We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting Atmosphere and Enticing Dishes”
Review of La Chola - CLOSED

La Chola
Cuisines: Peruvian
Restaurant details
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Inviting Atmosphere and Enticing Dishes”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Peruvian ceviche in Santurce’s Loiza Street. If you find yourself walking around the hustle and bustle of Loiza street- step into La Chola. The restaurant is a wonderful escape from the city’s commotion. La Chola’s décor is a combination of Peruvian handicrafts housed within the building’s traditional architecture. Enjoy a cold ‘chicha morada’ (traditional sweet corn beverage) while you decide between their ceviches, appetizers and the country’s classic dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The food was awesome! My wife & I are picky to say the keast & we entrusted our dining experience to the chefs selections & it was an amazing experience! We highly recommend & will be back soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2eatPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vieques, PR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous ceviche and chaufa”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We just had a fabulous meal at La Chola, a Peruvian restaurant down the street from us. The bonito ceviche was outstanding, very fresh with a little mango and spice. The chicharron de cerdo (pork) was a little crunchy and tasty. It may have been one of our best appetizers ever. Finally the chaufa! You know, chaufa. You don't? Nor did I. It's a fabulous Peruvian stir-fried rice with just a little soy. If you find yourself in San Juan and want an excellent meal, I highly recommend La Chola.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViequesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ceviche and Pescado....trifongo yum”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had the ceviche mixto which was amazing. Then I ate the Pescado....something...Trifongo for my entree, which was delicious. The place was almost empty, but we were eating early by most people's standards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Left before even tasting food.”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Went to get food here on a special that was offered but not honored . It took forever for the manager to attend our situation and when he finally came his answer was not good enough. The ambience looked good the menu looked decent but client service was terrible. As soon as we walked spoke to the waiter about our offer he told somebody a women who looked like the owner. She then started to make al sorts of gestures and appeared angry. The waiter got frustrated because obviously he knows hes got to give face because of a management error. Like i said earlier i judged by service not food and as a waiter for 8 years i know service has its days. If you want to give it a shot try it you might have a better experiance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dannymundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chola also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing