We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime & amazing guides”

Acampa Nature Adventure Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acampa specializes in true ecological nature adventures. We offer different services for all levels. Our friendly staff is well educated with vast knowledge about Puerto Rico. Our tours and adventures are done in small groups for a more personal experience. Please visit our website for a full description of our adventures and prices.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime & amazing guides”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A must-do for anyone visiting PR. Acampa's day-long Toro Negro tour was easily the best experience of our vacation and we'll be talking about it the rest of our lives. In addition to the beautiful landscape and awesome adventures you'll have along the way, what really makes this tour company stand out is the incomparable staff - Raymond and Reynard are two of the nicest guys we've ever met and it was a pleasure to spend the day with them! They're great instructors with a wonderful sense of humor and an encyclopaedic knowledge of Toro Negro. They can literally tell you stories about every plant and animal in the forest. And if you really REALLY want to see a coqui frog (like someone I know...) they'll manage to find one. I can't say enough positive things about Acampa. SIGN UP ALREADY!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ejn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acampa, Owner at Acampa Nature Adventure Tours, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Saludos ejn03:
Your words give us high satisfaction to know that your experience with us in Toro Negro was the best in your vacation in Puerto Rico. We have passion doing our job and also we get more excited when friends like you ask us so many excellent questions about PR and its flora and fauna. Our staff is always willing to give the maximum. Thank you for your review about Toro Negro.
gracias...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,617
    45
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
“Excellent Experience!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a wonderful time on this full day adventure. There wasn't a dull moment! The guides were awesome and full of information. It was our first zipline, rappelling and rock climbing experience and we can't wait to do it again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmrosario67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acampa, Owner at Acampa Nature Adventure Tours, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
rmrosario67:
It is satisfying to know that your experience with us was excellent. Thank you for your review for Acampa and we hope to see you again in a new adventure. gracias !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Was a great activity for teenagers!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It is always difficult to keep teenagers entertained on a trip and nothing spoils a trip faster than a complaining travel companion. This 10 hour trek to the rainforest was anything but dull. The Acampa staff did a great job of pre-trip coordination and planning. We were provided clear instructions on how to prepare and what to bring. We were promptly met at the pre arranged time and place.

The drive was around an hour and a half and the discussion was lively on the ride up covering the history of Puerto Rico, local customs and, of course, the country side vistas. The rainforest was everything you would expect. Lush vegetation and roiling clear water creeks. Francisco was our biology guide and was constantly plucking shrimp from the streams, tiny frogs from the forest floor and presenting us with edible berries, rose apples, Pacha fruit, pineapples and bananas. Raynard was the trip coordinator and the geologist so he was able to describe the terrain and climate and the many clear water pools and waterfalls. Given the heat and humidity those dips in the creek water were truly refreshing. Christina handled the rappelling down an 80 foot canyon wall as well as the four zip line adventures. Safety was a key concern of ours but there was never a reason to worry. Everything was planned with backup safety measures.

When we finished, we had a typical Puerto Rican meal on picnic tables in the forest. We had beans and rice, a white root vegetable, fried banana chips, and a beef and potato stew. Whether the food was great or whether we were starving everyone cleaned their plate.

Each of our five family members said this was one of the best activities they have ever taken. Thank you Acampa for a great memory.

Helpful?
1 Thank Been_Here-Done_It
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acampa, Owner at Acampa Nature Adventure Tours, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
cachito 123:
The toro negro fullday adventure is excellent for families with teenagers looking for a real high adventure in the rainforest. Thank you for mentioning that our staff did a great job in pre trip cordination planning. Our staff is professionally trained and also well educated in the science and history fields to offer you a complete experience inside the rainforest. The lunch is delicious and fresh cooked, that is why everyone cleaned their plate. Thank you for your great review !
muchas gracias...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I went to Puerto Rico with a group of friends/co-workers and this was definitely the highlight of our trip! We had 6 ladies with little to no rock climbing, repelling, or zip lining experience and, to my amazement, had zero injuries! Our guides were awesome and very informative. I would suggest this tour to anyone traveling to the area. I can't wait to go back and do it again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acampa, Owner at Acampa Nature Adventure Tours, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Lisa W:
It is great to know that your Toro Negro adventure was the highlight of your trip to Puerto Rico. The day was one of those days to remember, new friends and a lot of adventure. Thank you for your review contribution. muchas gracias...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic! Not your canned group experience!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First off, Book the FULL Day because you are not going to want it to end! There were 6 of us, all females, along with two young married couples. We had a blast and by the end of experience had really bonded. Our guides were wonderfully patient teachers, informative, as well as personable companions. Raymond, Francisco, and Christina - You Rock! The experiences were authentic and varied from submerging into icy, exhilarating waters to zip-lining across the forest. The beauty is breathtaking and the experience unforgettable! The weather was perfect - no sunscreen needed. The delicious meal at trek's end was icing on the cake. Take the plunge - You won't regret it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Evalee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acampa, Owner at Acampa Nature Adventure Tours, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Evalee2014:
Thank you for your wonderful words about our services. We are a small personal oriented adventure company with great customer service. Your day we had an incredible chemistry between all members of the group making the day just perfect from the drive to the end. We hope to see you all of you again in a new adventure with Acampa. muchas gracias...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acampa Nature Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Acampa Nature Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing