We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How I love to eat, lol” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cueva Del Mar

La Cueva Del Mar
Ranked #37 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Seafood, Spanish, Soups, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“How I love to eat, lol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I want to eat everything we saw so we decided to do appetizers which were delicious. We had croquetta de morcilla and apparently one of there specialties which was arenas preparada with meat of seafood. I got the conch/octupus and my hubby got it with a pulled beef I think. Delicious! Place inside not very clean but nice sitting area outside. We had eaten in due to rain. Would probably do again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    309
    61
    24
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“MUST VISIT BEST SEAFOOD IN PR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is the one place you should go if you are trying to get fresh seafood in PR. La Cueva doesn't take reservation, so expect to wait for 10-20 minutes, longer on weekend. Bottomline: Freshest seafood in PR. Must get Fish Tacos and Whole Fried Red Snapper. We came back for Fish Tacos at least four times after our first visit. Incredible.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

After walking around old San Juan, I started asking the locals where they enjoy a good meal. Two different locals mentioned, la cueva del mar. At first the service was slow and slightly awkward. I think they might've known we were Tourist but as we started enjoying food, bartenders warmed up. So the service wasn't as good as the food but the food was excellent. We will actually be there again in the next day or so.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DGINPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fantastic fresh seafood. We ate at quite a few restaurants in Old San Juan, but this was one of our favorites. The mofungo was great (you have to try it if you visit Puerto Rico) but their fish tacos were out of this world. Try a couple with some mojitos!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST fish tacos ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this place! Server was really nice and the fish tacos were amazing. Will come back next time in Puerto Rico for sure!!

Helpful?
Thank gmussoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva Del Mar also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Cueva Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing