We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great is some ways, Not in others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olive Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great is some ways, Not in others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great: lovely staff, very helpful. Beautiful hotel. Comfortable bed and pillows. Quiet.Close to the beach. Good coffee.

We had a room where the toilet was in a frosted glass cubicle, but I understand a lot of them are see-through. That would have been a deal-breaker for us. No thanks.

Not great: The shower! It's beautiful, nice big enclosure, lots of showerheads; we were excited to try it out. However, the first day we couldn't get hot water. When we asked the staff, they didn't actually check our shower but told us they ran the water in the adjacent room (which was on the same line), and there was hot water. Sorry! Problem not solved. It turned out that the knob was finicky on our shower-- we had to fiddle with it to get hot water. There was one "magic spot" that usually worked. Even then the temperature would fluctuate wildly without us touching the knob. When we mentioned it to the staff, they thanked us for letting them know, but that was it.

Also not great:Housekeeping was inconsistent.Sometimes we had plenty of towels, but not always. At one point we had 4 mats on the floor (which was great, because the floor was not clean) but the next day they were gone. They took away the partial- but still good- bar of soap but did not replace it. At reception they said they'd run out of bar soap.

Also not great: breakfast. Grocery store bagels, stale bread. Sometimes there was fruit, sometimes not. Also, for milk for the coffee it was necessary to track down the hostess so she could get it from behind the bar. Orange juice was bottled, and not even the good kind. I've had a much better breakfast at the Holiday Inn.

Also not great, but not sure whose fault this is: we booked our stay through an online agent, which did not make it apparent that this hotel is not kid-friendly. I saw good reviews on this site, price was right, so we booked it. Once I did a more thorough search and saw it wasn't really appropriate for a kid (we have a 1-year-old) I tried to cancel but would have had to pay $150 even though we had made the reservation less than an hour prior. However, I contacted the hotel and they were gracious and did not give us a hard time about the baby-- actually all the staff cooed over him and gave him lots of attention.

And I know a lot of people like the robes but I thought the fabric felt awful. And parking is kind of a hassle. And the pool is just for decoration-- it looked dirty, full of sand, and tiny.

We were on the 2nd floor in the off-season, so it was quiet. But to get to the rooftop bar, patrons must walk past the doors of the 3rd floor rooms, so I imagine it must get VERY loud on a weekend night.

So all in all-- it's ok. But not great. It wants to be great. It could be great. But it isn't.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with frosted glass toilet cubicle rather than clear. I wouldn't stay on the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doctorzeeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback survey recently. We were disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in certain aspects of your recent stay with us and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Regarding the rooms, as our web-site states in the accommodations section, they're not at all for the "shy" and "timid". We have two different bathroom designs: the sensual see-through crystal box shower and the open bathroom layout. We're happy you were satisfied with your selection!

All of our rooms are equipped with hot water and a sophisticated ultra spa shower that many of our guests love! We sincerely apologize for our staff's delay in showing you the correct position of the shower's knob for the hot water. We have shared your feedback with our Front Desk Staff to assure this situation is not repeated.

Your feedback, whilst critical, is nonetheless greatly appreciated, as it is only through such feedback that we are able to address issues otherwise overlooked. We look forward to welcoming you back to the O:live Boutique Hotel the next time you are in San Juan.

Best Regards,
Josh Ortolazza and the entire O:live Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    88
    54
    23
    27
See reviews for
26
530
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Incredible ambiance, above and beyond service. Olive defines luxurious travelers. It's a small cozy property unlike anything i had seen before, the rooms are amazing but not for the faint of heart. If you are use to a big chain hotel... You are not deserving of such a gem of a place, its all about the details and the use of the space. The service cannot be compared like I said unlike anything you had seen before karina, josh and Shirley are really sweet and attentive. Overall I didn't want to leave and will recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_traveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Chris_traveler56,

Thank you for your generous review . I'm delighted you have enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. I'm even more delighted that you have recognized the efforts that our staff makes on a daily basis!

We sincerely appreciate your recognition and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,
Josh Ortolazza and the entire staff at O:live Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Olive was our romantic getaway. First impressions are a must and everyone from the valet to the housekeepers cares for your needs. The hotel has a great view of the Condado lagoon and the ambiance of the Mediterranean is in every inch of the place. The thing that makes olive even more amazing is the staff and how they make sure every detail of your stay is perfect. Karina always remembered my name, my room key and how I like my coffee. Maria would always say hello in the morning and asked if our room was up to our standards.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph8790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Steph8790,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent romantic getaway stay.

I am thrilled that you found the staff to be obliging during your time with us. They all pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests’ wants and needs are met so they never have to lift a finger whilst at the hotel.

We are all delighted that we are now your San Juan hotel of choice for a romantic getaway and we look forward to welcoming you back soon !

With warmest wishes,
Josh Ortolazza and the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayamon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Wow! where do I start!?
Its a hidden gem amongst the luxurious streets in condado. Olive is a small boutique hotel who caters to you in a personal way. The staff was very kind and always available Karina, Josh, Shirley and Raul where of great assistance. The restaurant was full every night, if you dont want to be in a crowded room you can have room service (our case). the hotel is full of romance given that the property has a photography collection taken by the owners in different romantic settings. The rooftop is an oasis, william the bartender was always attentive. In general the olive is everything a small luxury hotel should be and even more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wing N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Wing N,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were well looked after from the moment you arrived. Having an ice-cold drink at the Rooftop overlooking the Condado Lagoon is definitely one of life’s little pleasures. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back before too long.

With warm regards,
Josh Ortolazza and the entire staff at O:live Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

very elegant and ideal for a romantic evening. The restaurant is exquisite. Tremendous location. I recommend. Not be disappointed. The beach, the nightlife is on your doorstep. The hotel service is very good. Well I loved the stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoamoaponce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Yoamoaponce,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at O:live Boutique Hotel.

I am delighted that you chose to spend your time in San Juan with us due to our wonderful location. It is trued we are so lucky to be just moments from some of San Juan’s top sights but that we are also tucked away on a quiet street away from much of the hustle and bustle.

Thank you very much for recommending the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to O:live Boutique Hotel whether it's for a stay in one of beautiful suites or just for another gastronomic treat.

Best Regards,
Josh Ortolazza and the entire staff at Olive Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I booked this hotel for 1 night last minute and I am SO glad I did! The hotel is right off the main drag in Condado so you are still in walking distance of all of the restaurants, beaches, shops and casinos.

The hotel is very rustic and European feeling. It starts when they give you a real key (not a card) to open your room. Keys are left at the front desk when you leave as they have a beautiful tassle attached to them. Rooms are small but space is well thought out so you don't feel cramped. Furniture is modern yet rustic looking (Restoration Hardware- one of my faves!). Very open bathroom plan so not for those who feel uncomfortable going #1 (and even worse #2!) without being able to close the door. I am a sucker for any hotel that has L'Occitane toiletries. Internet was good, cable TV available when you want to relax at night. Bed was very comfy! Delicious brownies were brought around in the evening and left in our room- yum!

We absolutely loved the roof top bar/lounge area. Fabulous view of the lagoon with lots of comfy seating. Most of it is shaded so it still feels cool even when it's super hot out. Wish we had more time to hang out there.

Breakfast is included in the rate. It is a simple assortment of bagel, bread, pastries, yogurt, fruit, meats, cheeses and coffee and juices. It's served in their restaurant which is adorably designed and feels so cozy.

Service here is the icing on the cake. Everyone was so helpful and friendly and goes out of their way to make sure you are comfy and enjoying yourself. I stayed at La Concha last time and although I loved the beachfront location, I actually enjoyed this hotel much more!

Room Tip: Get at least a suite for a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBabblicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Steph8790,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at O:live Boutique Hotel. I am thrilled that we exceeded your high expectations of what your stay with us would be like.

I am delighted that you were able to enjoy all that the hotel has to offer from a relaxing drink at the Rooftop Club to all the neat amenities in your room. The team throughout the hotel pride themselves on ensuring that not even the smallest details goes amiss and I always enjoy seeing that this has been recognized.

We all hope that you will return to O:live Boutique Hotel for a longer stay so we can look after you!

With warmest wishes,
Josh Ortolazza and the entire Staff at O:live Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Absolutely beautiful and stunning!! What started off as a wedding/vacation nightmare at another hotel, turned into the wedding/vacation of our dreams...Thanks to Loisse and her talented staff (Josh, Denise, Karina, Shirley, Charlie, Chris, and Eduard), everything was absolutely perfect.

They made it a point to know our names and to ask how our day was going, including going out of their way to help us with our wedding arrangements. We've never felt so at home at any hotel and hated to leave.

We absolutely loved the atmosphere, the elegance, the attention to detail of this beautiful hotel. The glassed walled showers are sexy and erotic. This hotel is not for shy and bashful couples!! The rooftop bar, lounge, and pool area were straight out of a romance novel, with breath taking views of the sunset over the lagoon.

a lovers paradise...a heavenly oasis of romance!!

Mr. & Mrs. Benjamin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Benjamin,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent honeymoon at O:live.

We were thrilled to be able to play such a special part in your celebrations and are thrilled that we became a home away from home for you. The entire Staff and I enjoyed helping out and watching step by step the preparations for your big day! I am delighted that during your time with us you were well looked after and always addressed by name. Our team pride themselves on recognizing each of our guests and ensuring that they want for nothing and it is always lovely to see that this has been recognized.

We send you both and little Mason our best regards,
Josh Ortolazza and the entire staff at O:live Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.5 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Boutique Hotel

Property: Olive Boutique Hotel
Address: 55 Aguadilla st. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the ‘art de vivre’ and the diversity of the Mediterranean culture, O:live Boutique Hotel presents a unique style of relaxed luxury and intimacy. Its prime Condado location, exclusive amenities and artistique atmosphère makes this charming boutique hotel part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing