We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Coffee”
Review of Cafe Don Ruiz

Cafe Don Ruiz
Ranked #1 of 22 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Don Ruiz is a specialty coffee shop & museum. We offer hot and cold drinks prepared by baristas, also, breakfast, lunch, pastries and more. Enjoy a puerto rican rum, craft beer, cigars, or a specialty drinks including refreshing fruit smoothies wihile you have a relax moment in our historical building. We are located inside Ballaja courtyard in front of "El Morro" Fort.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We found this café as we walked around the building. The coffee was excellent and we really liked the chairs that looked like they were made of coffee sacks. It's a good place to stop and rest after a long day of walking around on tours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JazRos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    65
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san juan, puerto rico
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“This is real coffee!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

You will never want anything else! Full bodied Arabica coffee. Amazing!!! Hacienda San Pedro is good also but this location tucked in the Bajala in OSJ is amazing!

Helpful?
2 Thank mariap1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee and place ever!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Scale of 1 to 10 I would give Don Ruiz 30!
I never experience a place like this and the coffee.. Oh my God is like the best thing ever go through my mouth. It is unexplainable, hard to say how much I enjoy and love this places and environment. My 5 Stars are for real. I extremely recommend it..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Achel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Refreshing and Delightful”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We ducked out of the sun into this place just hoping for some ice coffee and a sandwhich, and boy did we get both! The baristas were incredibly knowledgeable about coffees, brewing, etc and we enjoyed chatting with them while they prepared our orders. We got sandwiches on ciabatta and mallorca (local sweet bread) and both were very tasty and hit the spot after walking the forts in the hot sun for hours. The coffee was smooth and delicious black, lacking Starbucks' signature bitterness, and a perfect part of a great afternoon. The atmosphere was very fun within the shop, and walking out into the courtyard of the museum of the Americas is an impressive view as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovin' the Latte!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you enjoy coffee and maybe consider yourself to be a barista, stop by and enjoy a wonderful, full bodied, smooth coffee beverage. Because of Don Ruiz, I am now searching for them on the internet to order coffee for the home machine. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TodaysGeorgieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Don Ruiz also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Don Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing