.We'll definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Echevela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I were doing some business in Old San Juan and end up needing a room for one night. Got a $69.00 rate through hotels.com at the Hotel Plaza de Armas. The room was basic, but clean, and the location could not be beat. The room did not have any windows (inside room), but had he basics. In our room we could not control the A/C, kind of weird, but with an extra blanket from the front desk we made do. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. You have a lot of choices to eat and drink right around the hotel location. There is no parking, as with most of the hotels in this area, but there are several parking options just minutes from the hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed last weekend. Excellent location in Old San Juan! We spend two amazing days. The room was small but clean. The front desk was excellent!! Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (room 316.)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing