We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful honeymoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dreamcatcher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dreamcatcher
Ranked #2 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stephan and staff was very good at answering my questions and created a very nice relaxed atmosphere. I really wanted the Moroccan room and had requested it over 3 months in advance and the response was they they cannot always book a certain room for people, it just depends on their bookings the week of, which didn't make sense to me at all, but I went with it.

We arrived at night and had a little trouble finding it but the staff helped us and stayed on the phone with us until we arrived, that was very appreciated. At first I was very disappointed because we were given the Aimlee room, a new room, but Stephan assured us we would love it, and we totally did! It was in the back of the house, which was great for privacy, altho it was noisy at night as we heard neighboring music every night (not sure if it was from the guesthouse or outside).

The outdoor shower and bathroom were wonderful! It made me feel like I was having a true hippie experience. It was only lit by candles at night, which some may not like because it was pretty dark still, but I loved it.

The shower pressure was horrible. We told the owner Sylvia and to my surprise, when we had come back from dinner, it was already fixed! The pressure still wasn't great, but it was much improved.

We got massages from the male therapist and he came to our room to treat us. That was wonderful, he did such a great job!

We wanted to try the breakfast, but it seemed like a small amount of food for $15. We usually ate for $15 total down the street, and one morning I bought yogurt and granola and fruit for us, and I prepared it in the kitchen.

We were very relaxed and happy when we left. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitKatBar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan W, Manager at The Dreamcatcher, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Kat,

we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon at our Bed&Breakfast.

As it is important to us that our guests leave the Dreamcatcher a 100% happy and satisfied I wanted to clarify the confusion regarding your room assignment:

We have five different room categories and you booked the category GRAND SUITE. Within this category we have three rooms: the Moroccan, the Amelie and the French Laundry Room. As we rent our rooms by category and not individually we cannot guaranty a certain room. All GRAND SUITES have the same amenities and are only different in its design

When you checked out our breakfast you might have seen only part of it as we serve it in THREE courses and with a drink.

We hope to be welcoming you again!

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    30
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
180
66
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Dreamcatcher was literally the most anticipated part of my week long journey. My journey began in Florida and in the Keys and then for 48 hours in lovely Puerto Rico to visit family and sight see. Upon arrival my flight was very late but David was extremely accommodating making sure he was up and ready for my arrival, providing close details on how to arrive from the airport. The Dreamcatcher is rustic, unique, and radiates a positive healing vibe throughout the home. They have an amazing patio and kitchen and the sound of the coqui blesses the air throughout the evening. Everyone staying there converged in the kitchen on a daily basis, the space was incredibly inviting and everyone working there went above and beyond, David even helped me locating a rental car for the very best rate.

I highly recommend the Dreamcatcher! I have been to India, Spain, Morocco, Switzerland, London, all through the states and never have I come across a place so majestic, one which you can even take a yoga class!

Shine on Sylvia, David, and Stephan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RionManita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Friends of mine had booked rooms at the Dreamcatcher, and since I only had one night in San Juan, I booked a room there to see them. The French Laundry room is possibly the most soothing place I've ever stayed in, with the loveliest little patio with a hammock chair. I hope it never changes, and I hope to return very soon. Thank you, Silvia and Dario, for what was a short, but perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank joutsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Totally amazing hotel in a little gated neighborhood alongside an awesome kite surfing and swimming beach in San Juan. Extremely tastefully decorated, with moody rooms and tons of outdoor living space to make you envious. 2 kitchens for you to prep your own stuff but why would you when Dario provides such amazing food. He was kind enough to pack a breakfast for us on request for our super early flight and it was amazing - fruit salad, chia pudding, his amazing breakfast bars and granola bars. Mostly highly recommend.

Room Tip: Look at the pics online - every room has a different mood
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fords, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great time at the Dreamcatcher. It is a special place tucked in a pretty neighborhood a block from the beach. The staff was helpful and friendly, as were the other guests staying there. The gardens and rooms were comfortable and amazingly curated. I have already recommended the Dreamcatcher to friends and family. When I go back to Puerto Rico I will stay with Sylvia and Stephan again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This place is truly amazing. The rooms are beautiful, each with its own design theme and character, filled with unique objects and art. There are gorgeous outdoor common areas where you can always find a quiet hammock to read, cozy up with someone, play the guitar by the fountain or catch a little sun. There is even an outdoor kitchen if you want to cook and not be cooped up indoors. Sylvia is a charming host, always attentive to what guests might need, full of ideas for activities and a truly gifted designer. The chef Dario whips up a different breakfast each day, here's a sampling: fresh tropical fruit, veggie juice, chia pudding, egg tortilla and lentil hummus. Everything was delicious. There are yoga classes on the deck which you can participate in if you choose. And of course it is one block - a short block- from an absolutely gorgeous beach. If you want a getaway where you will at once feel both at home and in a dreamy destination, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Two blocks from the best beach in PR. Nice leafy, Edenic atmosphere at this place. Sweet outdoor shower available. Ample on-street parking in what appears to be a safe quiet neighborhood. "Gated community" thing not too tight-assed. A really fine value. Hats off to the proprietor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuala75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,671 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dreamcatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamcatcher

Property: The Dreamcatcher
Address: 2009 Calle Espana | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911-1432, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dreamcatcher 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous and intimate Guest House is located right at the beach in the pristine neighborhood of Ocean Park, only 10 minutes away from the Historical Old San Juan and the airport. The Dreamcatcher is the only vegetarian guest house in San Juan. Guests may sign up for yoga and meditation classes, take part in sightseeing tours, do paddle boarding, or opt for nature-adventure tours outside of the typical touristy options. They may also borrow a bicycle and go for a ride around the neighborhood beaches or the popular Loiza Street. The famous three-course breakfast is served daily by local chef Jerome who has been specializing in vegan and vegetarian cuisine since 2003. Guests may also choose between juice blends, homemade hemp milk and kombucha elixirs made with all natural ingredients. These in turn could be included in their daily detox meal plans. The Dreamcatcher is proud to be supporting this type of experience in which tourists enjoy healthy foods as they spend some time away from home. "Everything about this guesthouse suggests relaxation," according to the March 2014 issue of New York Magazine. It smells of incense, as one can listen to the meditation music in the background and hear the flow of water from the fountain. The Dreamcatcher is thoughtfully decorated with mostly vintage furniture and collectibles. The house holds beauty and memories alike, every corner tells a story. The awarded Inn is a true oasis with many areas to find privacy as well as to come together with other guests and friends.The common areas consist of a dining room, two lounging areas with rocking chairs and hammocks. A spacious living room that opens to the garden as well as a fully equipped Communal Kitchen. The garden is protected by dozens of Buddha's, which quietly sit among the fruit trees, the water fountain and in between the flowers. Every room is decorated with a Dreamcatcher to protect your sleep and entice sweet dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dreamcatcher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing