We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Legends of Puerto Rico
Ranked #4 of 9 Food & Drink in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since the year 2000 we design and guide theme tours. Our specialty are history, scenic drives, forests and food tours in Old San Juan and Puerto Rico. We are licensed tour guides. Our rum food tour consists of meals served in a typical Puerto Rican household. Journey into Spanish Colonial times with the most popular & longest running NIGHT walking tour in Old San Juan. Pioneer in wheelchair-friendly architectural history walking tour. Travel journalists, travel agents and TV producers ask us about facts and tips on where the locals go to have fun and highlight our tours.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We contacted the tour by phone inquiring about it being acceptable for people having some walking concerns, specifically, replacement knees, and recent ankle surgery. We were assured the tour guide took the abilities into consideration, and not to worry. The tour operates rain or shine. We assumed that in the case of rain, rain gear (cheap poncho like coverings) would be used, or umbrellas. No such luck. We arrived at the meeting place in a downpour, and our guide had us produce our confirmation slips. She had no documentation as to who or how many were on the tour. Her only "sign" was a tablet with the tour company name on the screen. We identified ourselves (8 people) We had misplaced the confirmation, and she was very adamant that we produce it to prove we had paid. Not an auspicious beginning! We took off at a brisk trot, always with the admonition, "watch your feet, watch the tour guide". From the start to the Fort El Morro, and down to the governors mansion, and finally to the sea wall at the port, we walked at a very brisk pace, not moderated in any way. Some of the streets were running rivers, slick and steep. Not a place to try for speed. The information given on the tour tended to focus on the movies that were made in the area, and the actors/actresses involved. There was very little information about the history and culture of the island, and that which was given had a definite tinge of "anti-Americanism. (You do not refer to America as the dictators!!). All in all, the feeling was that everything was rehearsed, down to the last comma and period. If a question was asked, you could "see" the "rewind, repeat" thought process. Suggestion to the tour operator. Have a print out of your clients, it will save time and misunderstanding. Tell people that no provisions are made for bad weather. Either provide water, or stress that water will be needed on the tour. The only saving grace in our case it was raining so hard that it was a little bit cooler.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legendsofpr, Owner at Legends of Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
We studied KennithH reservation, our policies, service description and service provided. The results of our investigation are as follow:

WALKING LIMITATIONS: Our staff mentioned to the reviewer our Hop on Hop off tour designed for travelers with walking limitations listed on our website. In addition, requested to read FAQ #5 How far do we walk on the tour?

The walking pace was set by the group of 14. The guide informed the person in front of the group which would be the next site, stayed behind with the reviewer and walked at his/her pace. When in front of the line, the tour guide waited for the reviewer's arrival at the sites before speaking. In addition, the tour guide used a microphone with a speaker.

RAIN: The tour's frequent asked questions number 1 and 10 mentioned to pack a small umbrella for rainy days and to bring a bottle of water.

The tour guide extended the tour for an additional hour for safety reasons. It was a rainy week and day. The majority of the group had umbrellas or raincoats. The tour departed the meeting location when it stop raining and walked under balconies. At the third site, the group used the bathrooms and rested inside a historical building. Halfway the tour, everyone accepted the tour guide's proposal to watch a 15 minutes 3D show free of charge about the history of Old San Juan. Everyone said they liked the show. This was the second time the group was able to sit and rest.

POLICY: Prior to processing the credit card on our website the traveler is required to read and accept our cancellation policies. Policy number 4 indicates "Must show the paid reservation confirmation to the tour guide to be admitted to the tour. Print or use your smart phone or tablet to show the tour guide".

RESERVATION: Our records indicate that the reviewer's reservations was for 2 not for 8 people. A total of 14 reservations was made for the tour and date reviewed. The reviewer was the only one that did not present the proof of paid reservation. The tour guide offered her IPHONE to access his/her E-mail account and show the paid reservation. KennethH did not show his/her reservation. The guide allowed the reviewer to participate and not follow company policy.

Past travelers have called us from the hotel's concierge desk during our office hours: 9AM to 5PM, requested we e-mail a new confirmation and printed at the hotel with the free internet, computer and printer services.

PRIVATE POLICY: Our private policy indicates: "Legends of Puerto Rico, Inc. assures you that any information you submit to us (like, say, your address and credit card information.) will remain absolutely private."

In regards to the reviewer's suggestion to provide the guide with a list of client's reservation information, it would be in violation of our private policy and reservation agreement with clients.

PARTIAL TOUR DESCRIPTION: "The “Night Tales in Old San Juan” guided walking tour includes visits to a former city jail, barracks, residential areas, the sites where Hollywood movies & TV shows filmed and more."

As for the claim that the tour guide "had a definite tinge of "anti-Americanism", we are required, as licensed tour guides, to study Puerto Rican History in order ensure that our tour is historically accurate. In addition, the guide used pictures to illustrate past events and placed the IPAD in front of each person, so they can clearly see. Furthermore, our tour guides does not refer to the United States as dictators.

At the end of the tour, the tour guide always ask everyone where are they heading next, provide directions, suggestions, and his.her job ends. However, the tour guide offered to walk KennethH to the hotel. Everyone, except the reviewer, showed they were satisfied with the service with a gratuity.

CONCLUSION: We sincerely thank KennethH for this review because it motivated us to closely evaluate our performance and if we are complying with the service description and agreed policies.

Thank you for reading, and we kindly request that you read other reviews posted as a descriptive reference of how we have guided our many tours throughout the years. See more reviews posted at our Legends of Puerto Rico website, our Facebook page and Cruise Critic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    42
    14
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you go to Puerto Rico you MUST enjoy this experience! Old San Juan is paradise; here you have history, view, nature, wonderful food, friendly people, weather,..., everything!, and in this tour you learn and enjoy its history, its most beautiful places, guided by Debbie, who knows a lot and is always there to make you feel among friends. We´ll certainly come back! Gonzalo

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzo0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legendsofpr, Tour Guide at Legends of Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Saludos to my new friends in Ecuador.

I very much appreciate your interest in the Night Tales in Old San Juan tour and specially the questions you made about the history of my dear Old San Juan.

You must take a look to the group picture with the full moon in the background and posted on Legends of Puerto Rico's facebook page.

Gracias for visiting Puerto Rico and for sharing your travel experiences with TripAdvisor readers.

Debbie Molina Ramos, Tour Guide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Tour, Brusque Guide”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the visual and educational aspects of our tour, but our guide, Debbie, though well-informed, was rather rude. If you don't mind someone constantly ordering you to stand closer and sit here, not there and mentioning that she hadn't expected to have to work and that the tour is on the verge of being cancelled -- you'll be fine. And you'll learn a lot. But by the end of hour two I was on edge.

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legendsofpr, Tour Guide at Legends of Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you Katie L for your time in sharing your experience with TripAdvisor readers.

I am sadden that my efforts to provide an excellent service was mis-interpreted as being a "brusque guide". Thank you for acknowledging that my tour was educational and you liked the use of historical pictures.

Dear TripAdvisor reader please consider the more than 100 reviews that have describe me and my services as fun and courteous. In addition, 90% of the travelers I have been there tour guide are my friends on facebook (including the other travelers that participated in the same tour as the reviewer) and we interact as such.

1. "constantly ordering you to stand closer"
At locations where the street noise is loud and making it difficult to hear me. I always ask with a smile: "Can you hear me? Please step closer". Would Katie L have prefer a tour guide not care if the tour participant hear?

2. ...and sit here, not there
I take advantage of all locations were the group participants can sit and rest during a walking tour, specially for senior citizens and children. My standard sentence is: "Please have a seat."

3. "she hadn't expected to have to work and that the tour is on the verge of being cancelled"

I did said when presented with the tour reservation: "Oh Katie L, we were worried you did not received the 2 tour updates send yesterday by E-mail, text and voice-mail, informing of the low bookings. Your travel companion called informing you received the updates. We are glad that a new reservation of 7 saved the tour from being cancelled."

Many travelers do not believe my age. I owe my youth appearance to my happy 15 years working as a tour guide.

We truly appreciate the opportunity for allowing Legends of Puerto Rico to be your tour guide service company in Old San Juan.

Debbie Molina Ramos, Tour Guide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“to complete a travel”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I found that when I went for the two hour walk that I was going to learn history and the true sense of what old San Juan was all about. There is a little bit of walking so wear shoes that will work for you and know you will be posing for a picture so hopefully you wont look as weather beaten as I was.

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewcobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legendsofpr, Owner at Legends of Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for the 5 stars reviews.

The Night Tales in Old San Juan tour is about what happened before, during and after the battles at the Fortress City of Puerto Rico. The historical events and legends are narrated by licensed tour guides where the battles took place. Historical pictures are used to complement the information. In addition, we enter 2 historical buildings: a formal city jail and city barracks. More information available at our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nighttime walking tour with Debbie”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a great time on our nighttime walking tour of Old San Juan. Debbie was a blast, full of lots of historical and fun info.

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank stuffingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legendsofpr, Tour Guide at Legends of Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hola Stuffingtons!

Thank you for reviewing my tour guide performance during the Night Tales in Old San Juan tour.

Remember to ask a friend to show you the group tour picture at the 2013 Night Tales in Old San Juan tour album on facebook.

It was a beautiful night with great travelers.

Debbie Molina Ramos, Tour Guide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legends of Puerto Rico also viewed

 

Been to Legends of Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing