We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of The Dreamcatcher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dreamcatcher
Ranked #2 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I can't say enough about Dreamcatcher and the people that make the experience so special. Thank you all for such a great week. Make sure to have Dario's breakfast(it's awesome every day,) try some yoga, and just freakin relax. We met new people every day, paddled boarded with a pro surfer, and relaxed in the peaceful confines of the hotel and on the beach a block away. Highly recommended to anyone who wants an escape from the tourist hustle and enjoy an authentic Puerto Rican vacation.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is the ocean and fitness center is the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

A blissful space with inspiring atmosphere, a place to chill in a hammock while reading a book. A magical garden and patio with tucked places where to sit conversations and have amazing sunset dinners. Unique beautifully designed bedrooms, some with bathroom in suite or with private open air showers. A warm and friendly staff that welcomes you with open arms as the lovely dogs Pippa & Malda. A relaxed ambiance that has so much to offer too:

Airport shuttle--laundry- paddle tours--historical tours--therapeutical massages--yoga--vegetarian organic breakfast and dinners--fresh juices--homemade kombucha--acoustic live music nights--All this a block away from a perfect Caribbean beach! Surrounded by beautiful villas in the neighborhood with a variety of options for restaurants, bakeries and shops at walk distance. Also easy parking if you rental!

The best guesthouse you could dream in the best location in San Juan!

I've visited PR many times and at every time I've stayed with Sylvia at her Dreamcatcher house that brought on board beautiful beings as Sthepan, Dario and all the crew. Every time I'm admiring the evolution taken of this wonderful project and their philosophy.

The dreamcatcher is a piece of my heart, a place in the paradise dreamt. My other home.

Make your travel an experience and just book it!!

Room Tip: Romatic rooms: Menorca Room - The French Laundry room Private plan: Bombay Apt Solo: Library Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuriadepalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stephan and staff was very good at answering my questions and created a very nice relaxed atmosphere. I really wanted the Moroccan room and had requested it over 3 months in advance and the response was they they cannot always book a certain room for people, it just depends on their bookings the week of, which didn't make sense to me at all, but I went with it.

We arrived at night and had a little trouble finding it but the staff helped us and stayed on the phone with us until we arrived, that was very appreciated. At first I was very disappointed because we were given the Aimlee room, a new room, but Stephan assured us we would love it, and we totally did! It was in the back of the house, which was great for privacy, altho it was noisy at night as we heard neighboring music every night (not sure if it was from the guesthouse or outside).

The outdoor shower and bathroom were wonderful! It made me feel like I was having a true hippie experience. It was only lit by candles at night, which some may not like because it was pretty dark still, but I loved it.

The shower pressure was horrible. We told the owner Sylvia and to my surprise, when we had come back from dinner, it was already fixed! The pressure still wasn't great, but it was much improved.

We got massages from the male therapist and he came to our room to treat us. That was wonderful, he did such a great job!

We wanted to try the breakfast, but it seemed like a small amount of food for $15. We usually ate for $15 total down the street, and one morning I bought yogurt and granola and fruit for us, and I prepared it in the kitchen.

We were very relaxed and happy when we left. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitKatBar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan W, Manager at The Dreamcatcher, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Kat,

we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon at our Bed&Breakfast.

As it is important to us that our guests leave the Dreamcatcher a 100% happy and satisfied I wanted to clarify the confusion regarding your room assignment:

We have five different room categories and you booked the category GRAND SUITE. Within this category we have three rooms: the Moroccan, the Amelie and the French Laundry Room. As we rent our rooms by category and not individually we cannot guaranty a certain room. All GRAND SUITES have the same amenities and are only different in its design

When you checked out our breakfast you might have seen only part of it as we serve it in THREE courses and with a drink.

We hope to be welcoming you again!

Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Dreamcatcher was literally the most anticipated part of my week long journey. My journey began in Florida and in the Keys and then for 48 hours in lovely Puerto Rico to visit family and sight see. Upon arrival my flight was very late but David was extremely accommodating making sure he was up and ready for my arrival, providing close details on how to arrive from the airport. The Dreamcatcher is rustic, unique, and radiates a positive healing vibe throughout the home. They have an amazing patio and kitchen and the sound of the coqui blesses the air throughout the evening. Everyone staying there converged in the kitchen on a daily basis, the space was incredibly inviting and everyone working there went above and beyond, David even helped me locating a rental car for the very best rate.

I highly recommend the Dreamcatcher! I have been to India, Spain, Morocco, Switzerland, London, all through the states and never have I come across a place so majestic, one which you can even take a yoga class!

Shine on Sylvia, David, and Stephan

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RionManita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Friends of mine had booked rooms at the Dreamcatcher, and since I only had one night in San Juan, I booked a room there to see them. The French Laundry room is possibly the most soothing place I've ever stayed in, with the loveliest little patio with a hammock chair. I hope it never changes, and I hope to return very soon. Thank you, Silvia and Dario, for what was a short, but perfect stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joutsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Totally amazing hotel in a little gated neighborhood alongside an awesome kite surfing and swimming beach in San Juan. Extremely tastefully decorated, with moody rooms and tons of outdoor living space to make you envious. 2 kitchens for you to prep your own stuff but why would you when Dario provides such amazing food. He was kind enough to pack a breakfast for us on request for our super early flight and it was amazing - fruit salad, chia pudding, his amazing breakfast bars and granola bars. Mostly highly recommend.

Room Tip: Look at the pics online - every room has a different mood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great time at the Dreamcatcher. It is a special place tucked in a pretty neighborhood a block from the beach. The staff was helpful and friendly, as were the other guests staying there. The gardens and rooms were comfortable and amazingly curated. I have already recommended the Dreamcatcher to friends and family. When I go back to Puerto Rico I will stay with Sylvia and Stephan again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#21 of 47 in San Juan
831 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dreamcatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamcatcher

Address: 2009 Calle Espana | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911-1432, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £82 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dreamcatcher 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan’s only vegetarian hotel is located in the pristine neighborhood of Ocean Park, only 200 steps from the beach. From here it is a 10 minute walk to the highly touristic area of Condado and a short 10 minute ride to the Old City or the airport. In 2017 The Dreamcatcher was awarded Top 10 International Bed&Breakfast and it has been rated #1 hotel in Puerto Rico for four years in a row. Guests may sign up for yoga and meditation classes, take part in sightseeing tours, do paddle boarding, or opt for nature-adventure tours outside of the typical touristy options. They may also rent a bicycle and go for a ride around the neighborhood beaches or the popular Loíza Street. The famous three-course breakfast is served daily by local chef Jerome who has been specializing in vegan and vegetarian cuisine since 2003. You may also choose between juice blends, homemade hemp milk and kombucha elixirs made with all natural ingredients. The Dreamcatcher is proud to be supporting this type of experience in which guests enjoy healthy foods as they spend some time away from home. Everything about this inn suggests relaxation,” according to the March 2014 issue of New York Magazine. It smells of incense, as one can listen to the meditation music in the background and hear the flow of water from the fountain. At almost every corner of this captivating place, from guest rooms to common areas, there are dreamcatchers. These artifacts can be traced back to the native people of North America who used to make them by hand, as symbols of protection from nightmares and enablers of only beautiful dreams. And these happen to be the same positive vibes The Dreamcatcher team wants to send its guests as they walk in the main door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dreamcatcher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing