We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Nearby Hotels
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$445
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
262
341
201
81
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
341
201
81
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold san juansmall elevatortrolley stopwalking distanceel morroyour luggagestayed one nightfew blocksthird floorcruisebarrachinapharmacypuerto
Filter
Updating list...
751 - 756 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This was the second time we stayed in this hotel so we knew what to expect going in. This stay was absolutely the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The elevator was out of order so we had to carry our bags up the dimly lit, very tight stairs ourselves. There was no offer of help from the front desk. They even laughed when they said they hoped we had good muscles. Once we got to the room, the phone didn't work, the TV didn't work and we had absolutely no hot water. It wasn't even luke warm. It was ice cold. We also discovered that the safe didn't work. Since we had no way to call the front desk, my husband ended up having to make several trips up and down the stairs to get some of the issues resolved. The hotel was sold out so their only answer for the water problem was to offer us use of another room which was not being used because the front door often got stuck in the locked position trapping people inside the room. To which they once again laughed and said good luck. All in all, it was a horrible experience! We weren't expecting much since we had been there before but this was outrageous. Couldn't they hire a young baggage boy to assist customers with their baggage. Many customers are coming and going from cruise ships with luggage for 1-2 weeks. No offer of apology from the front desk staff, just laughs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantal016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

'The hotel is in a good central locaton in old San Juan. You can walk to a number of bars, restaurants etc., and the cruise terminals. There is a free trolley car that goes all over the area which is great. However, the hotel is expensive ($140 US minimm ) with no breakfast. The rooms are big - not really clean though. I was able to remove marks on the wall - wonder why the cleaning staff doesn't try! The elevator was broken when we checked in and the staircase was steep and narrow. Went on an 8 day cruise - came back and the elevator was still broken. The area is very noisy with a lot of partiers coming and going at all hours of the night. So - buyer beware. If you want location and have ear plugs, you will be OK but I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We staryed here 2 nights prior to our Carnival Cruise. The elevator was out of order. our room was on the 2nd floor and we had to drag our suitcases up two flights of stairs, and back down again. The phones did not work. There was hot water in the shower, but not in the sink. The mens restroom in the lobby was out of order and they had to use the women's. The rooms were small and barely enough room for our suitcases, and to walk around. We could only get 2 stations on the TV. There were no windows in the rooms. There was no coffee or continental breakfast. It was very noisy about midnight when some boistrous guests came in.
Pros: The girls at the check in desk were super nice and friendly. It was a good location as we could walk to many places. The trolly was free in the whole town & you could get on and off whenever you wanted. We were charged $135 per night which was way overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloNashvilleTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The room was barely adequate. Absolutely no parking- you have to use a public lot - not a short walk back and certainly not cheap. The street noise gets very loud around five am with all the garbage and delivery trucks making their rounds. No sleeping through that. As the other reviews say, the elevator NEVER works and one local told us he was probably one of the last people to ride it when it was working- many years ago. Good luck finding the hot water setting in the shower.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowht5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel the night before and the night after we cruised out of San Juan. We wanted a clean place, great location close to the cruise terminal, and nothing fancy. We accomplished all three of those goals.

First, everyone must be aware that the hotel is located in a 17th century building, so things are not the same as in recent construction. Some rooms have windows and others do not. We stayed in two different rooms (one with a window and one without), and they were both fine. The room was clean, the plumbing worked fine, and the bed was clean. It is an island nation on island time, so we knew that the American concept of "everything five minutes ago" was not applicable here. The elevator worked - it was small and slow, but worked fine.

The staff, when not being yelled at by rude tourists, were quite nice. They helped with restaurant suggestions, held our bags until our room was ready, and had taxis waiting for us when we needed them.

The location was phenomenal. The plaza right at the door of the hotel is one of the oldest meeting places in the city. Each night we were there, people were hanging out, visiting with each other, children were playing and celebrating the holidays. It was great for people watching. Also, there is a pharmacy (in case you forgot anything for your vacation or need a soda), numerous restaurants within walking distance, and a 24/7 little cafe in the plaza in case of jet lag.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hudsonallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews