We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it and rest!”
Review of The Dreamcatcher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dreamcatcher
Ranked #2 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I am from Puerto Rico, but I live in Illinois and every now and then I come visit my family. This was such an occasion. I had a last minute family emergency and needed to find an affordable but good place to stay, and whoa was a lucky to find this GEM in Ocean Park! Not only the booking price was affordable and lower than most lodging around the area, but from the moment I arrived and met Stephan (Malda, and Pippa) I knew my short stay would be the BEST I've ever had in the island (and I've been around the island quite a bit, being a local)

The Dreamcatcher is cozy, CLEAN, well planned and thought out. It's less than 4 blocks away from the beach and from local restaurants and such. The breakfast service was AWESOME (3-course service), homemade and so yummy! (thanks Dario!) My room was spotless and super comfy, with such an individual personality and GREAT energy. Stephan is a great guy and he took care of every need I had and answer every question I came up with. He really made me feel like a GUEST, and not just another paying client.

I am happy to recommend this place to ANYONE looking to enjoy a restful, good-vibe-stay. I am definitely bookmarking this place for next time!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R-Sepulveda-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We wish we had planned to stay at Dreamcatcher the whole time we were in PR. After starting our vacation in a charmless penthouse, we were especially thankful to arrive this magical place. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Japanese suite. I could not stop photographing everything! The decorations are not overdone, and you can tell that every object in the room was chosen with care. The same care has been taken throughout the whole house. All of the guests and staff were super warm and welcoming. The area was great too. If I ever buy property in San Juan, I think the ocean park area is exactly where I would want to be. It is gated at night so it feels safe. The beach is very clean and there were hardly any people there when we went on a Friday. There are several delightful restaurants nearby. I especially enjoyed wandering around the neighborhood and gaping at the gorgeous and widely varied homes. I hope to return to Dreamcatcher again and again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Dreamcatcher is a breath of fresh air! It's close to the beach, food, and bars. The actual house is decorated so thoughtfully and beautifully. Our room, The Country Room, had a hammock in it. Each room also has their own spaces in the kitchen and bathrooms. Dreamcatcher offers activities like paddle boarding and yoga, and is run by a fantastic staff. I would recommend Dreamcatcher to anyone looking for a unique experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyWyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

i could not believe how amazing this place was when i walked in. the faint smell of incense (not overbearing), the beautiful little alters and shrines around the place, amazing gardens of herbs, lime tree, medicinal plants, flowers, subtle statues and design details pop up everywhere. The attention to detail in the rooms, hallways and common areas made me feel like i was in an architectural digest magazine location!
i have been in the hospitality industry for 20 years, cooked for presidents, movie stars, sports stars etc and was very impressed with the dreamcatcher. the staff was very sweet, relaxed, helpful and inspiring. the owner Silvia is a very talented operator, it is quite amazing what she has accomplished in such a short time. The chef who makes food there, i think his name is Dario or Surfrito, is awesome, what a cool dude! his food is fantastic, some of the best meals i had in puerto rico. pretty much the perfect place to eat brunch on the weekend. he also makes amazing sweets and pastries. try the homemade kombucha!
i definitely recommend the dreamcatcher as the best guest house in puerto rico (that i have been to)! a block from the beach!! in a quiet, safe gated community. ill be back as soon as i can! thanks allot!!
kris

Room Tip: all the rooms are different, i stayed in the asian room and the russian room. WoW!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Due to business travel, I had stayed at the Charming: Dreamcatcher Guest House
what a great time! Lovely gardens with Mother Nature in Mind all over the Guest House!
I stayed with my husband, during the weekend we enjoyed so much. It's cozy and the service staff is very friendly and helpful, offering so many suggestions.
Sylvia & Stephan know how to create an ambience! Great place to meet people!
Best hosts ever!
Highly recommended for those looking for a good and safe place to lodge.
We loved it and will be back again! Thanks & Blessings!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Siri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you enjoy staying in hostels, B&B, and Guest Houses that are off the beaten path, you will enjoy staying at the Dreamcatcher Guest House. The property is located in a gated community that is a minute's walk to the beach. There are plenty of food options in the area so that you can stay in the neighborhood and explore things close to you. The guest house is very hip, but relaxed at the same time. The decorations and the mood of the house have been thoughtfully created and placed. Candles line walkways, sweet dogs greets you, and funky furniture welcomes you in the common areas. I would caution tall guests about staying here. My husband is 6'3", and he had a lot of problems with the small, compact spaces, even though we made a point to stay in the larger rooms knowing that we would want extra space, but he still got banged up. Overall, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyssaRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I lead a very nomadic life, so I am very fortunate to be able to experience many different places, people and guest houses.

Everytime I am back in Puerto Rico I stay at the Dream Catcher. Not just because it is beautiful, relaxing, inspirational and steps from the beach; mostly because I always meet the most gracious people. A definite reflection of the host, Sylvia.

I've never had a problem with my room, communication or cleanliness.
There has always been free meals, shakes, and fresh-herbed teas offered to me.

Great place for singles, couples and groups.

Room Tip: You have to experience every room! They are all a separate world in themselves. I'm glad Sylvia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
859 reviews
4 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#30 of 48 in San Juan
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#32 of 48 in San Juan
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tres Palmas Inn
Tres Palmas Inn
#16 of 48 in San Juan
625 reviews
4.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dreamcatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamcatcher

Address: 2009 Calle Espana | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911-1432, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £77 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dreamcatcher 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan’s only vegetarian hotel is located in the pristine neighborhood of Ocean Park, only 200 steps from the beach. From here it is a 10 minute walk to the highly touristic area of Condado and a short 10 minute ride to the Old City or the airport. In 2017 The Dreamcatcher was awarded Top 10 International Bed&Breakfast and it has been rated #1 hotel in Puerto Rico for four years in a row. Guests may sign up for yoga and meditation classes, take part in sightseeing tours, do paddle boarding, or opt for nature-adventure tours outside of the typical touristy options. They may also rent a bicycle and go for a ride around the neighborhood beaches or the popular Loíza Street. The famous three-course breakfast is served daily by local chef Jerome who has been specializing in vegan and vegetarian cuisine since 2003. You may also choose between juice blends, homemade hemp milk and kombucha elixirs made with all natural ingredients. The Dreamcatcher is proud to be supporting this type of experience in which guests enjoy healthy foods as they spend some time away from home. Everything about this inn suggests relaxation,” according to the March 2014 issue of New York Magazine. It smells of incense, as one can listen to the meditation music in the background and hear the flow of water from the fountain. At almost every corner of this captivating place, from guest rooms to common areas, there are dreamcatchers. These artifacts can be traced back to the native people of North America who used to make them by hand, as symbols of protection from nightmares and enablers of only beautiful dreams. And these happen to be the same positive vibes The Dreamcatcher team wants to send its guests as they walk in the main door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dreamcatcher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing