We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Hotel, first Class Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Isabela
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Clean Hotel, first Class Staff.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our Fourth Visit to this Hotel in the last 3 years. Is always a gratifying experience. The Staff is Very Courteous and Attentive. Facilities are well kept. I will Recommend this Hotel to anyone,for short visit's to San Juan or just to relax and enjoy the Old City. Is an economic way to
enjoy the San Juan Metropolitan Area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrotamundoIsabela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayneris A, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Buenos Días TrotamundoIsabela!!

It was great to read that you found our staff to be very courteous, attentive and that the overall facility was nice. We always want our guests to have a great stay and to feel comfortable during their stay. We thank you for recommending our property and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Please feel free to contact us directly if we can assist you with any future reservations.

Always at your service,


Ayneris Arzola Sánchez
Guest Services Assistant Manager
ayneris.arzola@courtyard.com
787-721-7400 ext. 5540
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    395
    212
    57
    22
See reviews for
241
297
59
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bagdad, KY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Business travelers will love this hotel in the historic Miramar neighborhood; it's convenient to main thoroughfares, meets Courtyard standards for the rooms (which we all expect!), and is a great buy for San Juan. Now that I've finally checked out after a three week stay, there's room for you!

A bonus for this hotel is the ability to walk to stores and restaurants, or just walk through the area. It's close to the Convention Center, which is a beautiful photo spot and just a nice place to enjoy the fountains and take in the bright sun and beautiful blue skies. Also within walking distance is Condado with even more shops and restaurants, so after a long day inside at work, it's a pleasure to head out for walk and dinner. Favorites in Condado include Oceano and Central Steakhouse (see my reviews).

Please note this is an upscale neighborhood in San Juan and safe for tourists to walk around. (There are homeless people here as everywhere, but they are not dangerous to you.) Don't miss the music conservatory just down the street, or about a mile on Ponce de Leon, the beautiful Episcopal Cathedral, San Juan Bautista (not open outside of service or school hours).

A true find is La Hacienda, which looks just like a quaint Miramar house on your left as you walk from the hotel to the harbor. House it's not - what it is, is a fabulous gourmet grocery store and deli. With a mini-fridge in your room, you can stay in a night if you want and put your feet up without having to miss out on a delicious meal. Papillion (reviewed) comes highly recommended from me, as does the Pizza parlor on the right down from the hotel - Pizza e Birra (review coming).

But as always, it's the Marriott customer service attitude that you'll remember. Everyone is charming, friendly and helpful - gracias, y espero verte pronto!

The fitness room could use some attention - it has an unpleasant smell and could use a little extra equipment. With what seems like a good bit of use, the hotel could probably afford to make it nicer.

Room Tip: The elevator is noisy! Ask for a room away from it. Otherwise, they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy_weinmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYGMSJUMR, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Buenos Días Cindy:

Thank you for taking the time to answer this review. I truly agree with you, our hotel is conveniently located in the modern part of San Juan at the same time that it is convenient to Old San Juan for sightseeing. As you mentioned we are the best in customer service attitude!

Regarding our fitness room, customer satisfaction is of utmost to us and we will share your comments to our management team. We thank you for your kind words and do hope to welcome you back soon.

Saludos!

Ayneris Arzola Sánchez
Guest Services Manager
ayneris.arzola@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
892 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Clean, Courteous, and Helpful. The rooms are standard business style and quiet for a good nights sleep. All the amenities work well.

The hotel does have a nice French bistro on property that has some tasty dishes and the decor is trendy. There is also an Italian/Steakhouse eatery on location that I did not try but is suitable for business dinners.

The staff was very helpful in my touring of the city and giving hints about where and when to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayneris A, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Buenos Días ExplorerXYZ:

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the location. We are glad you had the opportunity to explore the neighborhood with its many restaurants nearby. We do our best to give an outstanding service to make our guest feel like home and I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Always at your service,


Ayneris Arzola Sánchez
Guest Services Assistant Manager
ayneris.arzola@courtyard.com
787-721-7400 ext. 5540
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here instead of my two regular hotels (Marriott Stellaris or La Concha Renaissance), due to too many vacationers in town.

Not a fan of the location as it's a bit grittier locale and not particularly close to anything. The staff was super attentive and friendly, and that means the ENTIRE staff I encountered including maintenance and housekeeping. Rooms are mostly upgraded to current Courtyard decorating standards but the lobby is tiny and the pool is really a large lap pool. Bed was comfortable and all fixtures/electronics worked fine. Cabs were always available to take me anywhere,

But the really nice surprise was the French restaurant, Papillon, off the lobby. This is NOT your typical Marketplace or whatever Marriott calls it, this was a destination establishment where more than half the tables always seemed to be locals (friends, businesspeople, adult couples). Nothing exotic on the menu but truly well-prepared of traditional French bistro cuisine (croque monsieur, roasted chicken, baked crab cakes, etc.) with subtle sauces and nice platings. I ended up having 5 meals there, including all three mains. Skip the oatmeal for breakfast, though, unless you like really runny preparation.

If I can't get back to my regular haunts, at least here I'll truly look forward to in-hotel dining.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they're larger. Or one of the xx1 rooms by the elevator as they're mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTravBizPleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYGMSJUMR, Manager at Courtyard San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear FreqTravBizPleas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Papillon is a Bristo Restaurant and very well known around the area. I will speak to the owner and give them your great comments of the service you received. I am pleased to read that our staff was helpful and courteous! We hope to see you soon.

Always at your service,

Cynthia Cruz
Reservations Manager
Tel: 787.721.7400 Ext. 5554
c.cruz@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I took my niece to San Juan to celebrate her 16 birthday. After looking at many hotels I choose this one because it was located on the beach..even though u can hear the planes next door and seemed alittle old.. I would go back hear again. Customer service was amazing. There are five place to eat right on the property. Chairs and umbrellas in beach are free. Live music on weekends. The view from all rooms are of the ocean.
Great location! Great service!
Great vacation ever!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPontarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very comfortable hotel in a nice area, within an easy walking distance of a grocery, drug store and several restaurants. Front desk clerk was friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious and very comfortable...good bed, everything you need. It's a quick taxi ride from the airport (about 20 minutes) as well as to Old San Juan. What made it really special was the outstanding restaurant, Papillon. A classic French bistro, it offered French staples such as Nicoise salad, escargot, steak au poivre, duck a l'orange and Croque Monsieur. I really enjoyed the escargot and roasted vegetables. My husband enjoyed the steak and pomme frites. It was so wonderful we ate lunch there the next day. We will come back the next time we stop in San Juan on our way to the Caribbean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuttleworth1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayneris A, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Buenos Días Shuttleworth1113:

I was delighted to read that you had a great trip staying with us and that your lunch and dinner at Papillon Restaurant was outstanding. As you mentioned our hotel is located in the modern part of San Juan and at the same time we are ten minutes away from Old San Juan for sightseeing. We are happy your stay was comfy and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Always at your service,


Ayneris Arzola Sánchez
Guest Services Assistant Manager
ayneris.arzola@courtyard.com
787-721-7400 ext. 5540
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Overall the hotel is nice. It is close to the airport and Old San Juan so getting around isn't an issue. There always seemed to be taxis waiting at the hotel so wait times to get around was not an issue. Cabs in general are not very cheap unfortunately, where the average fare seemed to be around $16 or so.

The rooms are clean and the basic courtyard set up, nothing special but not bad either. The water pressure was good but seemed a bit inconsistent it was also never cold so be prepared to get ice.

There are two restaurants at the hotel, I only ate at Papillon (the cheaper of the two). It was pretty good but expensive. it also closes relatively early (~10pm) so don't expect late night food. Luckily there are a few restaurants a few blocks away that was easy enough to walk to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayneris A, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear James M.

It was pleased to read your comments and appreciate your feedback of our property. Our hotel is conveniently located to the Airport, Old San Juan, Condado and several excellent restaurants on walking distance. I will make sure our Engineering Department is informed about your comment regarding the water pressure. We apologize for any inconvenience this may had caused you. We hope to see soon on your next visit to Puerto Rico!

Saludos,


Ayneris Arzola Sánchez
Guest Services Manager
ayneris.arzola@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#7 of 47 in San Juan
871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Juan Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Juan Miramar

Property: Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Address: 801 Ave Ponce de Leon, San Juan 00907-3326, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Family Hotel in San Juan
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Juan Miramar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive for understanding our guests business and leisure needs providing them with the essential amenities that will ensure their satisfaction. Guestrooms with panoramic city and Condado Bay views that will allow our guests to be comfortable and productive at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Juan Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Juan Miramar Hotel San Juan
San Juan Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing