We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Plaza De Armas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Right around the corner from Barrachina, birthplace of the Pina Colada. $20 cab fare plus $1 per bag will get you here from the airport.

Clean, quiet and inexpensive no frills hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Distrait7970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent hotel in old san juan try it nice hotel,good location, i hope come back again, enjoy the nighs its fully of life, it has many places for drink and eat , very helpful stuff and the location is easy walking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ALEX C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

While Plaza De Armas is an older hotel, it has charm and character. We were expecting a nice, simple, decent place to stay, but our room was very clean, nice, had a high ceiling (the room felt roomy), and was very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay there and will stay there when we return. The front desk staff, regardless who was there, was extremely helpful and courteous; they were very nice and professional. I highly recommend Plaza De Armas when seeking to stay in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DLL655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The only reason that this hotel won't rate 5 stars is for the parking situation but that would hold true for every hotel in Old San Juan (OSJ)! Spacious room with high ceilings, comfortable king size bed, adequate closet/bathroom space, and the best part; walking distance to almost everything we wanted to see (or eat) while in OSJ. (And if not, there are free options for travel through most of downtown.) We chose an interior room (I'm a light sleeper and need DARK) and it was on the second floor. I'd read about the elevator (it's small and if you're claustrophobic; it isn't for you) but, HELLO, we were on the second floor. Pretty easy to reach our room by hoofing it. Kind and helpful desk staff provided us with coupons to the nearby Barrachina's restaurant which proclaims itself to be the "birthplace of the pina colada." This is a quite an old hotel and it shows (Picture a refurbished hotel in the French Quarter) but it served our needs perfectly and I wouldn't hesitate in returning to this property.

Room Tip: We chose an interior room on purpose. While there was still a bit of light coming in through the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank centexcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

For the price (which was very, very good) this is a wonderful option.

The good: The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable. The location is easy walking distance to whatever you could want to do in Old San Juan, there is a trolley stop right next door.

The ok: The interior rooms were fine. Sizable and I didn't miss not having a window a ton because I was out so often. Not a ton of TV stations but not a huge deal. While everything is within walking distance, the Plaza De Armas itself is somewhat less than charming.

The not so good: It can be loud at night. The ice machine down the hall sounds like it's grinding up old cars or something every time it's being used. . . and apparently there is a high demand for ice, because it was used often. While the rooms were "clean" they weren't "clean clean" so to speak. There was some nasty hair tangled on the hinge of the bathroom door, the blanket I had had a hole and a stain on it. That said though, it was "clean enough" for what I needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ntjvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great location and frendly service ,the hotel is near old San Juan and there are many places for view and enjoy and the nights it fully of life,yo can walk old town and find many places for drink and eat.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice hotel , good location , very helpful stuff and beautiful city ...hope to come back once ...........................................................................................................

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
5.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
823 reviews
2.8 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £77 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing