We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for late arrivals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Juan Airport Hotel
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Stafford Springs
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good for late arrivals”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our flight got in at 2:15AM so it really was the most convenient place to stay, as we were flying out the next morning. The rooms were small, but that was to be expected. I had reserved a room with two double beds for the three of us traveling, but of course, they didn't have any of those rooms left. They offered to give us extra blankets so one of us could sleep on the floor (!!!) but being three 40 year old women, we just decided to book another single room as they were fairly cheap. The breakfast was adequate, the rooms were clean. Overall, it was fine for a layover, but I would never book it for a long term stay. You can't beat being right at the airport when you get up in the morning to catch a flight.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    276
    279
    112
    96
See reviews for
228
365
103
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I used to refer to this place as "the worlds worst hotel with the mildew smell", but since it isn't a BW anymore there is a nice improvement.

Painted rooms with real sized TV's (as opposed to the 12 inch jokes they used to have) and no more bad smell.

They are very good as far as the staff goes and the location is what matters here on your Caribbean trips.

Room Tip: 5th floor has been renovated a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here most recently in December 2012 and prior to that in December 2009. The hotel is located in the airport so it is convienient if you come in on a late flight or need to catch an early flight. The hotel is pretty clean with all the needed basics for a comfortable evening and they server a basic breakfast sometimes consisting of hot food.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

For short trips I would recommend this place. It's close to the mall and it's in the airport so very convenient and the rooms aren't bad either. The staff was nice and they were nice enough to hold my luggage until I met up with the rest of my family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BermudaFlava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I stay here very reluctantly every now and then (a) at American Airline's expense, when a flight is delayed or (b) at my own expense, when I have an early flight and a lot of luggage.

Telling people you will be staying here usually elicits a groan followed by the advice "don't touch anything." However, I have always found front desk to be friendly and efficient, the rooms clean (although the rooms are so dour and dark, with dark carpets and no natural light at all that it is easy to get the opposite impression) and very convenient for AA flights, particularly when you have a lot of luggage.

Beyond that, it's impossible to think of anything nice to say. The rooms are small, dark, with no natural light - almost like you might imagine a prison cell to be, with a really terrible restaurant and a bad lay out.

I would probably stay somewhere more congenial if I did not have a very early departure, or a very late arrival, or both, or did not have a lot of baggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This is the third time we stay at the San Juan airport hotel. We've usually stayed overnight when we've had a very early morning flight; this time we stayed because our flight landed at midnight. The staff was very friendly and we were checked in very fast. The rooms are not fancy, and the bathrooms are kind of small, but then again, if you're staying at this hotel it is usually just for an overnight stay. Breakfast is included. It is a continental style breakfast with pastries, cereal, bagels, bread, jams, etc. This time they had Nutella, which our kids were really happy to see. This time they also had a Nescafe machine which made expresso coffee with steamed milk (which I really liked) and hot chocolate (which the kids were happy about).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed here one night at the end our trip because we had a very early flight out the next morning and we value being able to sleep as long as possible. It is definitely not a fancy hotel, but it has a free breakfast and you can't beat the location for access to the airport.
In the morning we woke up, went to our ticket counter at the airport, checked our bags and then went back to the hotel for breakfast. This worked out really well, we were never rushed or stressed out and it was nice to not have to spend too much time in the airport. I would really only stay here if I had an early flight because you do have to pay about $25 to take a taxi into Old San Juan and there is really nothing in walking distance entertainment-wise. For what it is, an airport hotel, it is perfect. Clean, quiet and a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
4.1 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#29 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
4.8 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.5 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Airport Hotel

Property: San Juan Airport Hotel
Address: Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan 00937, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning San Juan Airport Hotel is the only HOTEL located at the airport, just steps from the Airlines counter. We have received the Best of the Best Award and Best of the Best 2 Star Hotel in Puerto Rico by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company. We have amazing rooms and complimentary amenities including FREE HOT buffet breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet (Wi-Fi) wireless connection at download speeds more than 40mbs, FREE Business Center, a fitness center with everything you might need like ellipticals, treadmills, free weights, and more, and a on-site Restaurant & Bar. We have exceeded the standards and amenities in our commitment to your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your San Juan Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing