We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for pre-cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for one night (arriving late) before a cruise. Staff was great, and rooms were adequate. We had two rooms -- one for the kids and one for parents -- and there seemed to be a size differential between the two. So you should check that out. Area around the hotel was OK, but not much going on. We did the breakfast package, which i would recommend (but stick with standard eggs instead of an omelette). A very short taxi ride from Pan American pier.

Room Tip: check on size, as they vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbsand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

The staff was superb and seem to truly understand the basic wants and needs of their guests who are there for a brief visit. Solid, uneventful, comfortable stay. The convenient 24 mini market was nice, as was the breakfast restaurant. The star was "Augusto's", a landmark San Juan restaurant right at the hotel. A bit expensive, but worth it.
Short taxi ride to Old Town. The following day, short taxi ride to the pier. Recommend this hotel primarily to pre-cruisers, and those on a longer stay tight budget.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hi-
We stayed here for 1 night and that was plenty. there was a single, small elevator for 10+ floors of guests. We were on the 7th floor and ended up taking the stairs. The room was clean but looked beat up. Nice little pool. The area was run down. The desk staff were great and I felt bad for them - I'm sure they get lots of complaints.

Not up to the usual standard of Courtyards. We had relatives that stayed in the other Courtyard in San Juan and they loved it! Swim-up bar, etc. Wish we had stayed there......

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDE32648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here as a group for night night prior to a cruise. I recommend as a good stay for this type of thing. The front desk was very friendly and the room was clean. The front desk held our luggage for us until we could go to board the ship. There was not anything real exciting within walking distance so for a long stay might not be as convienent. Was only 5 min or so driving distance to ship port. We ate breakfast in the restraunt and although it was a little slow it was decent food.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Decent jumping off point-

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar the evening prior to a cruise. The stay was convenient and comfortable which were our two main priorities. The port is a quick taxi cab away; but the hotel is not convenient to most major sightseeing or beaches in San Juan. Thus, the hotel is more of a jumping off/ stop over point rather than a vacation destination.

The hotel is a typical Courtyard. Check in was easy and fast, rooms were comfortable and attractive. The bathroom was smaller than most, with no countertop, only a small ledge along the back of the sink. Towels were quite thin. We had a supply of soap and shampoo, but no body lotion or body wash.

We had hoped to enjoy some sun by the pool the morning of the cruise, but the entire area is covered with shade due to the large buildings all the way around which block the sun. The pool was small but adequate; pool towels were provided. The wifi did not reach out to the pool the area.

There are two restaurants on the property. We had dinner and breakfast at the Brasserrie 101. The menu included hamburgers, salads and other light dishes at a reasonable price – liquor was available. The wait staff was very polite, but a bit understaffed. One of our meals came a full twenty minutes after the other 5. No apology or compensation was offered until we inquired. Breakfast was VERY busy. We were seated promptly (party of 6) and the team of wait staff did quite a good job handling the major rush of people all while maintaining a pleasant (and charming) demeanor.

Check out was a bit crazy. There is only one elevator serving 11 floors. We were on the 2nd floor and chose to take the stairs rather than waiting for the single elevator. The stairwell was very barren – meant for the staff not guests.

The Courtyard was an adequate and convenient choice for a short stop over – but would not be a good choice for a vacation.

Room Tip: There is only elevator - if you want quick access to the lobby, pick a lower floor and use the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Where2gonexttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was our second stay at the San Juan Miramar Courtyard. Both visits were for one night before a cruise. As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is not located in a touristy area. We were able to go for a walk and find a grocery store down the street for snacks and some pre-made sandwiches. But for the most part, options within walking distance are limited.
The rooms are spacious and clean, but they have thin walls. Our room during our first visit was by the elevator, the noise kept us up all night. Our second visit I specifically requested to be away from the elevator. Man, I would have given my right eye to listen to the elevator that night. We had a roomful of rowdy boys above us. They were up rough housing and laughing until 3am. We called the front desk and had them intervene, but that didn't help. We thought we'd have the last laugh when our crying toddler woke them up in the morning, but those boys were up bright and early making all sorts of noise.
When checkout rolled around, we packed up and headed for the elevator. Yes, singular. There is one elevator for the entire hotel, all 10 floors. Checkout time is completely absurd. We waited as it stopped at every floor going up, then every floor going down. Every time it reached us it was stuffed full of people. With three bags and a stroller, the stairs were not an option. After 10 minutes we decided desperate times called for desperate measures. Despite being on the third floor, we pressed the up button. We got on the elevator and stopped at every floor going up, filling up around floor five, then turned people away as we stopped at every floor going down. Just getting from our room to the lobby took 20-25 minutes.
We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Despite a lobby jammed with people, the restaurant was fairly empty. It was here that we got our first taste of "island time". With three waitstaff on duty it took almost two hours for us to order and eat pancakes. There were only people at three tables! Now, we weren't in a hurry because we couldn't get on our cruise ship until early afternoon, so we didn't mind a slow-paced meal. But being a fast-paced, typical American, I found it frustrating. It must be said, that once our meal did arrive, it was delicious. My husband ordered the macadamia nut butter pancakes, which were so fabulous we've been trying to replicate the recipe since we arrived home. The staff was very nice and accommodating to my toddler, and we got unlimited, free sippy cup refills.
Despite our negative experiences, I don't have a terrible opinion of the San Juan Miramar Courtyard. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful, the food is delicious if you've got time and patience to spare, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Just bring earplugs and be ready to huff it on the stairs (or avoid checkout at the peak time).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_happyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have to agree with the other reviewers that this is a great place to stay pre-cruise. Check in and check out were both very friendly and efficient and it was very busy. They will store your luggage after you check out - they had a large group checking in post cruise so they had more luggage than you can imagine. Despite all the luggage, they were very careful about keeping all luggage secure, which I was a little concerned about. The pool is very small and only 6 lounge chairs, so don't plan to spend an entire day at the pool. The restaurant was ok, food was food and service was not great - I was told that the hotel did not own the restaurant. I would recommend walking down to Lima - much better food and service. The rooms were not that big, but were very clean and our bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentwoodmom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
930 reviews
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Juan Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Juan Miramar

Address: 801 Ave Ponce de Leon, San Juan 00907-3326, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Family Hotel in San Juan
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £96 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Juan Miramar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive for understanding our guests business and leisure needs providing them with the essential amenities that will ensure their satisfaction. Guestrooms with panoramic city and Condado Bay views that will allow our guests to be comfortable and productive at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Juan Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Juan Miramar Hotel San Juan
San Juan Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing