We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not stay here”
Review of S.J. Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
S.J. Suites
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Strongsville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“do not stay here”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Was there 2 nights with a broken elevator. Had 2 climb 5 flights of stairs to a small non unpdated non climate controlled room. I just had a knee injury so this was tough. They told us the elevator was being fixed however both days we never saw anyone working on it. They did carry our luggage up but we had to bring it all down ourselves. Huge disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    81
    68
    25
    33
See reviews for
26
130
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
320 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This place is in the right spot, heart of old San Juan. Great staff and very clean, simple but decent rooms. Don't leave valuables in the room because the door locks are minimal. Priced right. will keep your bags in storage while you explore after checking out. The elevator.....there is one but it works manually so a staff member has to be present to open it & work it....your walking up 5 floors otherwise with luggage potentially. no parking but for most guests no car anyway. \steep cab fare to cruise port from here-$20 for 4 min ride.

Room Tip: choose lower floor if your walking the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We found this hotel on the internet - so we really didn't know what to expect. It's in a great location - Old San Juan - so easy to spend the day before a cruise. We arrived later in the evening - 8:15...the elevator was out of service - we were given a room on the 4th floor. The man who knew how to coax the elevator into service left at 7:30...so with the help of the night manager, we bumped all the luggage up to the 4th floor. The room was totally interior...no windows...but clean and adequate for our needs. There was no breakfast - just a bit of coffee available at the desk on the 2nd floor. The clerks were just as nice as could be...very friendly - pointed us to a nice little breakfast place 2 blocks away. We spent the day sightseeing -( they kept our luggage locked in a room they keep for that purpose) - and when we got back - called a cab...took our luggage down in the elevator (the elevator guy was on duty) - and gave us a great send off to the ship. The room had the basic amenities...we felt very welcome and safe..just don't expect the "ritz".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moreauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at S.J. Suites for 4 nights on the end of a 2 week Puerto Rico vacation and wished we had found it earlier. Our first location was about a 20 minute ride into San Juan which could be as much as a one hour ride depending on traffic. When we dropped into S.J. Suites we knew we would be a lot happier there but because of cruises etc. he could only book us for the four nights and I have to say the hotel was adequately furnished, clean and very well located. Yes there was reconstruction going on nearby but in Old San Juan you cannot find a location that does not have something going on. The nights were quiet after midnight and the air conditioning was great! I found the staff to be very helpful and interested in their guests and any recommendations they gave us were always a hit!!! We enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend them to anyone going to Puerto Rico and wanting to be in the "heart of Old San Juan"!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the building may be a little more quiet than on the curb side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before our cruise. We arrived very early, they were very accommodating and let us leave our bag so we could explore the city. The room is a standard hotel room, it is an interior room and has no window but I don't mind. We had a problem with the hot water in the shower but they came up right away and it was a user error. The bed was comfortable enough although there was a plastic mattress pad on it. The Biggest complaint is that you have no control over the temp in your room. Our room was freezing. I didn't ask them to change the temperature, I'm sure they would've attempted to make it warmer. But it's just nice to have control. The hotel is located right in downtown old San Juan. You really can't get a better price for the location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jen441985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We booked this hotel 2 nights before we left on a cruise in order to be in the heart of Old San Juan. First the positives : 1) the location is great, when walking around old San Juan the hotel is not too far from anywhere we wanted to go.
2) the staff was very helpful, informative and friendly
3) the room was clean, shower was good
4) on our checkout day, they stored our bags for us until it was time to board the ship (even though the terminal wasn't too far , we found it more convenient to take a taxi to the terminal than to walk the cobbled streets hauling luggage)
The negatives: 1) the elevator was out of order. we were on the third floor, reception was on the second floor. Staff did carry our bags for us. after a full day of touring by foot, climbing so many stairs got tedious.
2) there were no windows. I have never been in a hotel room without windows. It gets a little closed in. however we were out and about most of the time , so no matter, just weird. There was a hair dryer but no phone, or clock.
3) the walls are very thin, and our neighboring guests were loud . I believe they thought they were the only people that mattered in the world.
4) about the air conditioning, it was cold, we like it that way. In a room with no windows cool air is better than no air. The first night some people complained and they turned the air down ( there are no room controls , it is all central air and controlled by only one thermostat at the reception).The result was that we were sweltering that night. I complained and the next night, it was nice and cold to sleep.
We are fairly easy going travelers and were happy with this hotel's location more than anything. This is a budget hotel not a five star and it was adequate for what we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommabear77095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked this hotel because we were arriving late one evening and the next day were heading off to Vieques so we knew we wouldn't spend much time in the room. The room was basic but totally fine. The only complaint I could make was that the air conditioning was blasting when we arrived and our room was freezing. I went to bed with warm socks and sweat pants on but woke up in the middle of the night in a warm, stuffy room. Sometime in the night the a/c was turned off and we went from a meat locker to a sauna. The elevator was not working when we arrived but was when we left--I would just expect not to have a usable elevator when booking this hotel. The highlight of our experience at SJ Suites was the warm, friendly and helpful staff. If the management knows what's good for them they'll treat the staff well because I would stay in this hotel again for them alone. They were welcoming, cheerful and helpful with tips on where to go and what to do. They arranged our taxi to the airport and when it was late were very concerned and sent someone outside to wait with us. He was on a walkie talkie to someone inside the hotel who was on the phone with the taxi driver (who was stuck in an unexpected traffic jam). They were not letting us miss our flight! Thanks to all the staff at SJ Suites for a wonderful time in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.2 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S.J. Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Property: S.J. Suites
Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing